This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Sarbanes-Oxley" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Sarbanes-Oxley   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazsarbanes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Auditing and Accounting Cases - Jay Thibodeau; Deborah Freier
Call Number: HF5686.C7 T48 2014
ISBN: 0078025567
Publication Date: 2013-03-18
The approach used by Thibodeau and Freier emphasizes the substantial benefits of using real-life case examples in helping to impart knowledge related to the practice of auditing. For the fourth edition of Auditing and Accounting Cases: Investigating Issues of Fraud and Professional Ethics the authors continue their quest to be known as the most current auditing and accounting case book on the market. In that spirit, all case questions in the fourth edition have been revised to incorporate the eight new standards adopted by the PCAOB (i.e., AS 8 - AS 15) that relate to the auditor’s assessment of and response to risk in an audit and that include guidance related to audit planning, supervision, materiality, and evidence. This flexible case book is perfect for educators to prepare future audit professionals with 45 cases focusing on specific and relevant audit issues. These cases focus on specific auditing issues directly impacted by Sarbanes Oxley and Dodd-Frank, using the actual companies-Madoff, Enron, WorldCom, Quest, Sunbeam-that have become synonymous with the capital markets’ crisis in confidence.

Cover Art
The New CFO Financial Leadership Manual - Steven M. Bragg
ISBN: 0470882565
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
The comprehensive guide for CFOs who need an overview of leadership basics from strategies to management improvement tips Filled with pragmatic insights and proactive strategies, The New CFO Financial Leadership Manual, Third Edition is destined to become your essential desktop companion. This thorough guidebook is filled with best practices to help you, as CFO, to improve efficiency, mitigate risks, and keep your organization competitive. Includes updated information on the relationship of the CFO with the Treasurer, registration statements and Fedwire payments, acquisitions integration, legal types of acquisitions, and government regulations Contains control flowcharts for the main accounting cycles Provides new chapters on Investor Relations and Risk Management for Foreign Exchange and Interest Rates Features an itemized list of the key tasks every new CFO should complete when first entering the position, a checklist of 100 performance measures, and a detailed discussion of employee compensation plans The reference CFOs and other financial managers can turn to for quick answers to questions they have as well as to help them plan their financial strategy, The New CFO Financial Leadership Manual, Third Edition is mandatory reading for every CFO wanting to play a strategic role in their organization.

Cover Art
Understanding Accounting Academic Research - Stephen R. Moehrle (Editor); Jennifer Reynolds-Moehrle (Editor); Gary J. Previts (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF5686.C7 U5 2013
ISBN: 1781907641
Publication Date: 2013-06-25
Volume 15 of Studies in the Development of Accounting Thought, is dedicated to the work of Professor Stephen R. Moehrle and Dr. Jennifer Reynolds Moerhle. It helps to provide context and understanding around the past decade of academic research post-Enron, Worldcom, and Sarbanes-Oxley'

Cover Art
Auditing and Accounting Cases - Jay Thibodeau; Deborah Freier
Call Number: HF5686.C7 T48 2011
ISBN: 0078110815
Publication Date: 2010-03-23
The approach used by Thibodeau and Freier emphasizes the substantial benefits of using real-life case examples in helping to impart knowledge related to the practice of auditing. This type of approach has long been acknowledged as a superior manner in which to teach. Since the authors present the concepts of auditing using actual corporate contexts, they seek to provided students with a real-life appreciation of these issues and clearly demonstrate the value of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and the post-Sarbanes technical audit guidance. The Third Edition has been updated to reflect all of the major changes happening in today’s society with actual companies such as Enron, WorldCom, Qwest, Sunbeam, that have become synonymous with the capital markets’ crisis in confidence. With 45 different short cases, instructors can assign 8 to 9 different cases for each of four different semesters.

Cover Art
Student Guide to the Sarbanes-Oxley Act - Robert A. Prentice; Dean Bredeson; Roger LeRoy Miller
Call Number: KF1446.Z9 P74 2010
ISBN: 0324827199
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Enron was once the seventh-largest company on the Fortune 500. Yet, in the wake of revelations of accounting irregularities and securities fraud, it became entangled in the greatest business scandal of a generation and was essentially blinked out of existence after declaring bankruptcy. Similar accounting scandals at Global Crossing, Tyco, WorldCom, Adelphia, HealthSouth, and other companies prompted Congress to pass the Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX) in June 2002. This revolutionary act, which embodies the most significant securities law changes since the original federal securities laws of 1933 and 1934, contains provisions that create a new federal agency, restructure the entire accounting industry, reform Wall Street practices, dramatically alter corporate governance practices here and abroad, and attack insider trading and obstruction of justice. A lot has happened since its passage. The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) has come into being, and the PCAOB and the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC) have issued countless rules to implement the SOX's many legislative mandates. This short guide focuses not only on what each part and section of the SOX means but also on what businesses need to know now that is has been implemented.

Cover Art
Financial Services Firms - Zabihollah Rezaee; Ram Menon
ISBN: 0470604476
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Indispensable coverage of new federal regulatory reforms and federal financial issues An essential guide covering new federal regulatory reforms and federal financial issues Financial Institutions, Valuations, Mergers and Acquisitions, Third Edition presents a new regulatory framework for financial institutions in the post-bailout era. Provides valuable guidance to assess risks, measure performance and conduct valuations processes to create shareholder value Covers the protection of other stakeholders, including customers, regulators, government, and consumers Offers an up-to-date understanding of financial institutions, their challenges, and their opportunities in the post-Sarbanes-Oxley era Over the past decade, substantial changes have taken place in the structure and range of products and services provided by the financial services industry. Get current coverage of these changes that have transformed both traditional organizations such as banks, thrifts, and insurance companies, as well as securities providers, asset management companies and financial holding companies with the up-to-the-minute coverage found in Financial Institutions, Valuations, Mergers and Acquisitions, Third Edition.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Business Law - Roger LeRoy Miller; Gaylord A. Jentz
Call Number: KF889 .M528 2010
ISBN: 0324595727
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
Business Law made simpler and less expensive! FUNDAMENTALS OF BUSINESS LAW: EXCERPTED CASES is the best paperback Business Law textbook available. It focuses on sales and contracts in an easy-to-understand format. Plus, with its Online Legal Research Guide, you're just a click away from instant study helps and time-saving research aids.

Cover Art
Sarbanes Oxley in Leading Economies - Sanjay Anand
Call Number: KF1446.A3282002 A2 2010
ISBN: 0136004342
Publication Date: 2010-03-29

Cover Art
Auditing after Sarbanes-Oxley - Jay C. Thibodeau; Deborah Freier
Call Number: HF5686.C7 T48 2009
ISBN: 0073379492
Publication Date: 2008-01-31
This casebook is intended as a supplement to any primary auditing text, as it helps extend and focus classroom discussions on the impact of Sarbanes-Oxley. It grabs student interest by providing engaging, real-world examples of the auditing environment pre- and post-Sarbanes-Oxley.

Cover Art
Sarbanes-Oxley and the Competitive Position of U. S. Stock Markets - Mark Jickling
Call Number: HG4910 .J53 2009
ISBN: 1606921665
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Congress passed the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (P.L. 107-204) to remedy weaknesses in accounting and corporate governance exposed by massive fraud at Enron Corp. and other firms. Criticism of the law, which has been fairly widespread among business groups, academics, and accountants, focuses on the costs of compliance, which are said to outweigh the benefits. Several studies and comments have argued that the rising cost of regulation has created incentives for firms to list their shares on foreign markets or to withdraw from the public markets altogether, weakening the international competitive position of U.S. stock exchanges. Specific evidence cited includes the fact that 24 of the largest 25 initial public stock offerings (IPOs) in 2005 took place on foreign exchanges, and that there has been a boom in the private equity market, where U.S. securities regulation is minimal. This book attempts to put instances like these in context by presenting comparative data on the world's major stock markets over the past decade.In terms of the number of corporations listing their shares, several foreign markets have shown faster growth than the major U.S. exchanges (the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and Nasdaq). However, these increases appear to be fueled primarily by growth in the number of domestic firms listing on their own national markets. While major foreign markets have seen significant declines in foreign listings as a percentage of all listings, U.S. exchanges have not been abandoned by foreign companies in significant numbers. Perhaps the most common reason for firms to delist, or leave a stock exchange, is a merger with another firm. Lower costs of regulation may be a side benefit of many mergers, but trends in interest rates and stock prices appear to be the primary determinants of merger activity. A rising number of corporate acquisitions result in the acquired firms "going private" -- becoming exempt from most regulation -- but this trend is also largely driven by economic conditions. Private equity investment has boomed since 2000 because debt financing has been abundant and relatively cheap, and because institutional investors have sought higher yields than what the stock and bond markets have provided. Figures on new issues of stock (including IPOs) are volatile, and annual data may be skewed by a few large deals. Certain foreign exchanges have recovered more quickly from the 2000-2002 bear market, but, on the whole, there is little evidence that the U.S. stock market is becoming less attractive to companies seeking to raise capital. When the bond markets are included, the role of the U.S. securities industry in capital formation appears to be as strong as ever. The data surveyed here suggest that rising regulatory costs have not precipitated any crisis in U.S. markets, and that the outcome of global competition among stock exchanges depends more on fundamental market conditions than on differentials in regulatory costs.

Cover Art
Accounting and the Global Economy after Sarbanes-Oxley - Don E. Garner; David L. McKee; Yosra AbuAmara McKee
Call Number: HF5686.C7 G297 2008
ISBN: 076561376X
Publication Date: 2007-09-05
This book is essential for students and practitioners in accounting, international business, finance, and economics. In a straightforward and readable style, it focuses on the changing accounting and auditing standards in national and global economies in the post-Enron/Arthur Andersen era. The authors clarify the reasons behind and consequences of the accounting profession's failure in auditing and self-regulation, as most firms placed consulting profits ahead of public audit duties. They show how Sarbanes-Oxley solutions, while not perfect, are major contributors to the profession's redemption, and have enabled it to rise to new heights of service and revenue. The book offers a detailed examination of accounting practitioners' past challenges and future prospects. It provides a realistic analysis of specific issues facing accounting and auditing firms today, including the growing problem of independence; the need for one set of international accounting standards and one set of auditing standards; adjustments facing the global financial system; and the impact of the Internet and communication systems on accounting firms.

Cover Art
The Sarbanes-Oxley Act - Wilma H. Fletcher (Editor); Theodore N. Plette
Call Number: KF1446 .S234 2008
ISBN: 1604560878
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, PL 107-204 described by some as the most important and far-reaching securities legislation since passage of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 USC §§ 77a et seq, and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC §§ 78a et seq, both of which were passed in the wake of the Stock Market Crash of 1929. The Act establishes a new Public Company Accounting Oversight Board which is to be supervised by the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Act restricts accounting firms from performing a number of other services for the companies which they audit. The Act also requires new disclosures for public companies and the officers and directors of those companies. Among the other issues affected by the new legislation are securities fraud, criminal and civil penalties for violating the securities laws and other laws, blackouts for insider trades of pension fund shares, and protections for corporate whistleblowers. This book contains important analyses on the impact of this Act.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip