This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CHEM 228 - Organic Chemistry II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 228 - Organic Chemistry II  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chem228 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Howdy! This is a guide to chemical information available through Texas A&M University Libraries for your CHEM 228 Pet Molecule Project.

Please feel free to contact me if you need assistance finding chemical information for this project or any other. I'm over in the Chemistry Building a couple of days a week, but you can also email or call me too. My Chemistry Bldg office hours and contact information is on the right.

Additional chemical information sources can be found on the Chemistry Subject Guide.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

If you are new to a topic, a brief definition or encyclopedia article may be the place to start.

  • Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
    A concise single volume reference for high school and college students. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
    Compilation of technical data and short descriptions of thousands of chemicals, chemical phenomena, trade name, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    Contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, chemistry, industrial production, and use. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Like Kirk-Othmer, Ullmann's contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, chemistry, industrial production, and use. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • AccessScience
    Includes McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as other content.
  • CHEMnetBASE
    CHEMnetBASE includes several "dictionaries":
    Dictionary of Organic Compounds
    Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compds
    Dictionary of Natural Products ... and many more.

    Also contains the Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) provides brief descriptions of chemical substances, physical property data, systematic and common names, literature references (e.g., syntheses, spectral data, etc.), and structural diagrams for over 500,000 chemicals.

Handbooks

Handbooks are a great place for property data, constants, or related material. In the case of the Merck Index, it will often provide a sentence or two about the first synthesis or isolation. 

  • Merck Index
    Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
 

Books

There are a few books that discuss chemicals in consumer products or impact/importance to society. Maybe not so relevant to your current project, but they provide something interesting history and background on a number of chemicals.

Vanity, vitality, and virility the science behind the products you love to buy
You might check the Index of this book and see if your molecule is mentioned.

Napoleon's buttons: how 17 molecules changed history
 
Molecules that changed the world : a brief history of the art and science of synthesis and its impact on society

Science & Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
David E. Hubbard
Contact Info
111J Evans Library
(979)862-1902
hubbardd@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 

Chemistry Office Hours

Please feel free to contact me at any time via email, phone or in-person. In addition to Evans Library Room 111J, I can also be found in Chemistry Building Room 117 on the following days/times during the Fall and Spring semesters:

Thursday 10:00 am - Noon
Friday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Chat With Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip