This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Howdy! This is a guide to chemistry information resources available through Texas A&M University Libraries.

The Getting Started page contains a few selected chemistry resources, but the tabs above have more extensive resources for those respective areas. 

Please contact me for individual consultation, group instruction, library purchase recommendations, and suggestions for this subject guide.

Be sure to check the Chemistry Class Guides if you are working on a class assignment.

 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:

Choose a Search Type:


  Help


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

 

E-Journal Search


 

Journal Abbreviations

Below are a few resources for deciphering and/or creating journal abbreviations.

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
Online search tool to confirm publication titles or look up journal abbreviations for the 10,000+ journals indexed in
Chemical Abstracts/SciFinder.

Chemical Abstracts Core Journals
List of ~ 1,500 core journals indexed in Chemical Abstracts/SciFinder. Includes journal abbreviations.

ACS Style Guide (Chapter 14)
CASSI abbreviations for the 1,000+ most cited journals. This chapter also contains information about formatting references for ACS journals.

CAS Source Index
Print Version of the CASSI Search tool. Location: Evans Library AskUs Desk

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

If you are new to a topic, a brief definition or encyclopedia article may be the place to start.

  • Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
    A concise single volume reference for high school and college students. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
    Compilation of technical data and short descriptions of thousands of chemicals, chemical phenomena, trade name, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    Contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, and process diagrams. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Like Kirk-Othmer, Ullmann's contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, process diagrams and unit operations in chemical engineering. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
    Contains over 500 articles. Major topic categories include additives, applications, biomaterials, characterization and analysis, classification, computers in polymer science, degradation, morphology, polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, polymer properties, processing and finishing, surfaces and interfaces, and testing.
  • CHEMnetBASE
    CHEMnetBASE includes several "dictionaries":
    Dictionary of Organic Compounds
    Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compds
    Dictionary of Natural Products
    Polymers: A Property Database
    ... and many more.
  • AccessScience
    Includes McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as other content.
 

MSDSs

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is provided by a manufacturer and contains basic safety and handling information for a chemical or mixture. This Texas A&M University Environmental Health & Safety website links to several sources for MSDSs 

NOTE: If using Vermont SIRI, you might avoid the Mallinckrodt links since they redirect to the wrong pages.

Handbooks

Handbooks are a great place for property data, constants, or related material.

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    The handbook for chemistry! Extensive collection of physical constants, property data, mathematical tables, and conversion factors.
  • Merck Index
    Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
  • Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook
    Provides physical property data for chemicals/materials, engineering formulas, as well as individual chapters on units operations (e.g., Process Control, Distillation, Heat Transfer Equipment, etc.).

Databases - Searching the journal literature

Search these resources to locate journal articles, conference papers, and other literature on a particular topic. Once you find an article you like, click the "Find Text @ TAMU" within the database to obtain the full-text or request through our Get It For Me service. NOTE: If you already have a citation to a particular article, you'll use our "e-Journals" search to check online access or LibCat for print.

  • ACS Publications
    This is NOT a database, but if you are just looking for a couple of journal articles try searching this collection of 40 peer-reviewed chemistry journals from the American Chemical Society. For a comprehensive literature search, use a database listed below and/or tabs above.
  • Web of Science
    This multidisciplinary citation database indexes over 7,000 science journals, as well as conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive database for chemistry, biochemistry, materials science, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1907-present.
  • Reaxys
    Contains the Beilstein (organic) and Gmelin (inorganic) handbooks, which provide extensive amount of physical property data and synthesis information. Also includes chemical patents. Can be searched by CAS, formula, structure, reaction, as well as by various other parameters.
  • SpringerMaterials: Landolt-Bornstein Database
    SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-BoĢˆrnstein New Series, a unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. Contains an extensive collection of physical property data.

Citation/Bibliographic Managers

This software not only allows you to store and manage citations downloaded from databases and other sources, but works with word processing software (e.g., Word) to properly format your citations.

Science & Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
David E. Hubbard
Contact Info
111J Evans Library
(979)862-1902
hubbardd@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 

Chemistry Office Hours

Please feel free to contact me at any time via email, phone or in-person. In addition to Evans Library Room 111J, I can also be found in Chemistry Building Room 117 on the following days/times during the Fall and Spring semesters:

Thursday 10:00 am - Noon
Friday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chemistry News

The following are a few chemistry trade magazines and blogs containing news, developments, and other musings.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip