Introduction
Howdy! This guide provides information about our chemical engineering information resources available at the University Libraries.
Please contact me for individual consultation, group instruction, library purchase recommendations, and suggestions for this guide.
Be sure to check the chemical engineering class guides if you are working on a class assignment.
Catalog Search (LibCat)
E-Journal Search
Journal Abbreviations
- CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search ToolOnline search tool to confirm publication titles or look up journal abbreviations for the 10,000+ journals indexed in Chemical Abstracts/SciFinder.
- Chemical Abstracts Core JournalsList of ~ 1,500 core journals indexed in Chemical Abstracts/SciFinder.
- CAS Source Index (CASSI)Print Only. Ceased in 2010.
See online version above. - Periodical Title AbbreviationsPrint Only. Ceased in 2006.
Citation/Bibliographic Managers
This software not only allows you to store and manage citations downloaded from databases and other sources, but works with word processing software (e.g., Word) to properly format your citations.
Engineering Standards
Please see the our Standards Guide for additional information about searching and accessing standards. You can learn more about standards and their importance at the following websites: Why Standards Matter, The Role of Standards in Engineering and Technology, and Standards Education.
- SAI Global StandardsProvides immediate access to the current ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code and active ASTM standards, as well as a searchable database of standards from over 300 issuing organizations.
- American Petroleum Institute (API)Provides access to most of the API standards and many of their other publications.
- ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel CodeThe ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code provides design standards for pressure vessels and piping. The current ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code is available through the SAI Global Standards database. Search BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL CODE as the "Title" to locate.
- OSHA Regulations/StandardsOSHA's regualtions/standards are outlined In Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations. The standards for general industry are in Part 1910.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
If you are new to a topic, a brief definition or encyclopedia article may be the place to start. Kirk-Othmer and Ullmann's are excellent places to learn about chemical processes and chemicals.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyContains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, and process diagrams. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryLike Kirk-Othmer, Ullmann's contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, process diagrams and unit operations in chemical engineering. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
- AccessScienceIncludes McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as other content.
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and DesignAlso known as McKetta. Similar to Kirk-Othmer and Ullmann's, this 69-volume set focuses more on chemical processes and design. This is only available in print and is not as up-to-date as Kirk-Othmer and Ullmann's.
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and TechnologyContains over 500 articles. Major topic categories include additives, applications, biomaterials, characterization and analysis, classification, computers in polymer science, degradation, morphology, polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, polymer properties, processing and finishing, surfaces and interfaces, and testing.
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical DictionaryCompilation of technical data and short descriptions of thousands of chemicals, chemical phenomena, trade names, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
- Merck IndexContains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Handbooks
Handbooks are a great place for property data, constants, or related material. Below are a few handbooks, please see the Handbooks/Books tab above for many more.
- Perry's Chemical Engineer's HandbookProvides physical property data for chemicals/materials, engineering formulas, as well as individual chapters on units operations (e.g., Process Control, Distillation, Heat Transfer Equipment, etc.).
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe handbook for chemistry. Extensive collection of physical constants, property data, mathematical tables, and conversion factors.
- Kent and Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology, Volumes 1 & 2 (11th Edition)Provides an integrated view of chemical process industries.
Databases - Searching the journal literature
Search these resources to locate journal articles, conference papers, and other literature on a particular topic. Once you find an article you like, click the "Find Text @ TAMU" button within the database to obtain the full-text or request through our Get It For Me service. NOTE: If you already have a citation to a particular article, you'll use our "e-Journals" search to check online access or LibCat for print. Please see the Journals/Databases tab above for many more databases.
- CompendexCovers all areas of engineering. Indexes journals, magazines, conference proceedings and some technical reports. Should be used for every chemical engineering literature search. Coverage is 1884-present.
- SciFinderComprehensive database for chemistry, biochemistry, materials science, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1800s-present.
- Web of ScienceThis multidisciplinary citation database indexes over 7,000 science journals, as well as conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
Patents
Patents can be a great source of technical and design information, but the patent literature can be challenging to search. Below are links to the United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), Google Patents (U.S. Patents), and Espacenet (European Patent Office). Please see our Patents Resource Guide for more information about searching the patent literature or contact me for assistance.
Science & Engineering Librarian |
Subjects: Science & Engineering |
Office Hours
Please feel free to contact me at any time via email, phone or in-person. In addition to Evans Library Room 111J, I can also be found in Chemistry Building Room 117 on the following days/times during the Fall and Spring semesters:
Thursday 10:00 am - Noon
Friday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
ChemE News
The following are a few trade magazines containing chemical industry news and developments.
- Chemical Engineering ProgressNews magazine of the AIChE
- Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN)News magazine of the American Chemical Society
- Chemistry & IndustryMagazine of the Society of Chemical Industry
- ICIS Chemical BusinessMagazine focused on chemicals and the chemical industries
- Chemistry WorldNews Magazine of the Royal Society of Chemistry
Chat With Us
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |


Loading...
