This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CHEM 227H - Organic Chemistry I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 227H - Organic Chemistry I   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chem227 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Howdy! This guide provides information about biographical sources for chemists to assist with your CHEM 227H writing assignment. Additional resources for organic chemistry can be found on the Chemistry Subject Guide.

 

Websites

There are numerous websites containing biographical information.
Below are a few websites.

All Nobel Laureates in Chemistry
Click on the name of a Nobel Laureate in chemistry
and then the links to the right (e.g., Biography, Interview,
Nobel Lecture, etc.). 

The RSC Biographical Database
Provides citations to obituaries, which can be an excellent source of biographical information, for members of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Once you find a citation, check to see if the library has it.

Women in Chemistry
Contains interviews/transcripts and other materials for 8 comtempory chemists.

CHF- People
Contains very brief biographical sketches by the Chemical Heritage Foundation.

 

Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN)

You'll find some newsy articles in C&EN (e.g., so-and-so winning an award and some background info, obituaries, etc.). The first link is to an online version of C&EN that goes back to 1998 and has full-text from 1998-present.

Chemical & Engineering News (1998-present)

C&EN Archive (1923-2010)
We do not have online access to the full-text through this interface. Once you identify an article, check LibCat for our C&EN holdings (1942~2003) or use Get It For Me to request other years or a scan. What print the University Libraries owns is on 3rd Floor Evans Library under call number: TP1 .C35

Standard Print/Online Biographical Sources

For biographical information about chemists, try some of these standard print and online sources.If the chemist is listed, these sources typically provide a few pages of biographical information and often a list of other sources for additional biographical information (e.g., books, magazine articles, etc.).

 

Books

There are entire books (autobiographies and biographies) on some of the more well-known chemists. To locate books at the University Libraries, conduct a keyword or subject search using the chemists name in our online catalog - LibCat. Most of the biographies of chemists are shelved under call numbers QD21-QD22 on the 4th Floor of Evans Library, but be sure to search LibCat.

To search and locate books not owned by the University Libraries (or request to borrow another copy), use WorldCat. If you find a book not owned by the University Libraries, you can request through our Get It For Me service. It will take about a week for the book to arrive.


"Candid Science: Conversations with Famous Chemists" is a book series containing a collection of interviews with chemists. There are two volumes containing interviews with approximately 70 chemists. Each interview is 5-20 pages. The original volume is available online and volume III is in print. Here are a few of the chemists in the original volume (Pauling, Elion, Djerassi, Barton, Hoffmann, Cotton...). There are print copies for 4-hour checkout in Media & Reserves on the 4th Floor of the Library Annex.


Both the National Academies of Science and the Royal Society publish biographies:

Biographical Memoirs
Biographies of deceased members of the National Academy of Sciences. If it's not available online, we have most of this series in print. The print volumes are located in Evans Library on 4th Floor under call number: Q141 .N2

Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society 
Contains biographies of deceased Fellows of the Royal Society. Almost entirely British chemists, but there are a few Americans. If it's not available online, we have most of this series in print. The print volumes are located in Evans Library on 4th Floor under call number: Q41 .R9

 

Databases

SciFinder
This is the premier database for chemistry literature, namely original research found in the journals and patents, but it does have a limit for "Biography" that finds obituaries and other biographical information.Registration is needed before accessing SciFinder. Here is a Flash video demonstrating the search.  

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
This database lists biographical sources - mainly books with short entries (i.e., one paragraph to a few pages). To locate the books listed, search the title of the book in our online catalog - LibCat

JSTOR
This database contains full-text of many humanities and social science journals, including 19 history of science and technology journals. Almost all articles are full-text.

Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life
These two history databases mainly contain citations to articles.In general, America: History & Life covers U.S. history and Historical Abstracts covers world history. Use the "Find Text @ TAMU" button within the databases to link to the full-text or find it in print.

LexisNexis Academic
This database contains newspapers articles from major newspapers (New York Times, Houston Chronicle, Washington Post, etc.). Once at the database, change the search from "Major World Publications" to "Newspapers" if you want to search major U.S. newspapers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip