This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Tax Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Tax Accounting   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctaztax Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Tax and Accounting Center (BNA Tax Management Portfolios)
    Portfolios are documents written by tax practitioners/topic experts that explore narrow tax topics in-depth, including the history and background of the topic, detailed analysis, working papers and worksheets to implement planning suggestions + a bibliography of related literature. Regularly updated.
  • RIA Checkpoint Federal Tax Library  Icon
    Practice areas include Federal, State and International tax research with the ability to search all practice areas by keyword, date range, legislation or citation; primary, editorial and news resources all available.
  • Accounting Research Manager (ARM)
    Access to FASB and IASB standards, among others, SEC requirements, rules and regulations and interpretations and examples for all topics.

Internet Resources

 

Books


Cover Art
Ernst and Young Tax Guide 2014 - Ernst & Young
ISBN: 1118660676
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
File your taxes with the help of an authoritative leader in the field If you wish to personally prepare your 2013 federal tax return, but seek the guidance of a trusted name in this field, look no further than the Ernst & Young Tax Guide 2014. Drawing from the tax experience and knowledge base of Ernst & Young professionals, this reliable resource not only covers how to file your federal income tax return but also provides valuable insights on how to avoid common errors and maximize your federal tax deductions. Designed in a straightforward and accessible style, the Ernst & Young Tax Guide 2014 contains essential information that will help you save time and money as you prepare your 2013 federal tax return. Throughout the book, you'll find hundreds of examples illustrating how tax laws work, as well as sample tax forms and schedules to show you how to fill out your return line by line. Includes 50 of the most commonly overlooked deductions to take into account when preparing your return Provides specific solutions in its special contents index for taxpayers in particular circumstances, including families, homeowners, investors, entrepreneurs, senior citizens, and military personnel Contains an individual tax organizer, 2014 tax calendar, and a summary of expiring provisions Provides checklists of key 2013 tax breaks and deductions you may be eligible to use Comprehensive yet direct, the Ernst & Young Tax Guide 2014 has everything you'll need to personally prepare your 2013 federal tax return.

Cover Art
The Daily Telegraph Tax Guide 2014 - David Genders
ISBN: 0749471727
Publication Date: 2014-05-03
The Daily Telegraph Tax Guide contains everything you need to know about completing a Self-Assessment tax return for 2013/14 including:full details of the new High Income Child Benefit tax chargesection-by-section worked illustrationskey changes from the 2013 Autumn Statement and March 2014 Budgetdealing effectively with HM Revenue & Customswhen and how to file your return and pay your taxFor any taxpayer, whether self-employed, part-time, retired or unemployed, the book is an invaluable resource that can help ensure that you are as tax efficient as possible, offering practical advice, timetables and examples that aim to simplify what many people view as a complex and challenging procedure.With a whole range of top tips for saving on all types of tax, The Daily Telegraph Tax Guide is the essential guide to completing your 2013/14 tax return.

Cover Art
Deduct It! - Stephen Fishman
Call Number: KF6491.Z9 F57 2011
ISBN: 1413319211
Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Business tax deductions, from start-up to success -- learn how to Deduct It! Completely updated for 2013 returns! Understanding tax deductions is one of the keys to start-up success. Learn how to make more money for your small business by paying the IRS less -- let Deduct It! show you how to quickly maximize the business deductions you're legally entitled to. Learn how to make year-round business decisions that will pay off come tax time and avoid IRS problems with this comprehensive book. All the information you need is organized into practical categories featuring common deductions for small business owners, including: - start-up expenses - operating expenses - health deductions - vehicles - travel - entertainment - meals - inventory - equipment - and many more This edition is completely updated with all the latest tax information, eligibility requirements, and tax rates for 2013 returns, including substantive updates to the law. Whether your business is just starting or well-established, Deduct It! is indispensable to your venture.

Cover Art
Home Business Tax Deductions - Stephen Fishman (Abridged by)
Call Number: KF6491 .F57 2011
ISBN: 1413316395
Publication Date: 2011-12-02
Keep your hard-earned money in your home business! Completely updated for 2011 returns! Tax deductions are essential to any business, but even more so when your office is also your home. Don't spend thousands on an accountant -- turn to Home Business Tax Deductions and do it yourself! Organized into categories of commonly-used deductions, Home Business Tax Deductions will help you write off: - your home office - start-up and operating expenses - vehicles,meals, entertainment, and travel - health insurance and medical bills - inventory - equipment The 8th edition of Home Business Tax Deductions is completely updated with all the latest tax information, eligibility requirements, and deductions for 2011 returns, including up-to-date information on how the latest laws could affect your home business.

Cover Art
Project Management Accounting - Kevin R. Callahan; Gary S. Stetz; Lynne M. Brooks
ISBN: 0470952342
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Praise for Project Management Accounting "Let me start with what the Second Edition of Project Management Accounting is not....it is not an inch wide and a mile deep. Instead, it provides multiple lenses to anticipate both intended and unintended consequences through sound principles of Project Management and accounting as well as inquiry focused on both risks to the project and reputational capital. It should be on every decision makers bookshelf to pick up and remind them of their essential foundation when they face a major project or the risk of mental myopia." -Barry van Dyck, PhD, Recruiting and Admissions Director, EMBA, Mendoza College of Business, University of Notre Dame Acquire the accounting knowledge and skills to become a top-performing Project Management professional Project Management accounting involves much more than just understanding how project income and expense impact the general ledger. To truly succeed in today's competitive business environment, project managers must also understand how to budget resources, determine ROI, and track costs and expenses for projects as well as become adept at strategy and executive decision making and portfolio management. With its focus on accounting, Project Management Accounting: Budgeting, Tracking, and Reporting Costs and Profitability, Second Edition is designed to enhance the business skills of project managers at all levels of experience. Now in a fully updated second edition, Project Management Accounting clearly explains step-by-step how project expensing (for both internal projects and outside vendors) should be capitalized or expensed in order to keep the budget on track and improve profitability. The proficient author team of Callahan, Stetz, and Brooks culls their decades of experience to show readers how to achieve the greatest tax/cost savings by helping them determine what portion of the project can be capitalized. This Second Edition of Project Management Accounting includes current case studies and sample checklists to help professionals hit the ground running by immediately applying concepts to their own business scenarios. Here, CFOs, controllers, project managers, and accounting managers will discover how to: Understand risk assessment from an accounting and auditing perspectiv Maximize project outcomes by leveraging accounting and financing tools and principles Improve each project's profitability by understanding its costs and benefits Analyze their business's financial information to choose the right project, every time Apply proper accounting principles to a project Develop a project budget based on a company's financial performance and needs Project Management Accounting provides the knowledge and skills to become proficient in Project Management and maximize the profitability and ROI of any project.

Cover Art
Confidence Games - Tanina Rostain; Milton C., Milton C Regan, Jr.
ISBN: 0262027135
Publication Date: 2014-04-25
For ten boom-powered years at the turn of the twenty-first century, some of America'smost prominent law and accounting firms created and marketed products that enabled the very rich --including newly minted dot-com millionaires -- to avoid paying their fair share of taxes by claimingbenefits not recognized by law. These abusive domestic tax shelters bore such exotic names as BOSS,BLIPS, and COBRA and were developed by such prestigious firms as KPMG and Ernst & Young. Theybrought in hundreds of millions of dollars in fees from clients and bilked the U.S. Treasury ofbillions in revenues before the IRS and Justice Department stepped in with civil penalties andcriminal prosecutions. In Confidence Games, Tanina Rostain and Milton Regandescribe the rise and fall of the tax shelter industry during this period, offering a rivetingaccount of the most serious episode of professional misconduct in the history of the American bar.Rostain and Regan describe a beleaguered IRS preoccupied by attacks from antitax and antigovernmentpoliticians; heightened competition for professional services; the relaxation of tax practitionernorms against aggressive advice; and the creation of complex financial instruments that made abusiveshelters harder to detect. By 2004, the tax shelter boom was over, leaving failed firms, disgracedprofessionals, and prison sentences in its wake. Rostain and Regan's cautionary tale remains highlyrelevant today, as lawyers and accountants continue to face intense competitive pressure andregulators still struggle to keep pace with accelerating financial risk and innovation.

Cover Art
Small Business Taxes for Dummies - Eric Tyson
ISBN: 1118650611
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
Are you a small business owner taxed by taxes? Not being up-to-speed on tax rules and strategies can lead to mistakes that cost business owners thousands of dollars in fines and penalties every year. Small Business Taxes For Dummies assists both current and aspiring small business owners with important tax planning issues. For the estimated 21 million small business owners in the U.S., the nation's tax codes continue to change and increase in complexity. Small Business Taxesnbsp;For Dummies arms you for important tax planning issues, including: year-round tax planning tips and expense tracking advice; small business decisions and expense basics; business use of your home and self-employment taxes; creating an ongoing tax routine; dealing with the IRS and where to find help; navigating audits and notices; and more. Guides you through the current tax laws and ensures that you understand your rights and obligations Helps small business owners save time and money Empowers you to understand and prepare your own tax documents The expert tips and advice presented in Small Business Taxes For Dummies are for the millions of small business owners like you searching for a guide to the latest tax codes and regulations.

Cover Art
Tax Systems - Joel Slemrod; Christian Gillitzer
ISBN: 0262026724
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Despite its theoretical elegance, the standard optimal tax model has significantlimitations. In this book, Joel Slemrod and Christian Gillitzer argue that tax analysis must movebeyond the emphasis on optimal tax rates and bases to consider such aspects of taxation asadministration, compliance, and remittance. Slemrod and Gillitzer explore whatthey term a tax-systems approach, which takes tax evasion seriously; revisits the issue ofremittance, or who writes the check to cover tax liability (employer or employee, retailer orconsumer); incorporates administrative and compliance costs; recognizes a range of behavioralresponses to tax rates; considers nonstandard instruments, including tax base breadth andenforcement effort; and acknowledges that tighter enforcement is sometimes a more socially desirableway to raise revenue than an increase in statutory tax rates. Policy makers, Slemrod and Gillitzerargue, would be well advised to recognize the interrelationship of tax rates, bases, enforcement,and administration, and acknowledge that tax policy is really tax-systems policy.

Cover Art
The Taxation of Corporate Groups under Consolidation - Antony Ting
ISBN: 1107033497
Publication Date: 2012-12-20
The rise of corporate groups in the last century dictates a shift in the income tax law: instead of treating each company as a separate taxpayer, the tax consolidation regime is increasingly common. Antony Ting presents the first comprehensive comparative study of eight consolidation regimes in Australia, France, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain and the USA. In the study, he critically analyses and compares alternative policy options with respect to ten key structural elements. The study improves understanding of the design and implementation of consolidation regimes and sets the stage for the search for a model. It provides valuable information with respect to the best practices, as well as the pitfalls, in the design of a consolidation regime. The book is essential to countries contemplating the introduction of a new consolidation regime and offers important insights into the management of such a complex structure through careful policy-orientated choices.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip