This is the "Finding Topics" page of the "COMM 203 - Public Speaking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COMM 203 - Public Speaking   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/comm203 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Topics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hot Topics/Topics in the News/Debated Topics

  • CQ Researcher
    Congressional Quarterly is a long lived organization that creates reports on hot/heavily debated news topics (e.g., abortion, gun control). Each report provides extensive information regarding the topic and all reports follow the same organizational structure, with introductory sections, as well as sections devoted to chronology, pro/con arguments, charts and graphs, and bibliographies. This is an excellent place to go for an introduction to a subject and serves as a starting point for continuing your research. CQ researcher should not, however, be cited as an academic soruce because it is not peer reviewed or refereed.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Besides providing access to thousands of periodicals, newspapers, and news transcripts, LexisNexis also allows users to search popular blogs. Most of the information is updated daily.
  • ProCon.org
    This free website offers opposing viewpoints on major topics like education, sex & gender, health & medicine, and politics. Every category provides citations to the original sources.

Nonprofit organizations

  • Associations Unlimited
    This database indexes assoications by both name and acronym. It allows the user to search for IRS data on nonprofits.
  • Associations Yellow Book
    Basic directory information concerning all sort of assoications, including nonprofits.
  • Guidestar
    Guidestar is a massive directory of nonprofit organizations that have reported to the IRS. Each record provides general info, financials, important documents, directory information for people, contractor information, and mission and impact statements.

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Bales
Contact Info
111R Sterling C. Evans Library
(979) 845-1036
sbales@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip