This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Selected resources for library research in Biology
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/Biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Biology

 

Maps and GIS Collections and Services

Here is a link to the homepage for Map and GIS Library located on the second floor of Evans Library.

Finding Articles: Primary Databases

Primary article databases for Biology

  • Academic Search Complete from Ebsco is a general database covering all fields.  ASC is a good place to start for most projects and is especially good for interdisciplinary topics, like bioethics or genetically modified organisms.  
  • Web of Science covers more journals in the sciences, including biology, mostly in English, and is a good database for most biological research.
  • Biological Sciences (CSA) is still more comprehensive for the literature of the life sciences and includes many sub-databases covering sub-fields in biology.
  • Biosis Previews is now Biosis Citation Index on the Web of Knowledge platform and is still the most comprehensive database covering all fields of biology in all languages.  Search all years at once, and cited reference searches now available back to 2006.

Specialized and related databases.

      
     

    bioRxiv: New Biology Preprint Server Launched

    bioRxiv, a preprint server for the life sciences, was launched 11 November 2013, by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.  A press release was published in Science magazine on 12 November.  From that press release:


    "It will be free to submit a paper or to read it in bioRxiv, Inglis says. CSHL is paying the costs of the service (he declines to specify them) but hopes that, like arXiv, it will ultimately attract contributions. Although anybody can submit a paper, not everything will be posted: A group of more than 40 'affiliate" scientists have agreed to screen submissions to "assure us that this is real science,' Inglis says. 'We certainly don't want the enterprise to be sunk by publishing a load of crap.'"

    Papers are already being posted on the server as of 14 November.

     

    E-Journal Search


     

    Database Search

    Science and Engineering Librarian

    Profile Image
    Bruce Neville
    Contact Info
    Bruce Neville
    111F Sterling C. Evans Library
    5000 TAMU
    College Station, TX 77843-5000
    979-845-7572
    bneville@tamu.edu
    Send Email
     

    Chat With Us

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    Department of Biology Homepage

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip