This is the "Databases" page of the "Biographical Material" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biographical Material   Tags: biographies, biography, genealogical research, history  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/biography Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credo Reference- Biographies search box




This box will search all of your Credo Reference "Biographical" entries.

AccessScience

AccessScience provides biographies of eminent scientists searchable by name or subject.

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Provides information on eminent scientists, including about their personal lives.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete

This database provides access to Gale's suite of literary biography publications.

 

Memorial Tributes National Academy of Engineering, vol. 14, 2011

This series contains short biographies of deceased members of the National Academy of Engineering. Published by the National Academies Press, the volumes are searchable and readable online, from Vol.1, published in 1979, to the latest. A searchable listing of all the volumes is available here.

 

Finding Biographical Material

Welcome to the Biographies Libguide. This subject guide provides links to biographical materials. Other subject guides that may also be of use include:

 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:



  Help


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

When searching for biographies in the library catalog, consider the following keywords: Biography, Biographies, Biographical, Biographical Dictionary, Biographical Encyclopedia. Another way to find biographical materials in the catalog that works for finding biographical material on scholars is to input the name of the person and the term Festschrift (a festschrift is a book of scholarship dedicated to a renowned academic that oftentimes provides a biography of the feted academic in the introduction).

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Biography and Genealogy Master Index provides one point of access to Gale products that provide biographical material. Users may search by name or free text. Sometimes results may include multiple versions of a user's name so it is worth looking at each in order to find additional biographies.

Lexis Nexis People Search

Lexis Nexis Academic provides a "Research People" search on its main page where users can search by name. Users may choose to search for biographical references, which draws primarily from the Marquis Who's Who directory, or recent news stories that involve the name entered. The "Research People" search also provides a link to a "People" search that provides more options for limiting the search.

Literature Resource Center

This database provides full text biographies for many literary figures as well as well-known academics. To find biographies, first limit to "Person-By or About" and then search for the name of the person. on the results screen select the second tab, "Biographies."

African American Biographical Database

This database allows users to search by profile or to search the full text of the biographies (click on the search link on the main page).

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

This database contains over 58,000 biographies of people "who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century." Users may search by the name of person, full text, or browse. This database also provides searchable images.

Business Databases with Biographical Materials

  • Board Analyst
    Accessible only from specific computer in the WCL Barclay Center. Provides insight on the members of corporate boards including age, education, professional background, other corporate board affiliations, and non-corporate affiliations. Also provides insight to the companies' governance practices and the ability to explore board interlocks.
  • Leadership Library
    Directory of public and private sector personnel contacts at 40,000 leading U.S. businesses, government, and other organizations. Includes biographies, education, affiliations, and more.
  • Corporate Affiliations
    Information on nearly 700,000 parent & subsidiary businesses worldwide includes details on directors, executives and their professional interactions.
  • Mergent Online
    Look up a company and then select the Executives tab for biographical, compensation, and ownership data.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Look up a company and then select People & Contacts for compensation and employment history
  • Business Source Complete
    Under Company Profiles, look up a company and find the section Key Employee Biographies

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Bales
Contact Info
111R Sterling C. Evans Library
(979) 845-1036
sbales@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip