This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Special Industry Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Special Industry Accounting   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazspecial Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • LexisNexis Academic
    A good place to look up both statues and case law, which may be particularly useful with specialized accounting situations.
  • RIA Checkpoint Federal Tax Library
    Search both primary and editorial materials by keyword, date range, legislation and citations. Extensive coverage in practice areas including State, Federal and International.

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Financial Management of Health Care Organizations - William N. Zelman; Michael J. McCue; Noah D. Glick
ISBN: 0470497521
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Thoroughly revised, this third edition of Financial Management of Health Care Organizations of-fers an introduction to the most-used tools and techniques of health care financial management. Comprehensive in scope, the book covers a broad range of topics that include an overview of the health care system and evolving reimbursement methodologies; health care accounting and finan-cial statements; managing cash, billings, and collections; the time value of money and analyzing and financing major capital investments; determining cost and using cost information in decision-mak-ing; budgeting and performance measurement; and pricing. In addition, this new edition includes information on new laws and regulations that affect health care financial reporting and performance, revenue cycle management expansion of health care services into new arenas, benchmarking, interest rate swaps, bond ratings, auditing, and internal control. This important resource also contains information on the 2007 Healthcare Audit Guide of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). Written to be accessible, the book avoids complicated formulas. Chapter appendices offer advanced, in-depth information on the subject matter. Each chapter provides a detailed outline, a summary, and key terms, and includes problems in the context of real-world situations and events that clearly illustrate the concepts presented. Problem sets that end each chapter have been updated and expanded to support more in-depth learning of the chapters' concepts. An Instructor's Manual, available online, contains PowerPoint and Excel files.

Cover Art
Accounting for Real Estate Transactions - Maria K. Davis
ISBN: 0470603380
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
Accounting for Real Estate Transactions, Second Edition is an up-to-date, comprehensive reference guide, specifically written to help professionals understand and apply the accounting rules relating to real estate transactions. This book provides financial professionals with a powerful tool to evaluate the accounting consequences of specific deals, enabling them to structure transactions with the accounting consequences in mind, and to account for them in accordance with US GAAP. Accountants and auditors are provided with major concepts, clear and concise explanations of real estate accounting rules, detailed applications of US GAAP, flowcharts, and exhaustive cross-references of the authoritative literature.

Cover Art
Financial Management in Construction Contracting - David Hugill; Andrew Ross; Peter Williams
ISBN: 1405125063
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
This authoritative text provides a detailed insight into how construction companies manage their finances at both corporate and project level. It will guide students and practitioners through the complexities of the financial reporting of construction projects within the constraints of accepted accounting practice. The book is written for non-accountants and from a contractor's perspective and is equally relevant to subcontractors and main contractors. The authors examine the relationship between the external annual accounts and the internal cost-value reconciliation process. CVR is covered in depth and the authors consider issues such as interim payments, subcontract accounts, contractual claims, final accounts, cash flow management and the reporting of the physical and financial progress of contracts.  A broad perspective of all the financial aspects of contracting is taken along with related legal issues and the authors explain how things operate in the 'real world'. They describe good practice in financial control while at the same time being honest about some of the more questionable practices that can - and do - happen. The approach taken is unique as the financial management of construction projects is considered from the perspective of the contractor's quantity surveyor. The book deals with the real issues that surveyors have to address when using their judgment to report turnover, profitability, cash flow, and work in progress on projects and the financial problems faced by subcontractors are frankly and pragmatically explored. The payment and notice requirements of the Construction Act are explained in detail and relevant provisions of JCT2011, NEC3, ICC, DOM/1 and other standard contracts and subcontracts are also covered. Financial Management in Construction Contracting addresses the wide variety of external factors that influence how construction companies operate, including government policy, banking covenants and the financial aspects of supply chain management. Cost reporting systems are described and real-life examples are used to illustrate cost reports, accrual systems and how computerised systems can be employed to provide the QS with information that can be audited. Examples drawn from practice demonstrate how work-in-progress (WIP) is reported in contracting. Cost value reconciliation reports are featured and the book demonstrates how adjustments are made for overmeasure, undermeasure, subcontract liabilities and WIP as well as explaining the processes that contractors use when analysing external valuations. This is the ideal core text for final year degree and post-graduate level modules on Quantity Surveying, Commercial Management, Construction Management and Project Management courses and will provide an invaluable source of reference for quantity surveyors and others who may be engaged in the financial management of construction projects. The book's companion website at www.wiley.com/go/rossfinancialmanagement offers invaluable resources for students and lecturers as well as for practising construction managers: end-of-chapter exercises + outline answers PowerPoint slides for each chapter ideas for discussion topics links to useful websites  


Cover Art
Accounting for Risk, Hedging and Complex Contracts - Rashad A. Abdel-Khalik
ISBN: 0415808936
Publication Date: 2013-10-02
With the exponential growth in financial derivatives, accounting standards setters have had to keep pace and devise new ways of accounting for transactions involving these instruments, especially hedging activities. Accounting for Risk, Hedging and Complex Contracts addresses the essential elements of these developments, exploring accounting as related to today's most relevant topics - risk, hedging, insurance, reinsurance, and more. The book begins bynbsp;providing a basic foundation by discussing the concepts of risk, risk types and measurement, and risk management. It then introduces readers to the nature and valuation of free standing options, swaps, forward and futures as well as of embedded derivatives. Discussion and illustrations of the cash flow hedge and fair value hedge accounting treatments are offered in both single currency and multiple currency environments, including hedging net investment in foreign operations.nbsp;The final chapternbsp;is devoted to the disclosure of financial instruments and hedging activities. The combination of these topics makes the book a must-have resource and referencenbsp;in the field. With discussions of the basic tools and instruments, examinations of the related accounting, and case studies to help students apply their knowledge, this book is an essential, self-contained source for upper-level undergraduate and masters accounting students looking develop an understanding of accounting for today's financial realities.

Cover Art
Agricultural Finance - Charles B. Moss; Michael A. Gunderson
ISBN: 0415599075
Publication Date: 2013-06-13
The study of economics by definition is the study of alternatives. Demand is developed from the choices that consumers make based on their preferences and the money they have to spend. Although supply and demand remains pivotal to any analysis of agriculture, it is important to take into account additional factors such as property rights, government interventions through trade barriers and environmental restrictions, and incomplete or imperfect information into account. These institutions are all major factors in an analysis of agricultural finance. Charles Moss and Michael Gunderson of the University of Florida take the student through all aspects of the topic. Commencing with a short primer on financial economics, the authors show how these principles can be brought to bear on the world of agriculture. Topics covered include investment under risk and uncertainty, the role of banks and other financial institutions, liquidity and asset management.

Cover Art
Construction Accounting and Financial Management - Steven Peterson
Call Number: HF5686.B7 P48 2013
ISBN: 0132675056
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
CONSTRUCTION ACCOUNTING & FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT, 3/e helps construction professionals and construction management students master the principles of financial management, and adapt and apply them to the challenge of profitably managing construction companies. It integrates content that has traditionally been taught through separate accounting, finance, and engineering economics texts. Students learn how to account for a construction company's financial resources; how to manage its costs, profits, and cash flows; how to evaluate different sources of funding a company's cash needs; and how to quantitatively analyze financial decisions. Readers gain hands-on experience through 220 example problems and over 390 practice problems, many of them based on situations actually encountered by the author. This edition adds more than 100 new discussion questions, and presents financial equations and accounting transactions more visually to support more intuitive learning.

Cover Art
Strategic Managerial Accounting - Helen Atkinson; Tracy Jones; Angela Lorenz; Peter Harris (As told to)
ISBN: 1908999004
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Strategic Managerial Accounting: Hospitality, Tourism & Events Applications 6edn explores the nature of these industry sectors and how these impact on the strategic managerial accounting (SMA) tools used by decision makers in the industry.Formerly known as Managerial Accounting in the Hospitality Industry by Harris and Hazzard, this new edition builds on this successful and well known text, retaining its practical approach and active learning style, extending to consider strategic management accounting and to include tourism and events management industry contexts.This new 6th edition incorporates discussion, explanations and illustrations of the theoretical underpinning of hospitality, tourism and events related to SMA and managerial accounting concepts and techniques, together with specific examples of industry application. It has a user friendly chapter structure, with pedagogic features including objectives, learning activities, self check questions, references, and key points summaries. Each chapter includes 'theoretical context' sections which put the applied learning in the context of current research and thinking to bring the theory to life.Key features of this text are:* A complete revision and expansion of the well known and successful Harris and Hazzard text;* Includes several brand new chapters such as: Event and Function Management Accounting techniques, Sustainability & Environmental Management Accounting (EMA), Not-for-profit Organisations, Current Issues in Strategic Management Accounting;* Uses international real life case studies to illustrate from across the hospitality, tourism and events sectors including charity (not-for-profit) sector and music events;* Links to applied and generic research on each topic;* Includes International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) terminology suitable for an international audience. With a complete suite of online tutor resources, this book is essential reading for all year 2/3 undergraduate and postgraduate students studying hospitality, tourism and events management.

Cover Art
Hospitality Management Accounting - Martin G. Jagels; Catherine E. Ralston (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF5686.H75 C53 2007
ISBN: 0471687898
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
The success of every business in the hospitality industry depends on maximizing revenues and minimizing costs. This Ninth Edition continues its time-tested presentation of fundamental concepts and analytical techniques that are essential to taking control of real-world accounting systems, evaluating current and past operations, and effectively managing finances toward increased profits. It offers hands-on coverage of computer applications and practical decision-making skills to successfully prepare readers for the increasingly complex and competitive hospitality industry.

Cover Art
Introduction to Agricultural Accounting - Barbara M. Wheeling
Call Number: HF5686.A36 W44 2008
ISBN: 1418038342
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Introduction to Agricultural Accounting is written specifically for accounting information related to agricultural operations. Typical issues and situations unique to the agricultural industry, and relevant examples of accounting are presented throughout. The accounting procedures offered build on current practice in agriculture. Cash-basis accounting, prevalent in many farm operations is explained in the text through an accrual-adjusted system, providing more accurate information for the measurement of profitability of the farm operation. Figures and tables are presented throughout for easy reference, and to simplify accounting practices.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip