This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Accounting Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Accounting Systems   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazsystems Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Accounting Information Systems for Decision Making - Daniela Mancini (Editor); Eddy H. J. Vaassen (Editor); Renata Paola Dameri (Editor)
ISBN: 3642357601
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
This book contains a collection of research papers on accounting information systems including their strategic role in decision processes, within and between companies. An accounting system is a complex system composed of a mix of strictly interrelated elements such as data, information, human resources, IT tool, accounting models and procedures. Accounting information systems are often considered the instrument by default for accounting automation.  This book aims to sketch a clear picture of the current state of AIS research, including design, acceptance and reliance, value-added decision making, interorganizational links, and process improvements. The contributions in this volume emphasize that AIS has grown into a powerful strategic tool. The book provides evidence for this observation by examining a wide range of current issues ranging from theory development in AIS to practical applications of accounting information systems. In particular it focuses on themes of growing interest in the realm of XBRL and Financial Reporting, Management Information Systems, IT/IS Audit and IT/IS Compliance. The book will be of interest to financial and managerial accountants and IT/IS practitioners, including information systems managers and consultants.

Cover Art
Accounting Information Systems and Internal Control - Eddy Vaassen; Roger Meuwissen; Caren Schelleman
Call Number: HF5679 .V33 2009
ISBN: 0470753951
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Accounting Information Systems and Internal Control provides comprehensive approaches to the design and evaluation of internal control systems. In doing so, it covers both the traditional process approach that focuses on individual organizational processes, and a contemporary typology approach that focuses on different types of organizations as unique combinations of organizational processes. In both approaches and throughout the text, IT is considered an integral part and enabler of internal control. nbsp;The second edition of Accounting Information Systems and Internal Control: nbsp;Places internal control in the context of other related disciplines. Discusses contemporary developments in the field of internal control. Explores the relationship between internal control and management control as means to achieve organizational control. Examines the dynamics of internal control and IT. Provides tools and techniques for documenting and evaluating internal control systems. Discusses the process approach to designing and evaluating internal control systems. Introduces the contemporary typology approach to designing and evaluating internal control systems, focusing on internal controls that are applicable in various types of organization, including trade, production, service (including knowledge intensive firms and telecoms), financial industry and governmental organizations. Illustrates practical internal control issues using articles from several major international newspapers such as the Financial Times, the Guardian, The New York Times and the Washington Post. Accounting Information Systems and Internal Control has been written for students in Accounting Information Systems and Internal Control courses at advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate levels. A website accompanies the book and provides case studies, PowerPoint slides, an instructor?s manual together with questions and answers: www.wileyeurope.com/college/vaassen

Cover Art
Corporate Accounting Information Systems - Tony Boczko
Call Number: HF5679 .B56 2007
ISBN: 0273684876
Publication Date: 2007-09-10
We live in a world dominated almost exclusively by flows of knowledge and information - by technologies designed to not only sustain but also increase the socio-economic need and desire for more and more information. This book offers a unique insight into the nature, role and context of accounting related information within the competitive business environment, and explores how business organisations - in particular companies - use a range of theories and technologies to not only assist in the maximisation of shareholder wealth, but also in the management and control of organisational resources.

Cover Art
Accounting Information Systems - Dasaratha Rama; Frederick Jones
Call Number: HF5679 .J595 2006
ISBN: 0324301618
Publication Date: 2005-03-07
The purpose of this text is to help students develop a strong conceptual foundation in accounting information systems (AIS) that can serve as a basis for lifelong learning. The text's approach has emerged from the authors' extensive experience gained through teaching the AIS course at multiple institutions. This text is a flexible resource that can be adapted to meet the varying needs of different students, faculty, and institutions. Using a business process approach, this text (a) provides a strong conceptual foundation in accounting systems and control, (b) enables students to use this foundation in developing and evaluating accounting applications and in problem solving, and (c) presents information in a way that facilitates student learning. Throughout the text, the authors emphasize the relevance of the content to accountants and the roles they play as designer, user and evaluator of information systems. The text provides numerous problem-solving aids to help students develop skills in documenting and analyzing transaction cycles and AIS data, identifying risks and controls, using accounting applications, and designing and evaluating AIS. A set of core cases used throughout the text for illustration and assignments assists integration. A comprehensive case at the end of the text gives students further opportunity to demonstrate understanding. A supplement is available to help students learn how a relational database (MS Access) can be used to implement an AIS.

Cover Art
Accounting Information Systems - Robert Hurt
Call Number: HF5679 .H865 2010
ISBN: 0078111056
Publication Date: 2009-10-29
Hurt's Accounting Information Systems, 2e continues to take a fresh new approach that puts judgment and critical thinking, not technology, at the heart of the AIS course. Using a conversational writing style appealing to students, this book presents AIS as an art as much as a science. AIS is presented as a set of fundamental ideas and concepts that can be applied in various organisational contexts. Students are provided with vocabulary they will need to succeed in the profession and ensuring that they can communicate clearly and effectively about accounting information systems with both accountants and nonaccountants.The text end-of-chapter exercises and assessment tools are all competency-based, distilling knowledge to its essential elements and then encouraging students to use those essential elements to think for themselves.

Cover Art
Accounting Information Systems - Marshall B. Romney; Paul John Steinbart
Call Number: HF5679 .A34 2009
ISBN: 0136015182
Publication Date: 2008-02-26
KEY BENEFIT: Thorough and up-to-date, this book supports any of the most popular approaches to AIS: focus on transaction cycles and controls; focus on systems life cycle; focus on databases and data modeling; or focus on computer-based controls, fraud and auditing. KEY TOPICS: The book begins with an overview and conceptual foundations then goes on to discuss control and audit of accounting information systems, accounting information systems applications, and the systems development process. MARKET: For CPAs and corporate accountants.

Cover Art
Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013 Cookbook - Ian Grieve; Mark Polino
ISBN: 1849689385
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Microsoft Dynamics GP is an enterprise resource planning system, essentially an accounting system on steroids, designed for mid-sized organizations. The implementation of Dynamics GP is usually considered to be complex, and people often realize there must be more efficient ways of working with the system. This book will show readers how to improve their use of Dynamics GP and get the most out of this tool quickly and effectively."Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013 Cookbook" picks up where implementation training leaves off. Whether you are new or experienced you will find useful recipes for improving the way you use and work with Dynamics GP. The clear recipe steps and screenshots make implementing these solutions easy for users of any level and will be sure to improve your efficiency with the Dynamics GP 2013 system.The book starts with recipes designed to enhance the usefulness of Microsoft Dynamics GP by personalizing the look and feel of the application. Most of the recipes are designed to give tips for a typical installation of Dynamics GP, including core financials and distribution modules. The book then moves through recipes that include automating Dynamics GP to allow users or administrators to focus on value adding tasks, harnessing the power of SmartLists to leverage both simplicity and power, connecting Dynamics GP to Microsoft Office 2013, exposing hidden features in Dynamics GP, and much more!Through the final chapters, the book covers system maintenance and extending Dynamics GP with the Support Debugging Tool and Professional Services Tools Library.

Cover Art
Oracle E-Business Suite Financials R12 - Mohan Iyer
ISBN: 9781849680622
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
This is a step-by-step functional guide to get you started easily with Oracle EBS Financials. If you are an Oracle E-Business Suite Financial consultant or an administrator looking to get a quick review on the capabilities of Oracle E-Business Suite and improve the use of the systems functionality, then this is the best guide for you. This book assumes that you have a fundamental knowledge of EBS Suite.

Cover Art
Mastering IDEAscript - IDEA; John Paul Mueller
ISBN: 1118004485
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Improve your audit results and extend your capabilities with Mastering IDEAScript: The Definitive Guide Run audit programs and data analysis projects with ease. Create a local automated audit system. Meet current audit standards. Do it all with Mastering IDEAScript, the official guide from CaseWare IDEA®. Designed to help the complete novice develop the skills required to write applications using IDEAScript, this resource starts with simple topics, progressively working up to more complex areas. It helps you understand what automation can help you do and set reasonable goals for working with IDEAScript. Although basic familiarity with the IDEA® program is helpful in the use of this book's concepts, neither programming skills nor special equipment is required. Here, you'll find plain-English, easy-to-follow explanations for: Creating your first IDEAScript application Using the IDEAScript Editor Writing code quickly and efficiently Building complete applications without any code at all, using the Macro Recorder Troubleshooting errors that occur in your application Performing basic tasks, such as indexing, sorting, and closing your database Finding information easily within databases And much more! Along with a companion website containing all of the scripts found in this book, Mastering IDEAScript: The Definitive Guide is packed with practical techniques and rules of thumb to help you understand the workings of IDEAScript. The days of filling in forms and answering countless questions when running audit programs are over. From now on, let IDEAScript do the work! IDEA® is a leading provider of data analysis software targeted to auditors to use as a tool for fraud detection and internal control assessment. IDEA® software is used in sixteen languages in more than ninety countries, by major accounting firms, governments, and corporations in all industry sectors, as well as by universities as a teaching tool. IDEA® is a registered trademark of CaseWare International Inc.

Cover Art
NetSuite OneWorld Implementation 2011 R2 - Thomas Foydel
ISBN: 1849681325
Publication Date: 2011-11-25
This text presents a research study into the development of reflective practitioners in a pre-service teacher education programme. The teacher educator in the study modelled his own reflections on practice in the hope that it would help students to apply reflection to their own teaching.; The results of the author's research demonstrate that reflection on practice occurs in three distinct periods: before anticipatory, during contemporaneous and after retrospective a pedagogical experience. The book concludes that when student teachers' own learning situations, both within their university coursework and their school experiences, become the focus for their learning about teaching and learning, their understanding of, and practice in, teaching is enhanced.

Cover Art
Algebraic Models for Accounting Systems - Nehmer
Call Number: HF5679 .A44 2010
ISBN: 9814287113
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This book describes the construction of algebraic models which represent the operations of the double entry accounting system. It gives a novel, comprehensive, proof based treatment of the topic, using such concepts from abstract algebra as automata, digraphs, monoids and quotient structures.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip