This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Accounting Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Accounting Literature   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Business Literature; access to both scholarly and trade publications.
  • Business Source Complete
    Full text access to business news and scholarly journals; also company and industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Factiva
    Offers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information; collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press. Factiva is the only database in the library that offers Dow Jones and Reuters news wire stories.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference sources.
  • LexisNexis Academic - Accounting/Tax Sources
    This is such a large database; if you prefer, LexisNexis provides links to specific accounting and tax sources from this wiki page.
 

Books

Cover Art
Accounting - Christopher Nobes
ISBN: 0199684316
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
If you read the "business pages" of a newspaper or if you listen to the financial news on the television or radio, you will often hear terms such as "liability", "balance sheet" or "earnings". These terms turn up in non-financial contexts as well: "he was more of a liability than an asset".If you invest in shares, have a building society account, or sit on a committee of the property company which owns your apartment block, you will receive financial statements every year. If you are a manager in a company, a hospital or a school, you will see accounting information often. This Very Short Introduction provides a guide to understanding and using accounting information. Christopher Nobes explains the main areas of accounting work, from bookkeeping and financial reporting to auditing and management accounting. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.

Cover Art
Financial Accounting - Gary A. Porter; Curtis L. Norton
ISBN: 1285182952
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING: THE IMPACT ON DECISION MAKERS, Ninth Edition, is packed with decades of academic and real-world accounting experience. This text provides the appropriate blend of academic rigor with step-by-step learning and decision-making models that reach today's students and equip them with the skills they need to be effective decision makers and future business leaders. Instead of an abstract approach to accounting, FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING: THE IMPACT ON DECISION MAKERS takes students through recognizable focus companies and their specific financial data and business strategies, imparting students with real-life experience and a model to hone the skills necessary to making important decisions. This edition features three key models that provide students with a more structured approach to understanding financial data and how it is used to make sound business decisions. The Transaction Analysis Model helps students see the effects an economic event has on the accounting equation and financial statements. The Financial Decision Framework focuses on ratio analysis and financial decisions, and the Ethical Decision Model helps students apply ethical judgment when applying accounting principles. FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING: THE IMPACT ON DECISION MAKERS, Ninth Edition, will not only help your students learn and understand core accounting rules and procedures but it will also give them a framework through which they can apply their knowledge to make effective business decisions.

Cover Art
Financial Accounting - Walter T. Harrison; Charles T. Horngren; C. William R. Thomas
ISBN: 0133427536
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
ALERT: Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition, you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products. Packages Access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included when purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson; check with the seller before completing your purchase. ¿ Used or rental books If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code. ¿ Access codes Access codes that are purchased from sellers other than Pearson carry a higher risk of being either the wrong ISBN or a previously redeemed code. Check with the seller prior to purchase. Financial Accounting helps students “nail” the accounting cycle! Financial Accounting features the ‘accounting cycle’ up front in the text in order to increase success and retention later on. The concepts and mechanics students learn in the critical ‘accounting cycle’ chapters are used consistently and repetitively-and with clear-cut details and explanations-throughout the remainder of the text, thus minimizing confusion. MyAccountingLab for Financial Accounting is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program that truly engages students in learning. It helps students better prepare for class, quizzes, and exams-resulting in better performance in the course-and provides educators with a dynamic set of tools for gauging individual and class progress. ¿ Teaching and Learning Experience ¿ This program presents a better teaching and learning experience. Financial Accounting, Tenth Edition will: Personalize learning with MyAccountingLab: MyAccountingLab provides instructors with a rich and flexible set of course materials, along with course-management tools that make it easy to deliver all or a portion of your course online. Use consistency, repetition, and a high level of detail when teaching core accounting concepts. Teach with a better coverage of the accounting cycle from start to finish. The text covers a wide range of topics that prepares students for their field.¿ Reinforce learning by using exercises: End-of-chapter, analytical, and Challenge Problems allows students to review the material and gain a better grasp of the text. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyAccountingLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyAccountingLab search for ISBN-10: 0133768775/ISBN-13: 9780133768770. That package includes ISBN-10: 0133427536/ISBN-13: 9780133427530 and ISBN-10: 0133437280/ISBN-13: 9780133437287. MyAccountingLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.

Cover Art
Accounting Handbook - Jae K. Shim; Joel G. Siegel; Nick Dauber MST CPA; Anique Qureshi
ISBN: 0764166573
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
The newly updated edition of this authoritative reference volume deserves a place in the library of every accountant, bookkeeper, accounting manager, CPA, CFO, controller, business manager, and business student. An opening overview of financial accounting describes financial statements and presents details on financial reporting requirements and compliance, and U.S. GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles) and IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards). Chapters that follow cover cost management, as well as taxation forms and their preparation. An extensive A-to-Z dictionary of accounting terms presents short-entry definitions of everything from Abacus to Z Score.

Cover Art
Accounting for the Numberphobic - Dawn Fotopulus
ISBN: 0814434339
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Why do so many business owners dread looking at the numbers? They make excuses…They don’t have time…That’s what the accountant is for....But the simple truth is that no one else will ever be as invested in their company as they are—and they need to take control. As a small-business owner, financial statements are your most important tools—and if you don’t know how to read them and understand their implications, you cannot possibly steer your business successfully. Accounting for the Numberphobic demystifies your company’s financial dashboard: the Net Income Statement, Cash Flow Statement, and Balance Sheet. The book explains in plain English how each measurement reflects the overall health of your business—and impacts your decisions. You will discover: How your Net Income Statement is the key to growing your profits • How to identify the break-even point that means your business is self-sustaining • Real-world advice on measuring and increasing cash flow • What the Balance Sheet reveals about your company’s worth • And more Illustrated with case studies and packed with practical action steps, this indispensable guide will put your business on the path to profitability in no time.

Cover Art
The Nature of Accounting Regulation - Ian Dennis
ISBN: 0415891957
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
Accounting standards are an essential element in the regulation of current financial reporting. Standard setters promulgate such standards, and companies and professional accountants follow them in preparing financial reports. Although much has been written about the history of standard setting, the conceptual underpinnings of accounting standards, the process of setting them, and whether such standards should be 'rules-based' or 'principles-based,' there has been little written about the kind of thing they are. This book examines the nature of accounting standards and the very idea of a rule, of implementation guidance, and of the objectives that are included in them. It enables the reader to grasp the reasons for promulgating standards, the role of the conceptual framework in setting standards in an institutional context, and the kind of rules that are useful in regulating financial reporting. The insights provided by this examination are used to throw light on the distinction between 'principles-based' and 'rules-based' standards and on the nature of 'good' accounting standards.'

Cover Art
Accounting for the Public Interest - Steven Mintz
ISBN: 9400770820
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This volume explores the opportunities and challenges facing the accounting profession in an increasingly globalized business and financial reporting environment. It looks back at past experiences of the profession in attempting to meet its public interest obligation. It examines the role and responsibilities of accounting to society including regulatory requirements, increased emphasis on corporate social responsibility, accounting fraud and whistle-blowing implications, internationalization of public interest obligations, and providing the education needed to be successful. The book incorporates an ethical dimension in making these assessments. Its focus is a conceptual, theoretical one drawing on classical philosophy, the sociology of professions, economic theory, and the public interest dimension of accountants as professionals. The authors of papers are long-time contributors to the annual symposium on Research in Accounting Ethics sponsored by the Public Interest Section of the AAA.

Cover Art
The Routledge Companion to Accounting, Reporting and Regulation - Carien van Mourik; Peter Walton (Editor)
ISBN: 0415625734
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Financial accounting, reporting and regulation is a vast subject area of huge global importance, with interest rising significantly in the light of the ongoing global financial crisis. The authors begin with a broad overview of the subject of accounting, setting the stage for a discussion on the theoretical and practical issues and debates regarding financial reporting, which are expanded on in the second part of the book. This includes how to define the reporting entity, recognition and measurement of the elements of financial statements, fair values in financial reporting and the costs and benefits of disclosure. The third part assesses the interest, need and theories behind the accounting, reporting and regulation industry, while parts four and five look at the institutional, social and economic aspects; with issues such as accounting for environmental management and, accounting regulation and financial reporting in Islamic countries, both issues of ever increasing importance. This authoritative Companion presents a broad overview of the state of these disciplines today, and will provide a comprehensive reference source for students and academics involved in accounting, regulation and reporting.

Cover Art
Accounting and Finance for Managers - Matt Bamber; Simon Parry
ISBN: 0749469145
Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Accounting and Finance for Managers is a new text specifically designed to improve analytical skills and help readers use accounting and finance tools for managerial advantage.Ideal for self study as well as classroom learning, it includes worked examples throughout the chapters as well as real-world scenarios and full exercises at the end of each chapter. Providing coverage of basic bookkeeping, readers will learn how to interpret financial statements and grasp underlying theory, interpret a cash budget and identify potential problems, identify appropriate pricing strategies to fit different markets and products/services and incorporate financial evaluation into operational decision making and problem solving.With full supporting resources including lecture slides for each chapter and a breakdown of how each chapter relates to course structures, Accounting and Finance for Managers is essential reading for any student or manager.

Cover Art
The Future of Post-Human Accounting - Peter Baofu
ISBN: 9781623966829
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Is the invention of accounting so useful that, as Charlie Munger once said, you have to know accounting. It's the language of practical business life. It was a very useful thing to deliver to civilization. I've heard it came to civilization through Venice which of course was once the great commercial power in the Mediterranean? (WOO 2013) This positive view on accounting can be contrasted with an opposing view by Paul Browne that the recent accounting] scandals have brought a new level of attention to the accounting profession as gatekeepers and custodians of social interest. (DUM 2013) Contrary to these opposing views (and other ones as will be discussed in the book), accounting (in relation to addition and subtraction) are neither possible (or impossible) nor desirable (or undesirable) to the extent that the respective ideologues (on different sides) would like us to believe. Of course, this reexamination of different opposing views on accounting does not mean that the study of addition and subtraction is useless, or that those fields (related to accounting)--like bookkeeping, auditing, forensics, info management, finance, philosophy of accounting, accounting ethics, lean accounting, mental accounting, environmental audit, creative accounting, carbon accounting, social accounting, and so on--are unimportant.(WK 2013) In fact, neither of these extreme views is plausible. Rather, this book offers an alternative (better) way to understand the future of accounting in regard to the dialectic relationship between addition and subtraction--while learning from different approaches in the literature but without favoring any one of them (nor integrating them, since they are not necessarily compatible with each other). More specifically, this book offers a new theory (that is, the double-sided theory of accounting) to go beyond the existing approaches in a novel way and is organized in four chapters. This seminal project will fundamentally change the way that we think about accounting in relation to addition and subtraction from the combined perspectives of the mind, nature, society, and culture, with enormous implications for the human future and what I originally called its post-human fate.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip