This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - International Financial Reporting / IFRS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - International Financial Reporting / IFRS   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazifrs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Internet Resources

  • IFRS - Home  Icon
    Homepage for the IFRS Foundation and the IASB. Site boasts "free access to the current year's consolidated unaccompanied English language IFRSs and official interpretations," a section for IFRS for SMEs (small and medium-sized entities) and IFRS taxonomy, education and translations.
  • IFRS.com - AICPA  Icon
    From the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, a site of IFRS resources from news to background publications and more...
  • iasplus.com
    From Deloitte, a collaborative 'brand' under which thousands of independent accounting and auditing, etc. firms operate, this website is touted as, "The #1 website for global accounting news."
  • iasplus.com - IFRS in your pocket 2014  Icon
    A publication that covers updates and developments in IFRS.
 

Books

Cover Art
IFRS - Robert Kirk
ISBN: 1856175456
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
This book is all about how companies are applying the key principles in International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and shows this by use of extensive examples of UK company accounts. The book provides coverage of the key points of each standard and links that with actual practice. It is not a detailed guidance book as such, or a transition book from UK standards to IFRS, but a quick reference for the busy accountant which shows how to apply the key points of each standard by reference to how other companies have done it. Robert Kirk BSc (Econ) FCA CPA trained in Belfast with Price Waterhouse & Co., and subsequently spent two years in industry in a subsidiary of Shell (UK) and four further years in practice. He is currently Professor of Financial Reporting in the School of Accounting at the University of Ulster and has been lecturing on the CIMA Master courses Accounting Standards and Accounting Standards in Depth since 1985. He has authored four editions of Accounting Standards in Depth; UK Accounting Standards: A Quick Reference Guide; and International Reporting Standards in Depth Volume 1 Theory and Practice and Volume 2 Solutions. * Shows exactly what you need to know in order to fully understand and apply IFRS * Concepts, Standards and Regulations are explained in easy to understand terms so that you become familiar with them in the quickest amount of time * Shows by example - features the published accounts of well known British and European companies

Cover Art
Frequently Asked Questions on IFRS - Rachel Yoxen; Steven Collings
ISBN: 1119998972
Publication Date: 2013-04-22
A concise FAQ guide to IFRS principles and practices Co-written by Steven Collings, winner of Accounting Technician of the Year at the British Accountancy Awards 2011, this book is a comprehensive guide to International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) which became mandatory in the EU in 2005, and they will almost certainly be adopted by most other developed countries in the near future. Unlike US-GAAP and other sets of standards, the IFRS are principles-based rather than rules-based, putting the onus of interpretation more on users than has previously been the case. Under IFRS users must understand the economic substance of operations, and they must be able to make assumptions, hypotheses, and estimations leading to an accounting treatment consistent with the general objectives of and principles behind IFRS financial reporting. In a handy, easy-to-navigate Q&A format, Frequently Asked Questions on IFRS provides accounting and finance professionals with the answers to some of the most commonly asked questions on the new standards. Covering the often complicated areas of accounting for financial instruments, tangible and intangible assets, provisions, and revenue recognition, the book also contains a valuable overview of the standards and the thinking behind them. Includes a comprehensive section on the new IFRS for small and medium enterprises Contains real-world examples from financial reports; a glossary of commonly used terms; and a 'Test Your Knowledge' section Provides a simple way to get up to speed on these often confusing, principles-based standards

Cover Art
International Classification of Financial Reporting 3e - Chris Nobes
Call Number: HF5625 .N63 2014
ISBN: 0415736935
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Financial reporting practices differ widely between countries and this has far-reaching implications for multinational businesses. Over more than a century, there have been attempts to classify countries into groups by similarities of practices. With the recent spread of International Financial Reporting Standards, it might appear that classification is largely of historical interest, but this is not the case, for several reasons explained in this book. Christopher Nobes offers a critical analysis of the many previous accounting classifications, having drawn lessons from other fields of science and social science. Revised and updated to reflect the IFRS era, the book discusses how old classifications are reflected in today's international differences in practice under IFRS. It concludes with a discussion on the most useful classifications, and how classifications can still be relevant in the era of international standards. This book will be essential for academics, postgraduates and undergraduates in international accounting, accounting theory and to international accounting professionals.

Cover Art
Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting - Lisa Weaver
ISBN: 1118643747
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
The one-stop guide to transitioning to IFRS financial reporting The International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) have already been adopted in Europe, and plans are in place to transition to IFRS reporting in the UK, India, Japan, and other major economies. The US is deliberating the nature of its convergence with IFRS and US entities will need to understand the implications of transition. This means all finance managers and financial controllers will be responsible, not only for understanding IFRS, but for making the transition and dealing with implications. Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting is a one-stop resource for navigating this major change. Case studies and project management advice help move smoothly from GAAP to IFRS principles and requirements. Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting is the only book on the market that focuses on both the accounting and non-accounting implications of IFRS transition. This complete approach will guide you from the history and conceptual basis of IFRS through each stage of the transition process, ensuring expert change management and fluid communication from start to finish. Takes a holistic approach, covering non-accounting implications like educating and communicating IFRS requirements Provides case studies to illustrate best practices for moving to the new international standards Provides a framework for planning and executing the entire IFRS transition project With nearly two decades of financial training experience, author Lisa Weaver is imminently qualified to deliver clear, concise, and understandable content. In addition, the reference material and other resources in Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting will help you simplify the transition and take advantage of all the benefits IFRS reporting confers.

Cover Art
IFRS and XBRL - Kurt Ramin; Cornelis Reiman
ISBN: 1118369734
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
International Financial Reporting Standards are increasingly adopted worldwide, and it is critical to understand their place within the global business environment as well as the most up-to-date methods of applying them. In IFRS and XBRL Kurt Ramin and Cornelis Reiman, world authorities on IFRS, have condensed the overwhelming flood of available material to present a comprehensive guide to the key components of IFRS, helping to explain why they are a priority for private enterprises and governments alike. The book: provides valuable commentary on key components of IFRS which are crucial to local, national and international business decision making demonstrates the importance of disclosure checklists offers illustrative financial statements arising from IFRS looks at recent developments in IFRS, in particular how the standards should be reflected in the narrative report, and what implications they have for sustainability reporting explores how business reporting can be improved, for example through the addition of non-financial reporting examines the key issue of emerging technology in reporting under IFRS, especially the use of XBRL and the obvious push for a new paradigm whereby object definitions, tracking and valuation offer considerable benefits to the people who produce and rely upon business reports To complete the picture, the authors examines other standards, and cover important issues such as US GAAP convergence with IFRS, and the important of International Valuation Standards, IFRS and XBRL is the complete guide to the background, current state, and future of International Financial Reporting Standards.

Cover Art
Essays on the Economic Consequences of Mandatory IFRS Reporting Around the World - Ulf Br├╝ggemann
ISBN: 3834931691
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
Ulf Br├╝ggemann discusses and empirically investigates the economic consequences of mandatory switch to IFRS. He provides evidence that cross-border investments by individual investors increased following the introduction of IFRS.

Cover Art
Fair Value under IFRS - James P. Catty; Catty
Call Number: HF5681.V3 W55 2010
ISBN: 0470477083
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Your one indispensable guide to all the Fair Value requirements of IFRS Acomplete guide to the complex valuation requirements of IFRS, this book includes chapters on theoretical and practical applications, with extensive examples illustrating the required techniques for each application. Appropriate for anyone involved professionally with finance-managers, accountants, investors, bankers, instructors, and students-this guide draws on a stellar panel of expert contributors from fourteen countries who provide international coverage and insight into a diverse range of topics, including: Fair Value in implementing IFRS Market Approach Income Approach-Capitalization and Discounting Methods Economic and Industry Conditions Cost of Capital Financial Statement Analyses Impairment Testing Intellectual Property Rights (patents, copyrights, trademarks) Projecting Financial Statements Liabilities Customer Relationships Share-based Payment Plant and Equipment Guide to Fair Value Under IFRS is the first international valuation book of its kind. Fully compliant with the Certified Valuation Analyst curriculum, it provides detailed guidance as to how fair value is to be determined and fills numerous gaps in common understanding of IFRS requirements.

Cover Art
Company Valuation under IFRS - M.a, Kenneth Lee; Nick Antill
Call Number: HF5626 .A58 2008
ISBN: 0857193686
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) are now mandatory in many parts of the world, including Europe, Australia and China. In addition, many countries are in the process of IFRS adoption. Lastly, foreign registrants in US companies no longer have to undertake a costly US-IFRS reconciliation. Therefore, it is clear that investors, analysts and valuers need to understand financial statements produced under IFRS to feed in to their valuations and broader investment decisions.Written by practitioners for practitioners, the book addresses valuation from the viewpoint of the analyst, the investor and the corporate acquirer. It starts with valuation theory: what is to be discounted and at what discount rate? It explains the connection between standard methodologies based on free cash flow and on return on capital. And it emphasizes that, whichever method is used, accurate interpretation of accounting information is critical to the production of sensible valuations. The authors argue that forecasts of cash flows imply views on profits and balance sheets, and that non-cash items contain useful information about future cash flows - so profits matter.The book then addresses the implications for analysis and valuation of key aspects of IFRS including:- Pensions- Stock options- Derivatives- Provisions- LeasesThe text also sets out which countries use GAAP, as well as the key differences between IFRS and US GAAP treatments of these issues, in addition to their implications for analysis.A detailed case study is used to provide a step-by-step valuation of an industrial company using both free cash flow and economic profit methodologies. The authors then address a range of common valuation problems, including cyclical or immature companies, as well as the specialist accounting and modelling knowledge required for regulated utilities, resource extraction companies, banks, insurance and real estate companies. Accounting for mergers and disposals is first explained and then illustrated with a detailed potential acquisition using real companies.

Cover Art
IFRSs - A Visual Approach - KPMG Deutsche Treuhand-Gesellschaft Staff (Contribution by); Palgrave MacMillan
Call Number: HF5681.B2 I3713 2008
ISBN: 0230574661
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Based on the IFRSs issued by the IASB on 1/10/08, this provides a simplified summary of the main elements of IFRSs, linking each line in the financial statement to the chronologically numbered standards and then summarizing in diagrams each of those Standards to help the reader visualize the key decisions and choices their application requires.

Cover Art
The Vest Pocket Guide to IFRS - Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: HF5626 .B73 2010
ISBN: 0470619473
Publication Date: 2010-08-02
Quick answers to your IFRS questions Presented in a question and answer format, The Vest Pocket IFRS provides a brief explanation of each IFRS topic, the issues involved, and the solution. Coverage includes calculations, journal entries, flowcharts outlining various options, footnotes disclosures, and brief examples. Provides quick answers to specific questions in a Q & A format Focuses on the most common accounting problems arising from a particular IFRS topic Calculations, footnotes disclosures, and brief examples are provided Other titles by Bragg: The Vest Pocket Controller, Accounting Best Practies, Sixth Edition, and Just-in-Time Accounting, Third Edition The first book of its kind to answer IFRS issues on the spot, The Vest Pocket IFRS gives you the quick, specific IFRS answers you need right now.

Cover Art
The Politics of Accounting Regulation - Sebastian Botzem
ISBN: 1783475846
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
'How and why do transnational regulatory bodies emerge? How do they acquire the authority and confidence to be actors in their own right? These questions preoccupy scholars in many disciplines and Sebastian Botzem's the Politics of Accounting Regulation makes an important contribution to the debates. Focusing on the case of the International Accounting Standards Board over a critical period of its development - including the financial crisis - Botzem addresses its evolution as an organization which produces accounting standards and whose efforts to be outside politics are inevitably and irredeemably political in nature. This book is essential reading for sociologists, political scientists, accountants and anyone else interested in the organization of global governance.' - Michael Power, London School of Economics, UK

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip