This is the "Organic" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Organic Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Reference Sources

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    The handbook for chemistry! Extensive collection of physical constants, property data, mathematical tables, and conversion factors.
  • Merck Index
    Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Other Sources

  • The Synthetic Organic Chemist's Companion
    Provides practical, hands-on resource for students and practitioners of organic synthesis.
  • Purification of Laboratory Chemicals
    Outlines procedures and processes for purifying over 4000 organic and 750 inorganic and organometallic chemicals.
  • Comprehensive Organic Synthesis
    This 9-volume set edited by Trost covers an extensive array of synthetic methods and reagents.
  • e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
    Reference includes a listing of 4,000 reagents involving 50,000 reactions
  • Greene's Protecting Groups for Organic Synthesis
    Essential reference for controlling functional group reactivity during synthesis.
  • Name reactions: A collection of detailed reaction mechanisms
    Collection of 300 classical as well as contemporary name reactions. Each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism, supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially review articles.
  • Name reactions and reagents in organic synthesis
    Reactions and reagents are listed alphabetically, followed by relevant mechanisms, experimental data (including yields where available), and references to the primary literature. The text also includes three indices based on reagents and reactions, starting materials, and desired products.
  • Organic Syntheses
    Collection of evaluated organic synthetic methods
  • Organic Reactions
    Collection of important synthetic reactions with critical discussions of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions
  • Polymer Data Handbook
    Contains property data on 218 polymers.
  • Polymer Handbook
    Contains a vast array of data for polymers, monomers and other ancillary topics that are required for experimental and theoretical research and applications of polymers.
  • Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
    Contains over 260 articles covering all aspects of polymer science including: Basic concepts, characterization, polymerization and condensation, nanostructured polymers, and applications in biology, medicine, and the environment.
  • Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
    Contains over 500 articles. Major topic categories include additives, applications, biomaterials, characterization and analysis, classification, computers in polymer science, degradation, morphology, polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, polymer properties, processing and finishing, surfaces and interfaces, and testing.
  • Science of Synthesis (Houben-Weyl)
    This resource provides evaluated organic synthetic methods in a review format focused on compound class and functional group transformations.
 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:

Choose a Search Type:


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

Databases

  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1907-present.
  • Reaxys
    Contains the Beilstein (organic) and Gmelin (inorganic) databases, which provide extensive amount of physical property data and synthesis information. Also includes chemical patents. Can be searched by CAS, formula, structure, reaction, as well as by various other parameters.
  • Web of Science
    A citation database (i.e., tracks who cites who) covering over 250 disciplines, including 7,100 science journals. It also includes conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
  • PubChem
    Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The database can be searched by chemical name, keywords, structure, substructure, and biological assay.
  • CHEMnetBASE
    CHEMnetBASE includes several "dictionaries":
    Dictionary of Organic Compounds
    Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compds
    Dictionary of Natural Products
    Polymers: A Property Database
    ... and many more.

    Also contains the Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) provides brief descriptions of chemical substances, physical property data, systematic and common names, literature references (e.g., syntheses, spectral data, etc.), and structural diagrams for over 500,000 chemicals.
  • KnowItAll U - Spectra Database
    A collection of 1.4 million IR, MS, NMR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra. This resource is an online version of the Sadtler spectra collection plus more! Free informatics software is available to compare, store, and manage your spectral data.
  • KnowItAll U Informatics Software
    This informatics software works in conjunction and independently of the KnowItAll U spectra database to support search, processing/analysis, chemometrics, spectra management, and reporting. Learn more at Bio-Rad Laboratories and click the green "Register & Download" to download the software.
  • WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database)
    A crystallographic database containing bibliographic and X-ray Crystallographic data for 500,000+ organic molecules. Note: University Libraries only provides access to the database and not the software.
  • WorldCat
    OCLC WorldCat contains over 43 million records describing library holdings worldwide, but primarily North America. Great for locating books not owned by Texas A&M University Libraries.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
    A comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations in all disciplines. Some master’s theses are indexed as well, but many schools do not contribute information about their master’s theses. Dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. TAMU users may borrow or purchase copies of non-TAMU dissertations via the Get it for me service. Coverage: 1861 - Present.
 

E-Journal Search


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip