Finding Books, E-books, Videos, etc. . .
LibCat, includes materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) at Evans, West Campus and Cushing Libraries as well as PSEL.
Chiron, is the catalog for the Medical Sciences Library Catalog with materials in medicine, verteinary medicine and public health.
Don’t forget WorldCat is a consortial online catalog system that includes the holdings for over 14,000 research libraries around the world. If we do not own what you need, you can request specific materials (books, journal articles, book chapters, etc.) by using the Get it for me.
You may also request that the Libraries purchase books, reports or videos and you will be notified if it is purchased.
Tell us what you think
Help us to make this guide useful...
Adoption of GMO Crops
Getting Online Course Readings and Textbooks . . .
Library Reserves provides a print collection of textbooks as well as electronic access to articles, chapters and other course materials (including streaming videos) at http://library-reserves.tamu.edu/. If textbooks or print materials are on reserve at a campus library, their location and status will also indicated.
The first time you login, you will need to follow these steps:
- Login with your NetID
- On the left, click on Search Classes
- Enter the instructor's name OR the Department and Course Number
- From the list, click Add Class
It will only be necessary to do this the first time, Thereafter, the course will be listed in the Main Menu when you login.
Getting Books & Articles Delivered . . .
You can set up a Get It For Me (Document Delivery Service) account to ask the
- Scan up to 50 pages for items not already available electronically
- Request to borrow materials owned by other universities or research centers
- Get items delivered to PSEL from other campus libraries
* The Libraries may send print materials through campus mail to faculty only. The Policy Sciences & Economics Library staff will also deliver library materials to patrons with offices or mailboxes in the Bush complex.
Keeping Track of Library Resources and Research Materials...
Set up your Bookbag to create and save lists of databases or journals for specific topical research. RefWorks will help organize your research and citations, making them accessible from any computer and allowing you to generate bibliographies easily in established formats.
The library provides support for organizing and citing information in order to make writing papers and doing projects a little easier.
There is an introduction to Citing Sources and other basic information that faculty and students may need (like when to cite and when not to). In addition, there are a number of brief guides to citing in various styles including:
Bibliographic software can also help organize your sources and create a database for ongoing projects. These programs will also put sources into a specific format, one of those above or one created by the user. The Libraries provide assistance with a couple of these programs: