This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Federal Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Government Information   Tags: budget, census, congress, federal, foia, government, law, resourceguide, subjectguide  

Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/FederalGovernment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Depository Library

red white and blue eagle GPO logo

Texas A&M Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1907.

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

 

Accessing Government Information

Access to Government Documents

As a federal depository library, Evan's makes government documents available for the free use for faculty, staff, students, as well as the general public.

Some Documents published before 1976 are not in LibCat, but we may still have them, For assistance please contact the Ask Us Desk or Laura Sare.

The Library does not select all available government publications. Please use Get it for me if you need documents we don't have available here.

 

GPO Mobile App

Browse for House and Senate members of Congress on your iPad, iPhone, Android, or Blackberry.

Congress app icon

 

Plum Book App

The Plum Book app gives users the option to search information on presidentially appointed positions within the Federal Government based on a variety of filters including branch, agency or organization as well as by position title, pay plan, appointment type and level.

 

Government Information Roadmap

Where Do I Find Information On?                                         Take Me There
President - speeches, executive orders, papers Presidency
Congress - House or Senate hearings, reports, and documents, Congressional Record Congressional Information   
Bills, Public Laws, and Statutes, legislative histories, Congressional votes Congressional Information
Laws - case law, Supreme Court, Federal and State courts, regulations, codes

Federal Law 

Texas Law

Constitution     Constitution
Elections - lobbying, campaign financing, where do I vote? Elections
Citizenship and Immigration - laws and statistics Citizenship
Texas Government - state law and legislation, Texas agencies Texas Government     
International Government - treaties, United Nations, European Union

International Government

Patent and Trademarks

Patents

Trademarks

Finding Federal Government Information

Find Specific Documents at Evans and Online

  • University Libraries Catalog  Icon
    Locate print and electronic Federal Documents available at the Evans Library. NOTE - not all documents are in LibCat, please contact Laura Sare for assistance, we may have your document here!
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    1976 to current. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for federal publications and provides links to those available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.
  • Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications  Icon
    (TAMU only) 1895-1976 - Use this database to search for documents issued prior to 1976 - then write down the SuDoc number and search for the document in the print collection on the 5th floor of Evans Annex. If we don't have it on the shelf, use Get It For Me to get a copy from another library.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library  Icon
    The HathiTrust has digitized many government publications, search this website to see if your document is available online.
  • FDsys  Icon
    FDsys is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to important information products produced by the Federal Government including the Congressional Record, Bills, Public Laws, the Federal Budget, regulations and more. Need help searching FDsys? Try this video, or contact me.
  • ProQuest Congressional  Icon
    (TAMU Only) Full-text of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, hearings, congressional papers, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Get full text PDFs of all congressional hearings, the Serial Set, CRS Reports, the Statutes at Large and the Congressional Record.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    (TAMU Only) Provides full text of Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, federal case law, legal information, and more.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    (TAMU Only) access to government and organizational statistics.
  • ProQuest Government Periodicals
    (TAMU Only) full text of select government journals.
  • Declassified Documents (TAMU only)
    Declassified Documents provides full text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents. Documents available come from a wide variety of government agencies including the CIA, Department of State, National Security Council, Department of Defense, FBI, etc.
  • Digital National Security Archive
    (TAMU Only) - The database includes the most important declassified documents regarding U.S. policy.
  • Military and Government Collection
    (TAMU Only) - Provides access to current news and journals pertaining to all branches of the military.
  • CQ Electronic Library  Icon
    (TAMU Only) - the CQ Electronic Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the Encyclopedia of American Government, Supreme Court Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, Public Affairs and Congress Collections.
  • U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Library
    (TAMU Only) - access to federal agency legal publications.
  • WestlawNext
    Includes United States Code Annotated, federal cases, the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register, Federal Labor Administrative Materials, National Labor Relations Board decisions and European Union materials.
  • GPO Metalib
    MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Sare
Contact Info
979-458-2200
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

Government Help for Students

Federal Student Aid is a gateway to government information just for college students that includes sites that:

  • Apply online for financial aid and scholarships
  • Find summer internships or jobs
  • Learn about careers that interest you
  • Find rewarding volunteer opportunities

Federal Jobs for Students and Recent Grads

 

Helpful Government Sites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip