This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Non-Profit Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Non-Profit Accounting   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctaznonprofit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • GuideStar  Icon
    Financial data on noprofit organizations, including access to IRS Form 990s.

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
The Simplified Guide to Not-for-Profit Accounting, Formation and Reporting - Laurence Scot
ISBN: 0470575441
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
A complete and easy to understand guide to the fundamentals of how not-for-profit organizations are formed and run, as well as their structure and the unique accounting and reporting issues they face. Providing you with a comprehensive understanding of how to maintain the "books" of a typical nonprofit entity and comply with numerous reporting requirements, The Simplified Guide to Not-for-Profit Accounting, Formation & Reporting equips you with everything you need to know to form a Not-For-Profit, setup an accounting system, record financial transactions and report to donors and regulatory bodies. Topics include: Step-by-step guide to forming a Not-For-Profit and applying for tax exemption Becoming familiar with unique Not-For-Profit accounting rules such as classifying contributions/grants and recording restrictions, allocation of expenses to programs and supporting services and investment classification and reporting Budget development, payroll processing and accounting for personnel costs Shows how to prepare and understand required Not-For-Profit financial statement and their components Provides you with a broad understanding of the numerous filing requirement required by donors, grantors and government regulatory agencies Practical and comprehensive in scope, The Simplified Guide to Not-for-Profit Accounting, Formation & Reporting offers a wealth of practical information to accountants and non-accountants alike for understanding Not-For-Profit financial transactions, financial statements and the many internal and external reports they must prepare.

Cover Art
Wiley Not-For-Profit GAAP 2014 - Richard F. Larkin; Marie DiTommaso
ISBN: 1118734300
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
The most practical, authoritative guide to not-for-profit GAAP Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2014 is a comprehensive, easy-to-use guide to the accounting and financial reporting principles used by not-for-profit organizations. Written with the needs of the financial statement preparer, user, and attestor in mind, this guide provides a complete review of the authoritative accounting literature that impacts all types of not-for-profit organizations. At the same time, Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2014 features many examples and illustrations that will assist professionals in applying authoritative literature to real-life situations. Easy-to-use information that enables users to find needed information quickly Coverage of accounting principles specifically related to not-for-profit organizations, as well as accounting principles applicable to all types of organizations Specific coverage of accounting issues for different types of not-for-profit organizations A disclosure checklist that helps financial statement preparers and attestors ensure that all disclosures required by GAAP have been considered Flowcharts, diagrams, and charts, wherever possible, to help facilitate the user's understanding of the material presented Destined to become the reference you keep at your side, Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2014 strives to be a thorough, reliable reference that nonprofit accounting professionals will use constantly.

Cover Art
Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements - Edward J. McMillan
ISBN: 0470575387
Publication Date: 2010-06-28
What every not-for-profit must know about accounting, tax, and reporting requirements Combining the proven guidance of the previous, bestselling edition with all of the latest regulatory information, Edward McMillan delivers a one-stop reporting resource for not-for-profits in Not-For-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition. McMillan's step-by-step guide helps your not-for-profit apply for tax-exempt status, handle IRS audits, set up a wholly owned taxable subsidiary, anticipate tax implications of lobbying expenses, and perform a host of other functions. All-new coverage of the basics of complying to the new Form 990 New discussions on political action committees, new lobbying issues, grant accounting and complying with OMB Circular A-122 and Yellow Book accounting, fiduciary responsibilities of boards and staff, and much more Contains dozens of checklists, sample letters, and illustrative charts demonstrating how to apply the principles and requirements described A peerless reference for this dynamic field, Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition gives your nonprofit a straightforward guide to simpler financial structure and reporting obligations.

Cover Art
Nonprofit Financial Management - Charles K. Coe
ISBN: 1118011325
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
A timely, practical, and concise handbook of best practices for nonprofit financial management In 2010 an estimated 325,000 charities, membership groups, and trade associations?with small nonprofits disproportionately represented?stand to lose their tax exemptions for failure to comply with financial management requirements. Nonprofit Financial Management: A Practical Guide is a timely, functional, and concise handbook of best practices for nonprofit organizations of every size. Addresses federal reporting requirements and discusses methods to decrease expenses, ensure accounting control, increase revenues through professional cash management, and understand budget statements Explains how to read financial statements and analyze a nonprofit's financial condition by using the most recent IRS 990 reporting form Covers the full range of financial-management topics, including accounting, internal controls, auditing, evaluating financial condition, budgeting, cash management and banking, purchasing and contracting, borrowing and risk management Written in an easy-to-read style, with more than 100 exhibits, this book is essential for every nonprofit financial manager.

Cover Art
Basic Accounting for Community Organizations and Small Groups - John Cammack
Call Number: HF5636 .C35 2014
ISBN: 1853398217
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
This book offers a step-by-step guide to basic accounting and financial management techniques. It is written in plain language for people who have no previous experience of accounting and book-keeping. The procedures described in this book are not just specific to development programs. The success of any venture, whatever its size, depends on proper financial control. Using simple case studies, the author shows how to: construct a budget and cash-flow forecast; record and control cash payments; draw up an analyzed cash book, and a receipts and payments account; operate a bank account; and prepare a budget and actual statement. Each section is followed by activities to practice the material covered. Full solutions and notes for trainers and facilitators are also included. Basic Accounting is suitable for training non-governmental organizations in an international development context. This book should be useful to any small group that needs to keep accurate records of its financial transactions.

Cover Art
Core Concepts of Government and Not-for-Profit Accounting - Michael H. Granof; Penelope S. Wardlow
Call Number: HJ9801 .G69 2011
ISBN: 0471737925
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Building on the success of Government and Not-For-Profit Accounting, 2/e, Michael Granof and Penelope Wardlow's new text, CORE CONCEPTS OF GOVERNMENT AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ACCOUNTING presents a concise, accessible, user-oriented look at the unique features of governmental and not-for-profit accounting. The text helps students understand the "why" of accounting requirements and how financial statements may be interpreted and used by a variety of interested parties, such as future managers, bond analysts, and members of legislatures and governing boards.

Cover Art
Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers - Thomas A. McLaughlin; Mclaughlin
ISBN: 0470414995
Publication Date: 2009-04-06
Praise for Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers, Third Edition "Tom McLaughlin is a proven master at making the daunting concepts of nonprofit financial management clear and engaging. This book is a superb introduction for new nonprofit executives, board members, and students. It is also an excellent refresher and reference for those of us who have been around the nonprofit sector for a while. It is well written, concise, and thought provoking." -J. Gregory Dees, Professor of the Practice of Social Entrepreneurship and Nonprofit Management at Duke University's Fuqua School of Business, and coauthor of Enterprising Nonprofits and Strategic Tools for Social Entrepreneurs "A very practical guide to understanding and managing the finances of a nonprofit organization. As nonprofits strive for greater accountability, Tom McLaughlin's real-world examples and accessible style make this book indispensable for nonprofit executives, managers, and board members at organizations of any size." -Gordon J. Campbell, President and CEO, United Way of New York City "Tom McLaughlin's powerful book is far more than a useful tool. It provides the philosophical approach to instill strong stewardship and future viability to those in the world of nonprofits. He takes apart the complex issues of nonprofit stewardship just as Einstein translated relativity into a simple equation. Purely masterful." -Jim Mellor, Senior VP, Chief Financial Officer, YMCA of the USA Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip