This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Handbooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Handbooks   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazhandbooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Barron's Accounting Handbook - Joel G. Siegel; Jae K. Shim
Call Number: HF5635 .S54 2010
ISBN: 0764162705
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
The newly updated edition of this authoritative reference volume deserves a place in the library of every accountant, bookkeeper, accounting manager, CPA, CFO, controller, business manager, and business student. An opening overview of financial accounting describes financial statements and presents details on financial reporting requirements and compliance, and USA GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles) and IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards). Chapters that follow cover cost management, as well as taxation forms and their preparation. An extensive A-to-Z dictionary of accounting terms presents short-entry definitions of everything fromAbacusandAbsorption CostingtoZero-Base BudgetingandZ Score.The book's concluding chapters cover information technology in accounting, quantitative methods for accounting, auditing, personal financial planning, governmental and nonprofit accounting, international accounting, and forensic accounting. Appendices cover recent accounting-related legislation, financial reporting differences among different countries, and more.

Cover Art
The Complete CFO Handbook - Frank J. Fabozzi; Ralph S. Polimeni; Pamela Peterson Drake
Call Number: HG4027.35 .F33 2008
ISBN: 0470099267
Publication Date: 2007-11-02
This must-have reference covers all of the major areas of cost accounting and analysis including product costing, relevant costs, cost-volume analysis, performance evaluation, transfer pricing, and capital budgeting. Includes methods of reorganizing, classifying, allocating, aggregating, and reporting actual costs and comparing them with standard costs. Equips experienced cost accountants with a reference tool and students with a thorough textbook. Provides numerous examples, succinct language, chapter review, glossary, and appendices. Includes an abundance of exercises, many of which are based on exam questions from the CPA and CMA exams.

Cover Art
Accounting for Non Accountants - Robert Deutsch; Kris Chikarovski
Call Number: HF5636 .D48 2012
ISBN: 1862878919
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
The focus of Deutsch and Chikarovski's Accounting for Non-Accountants - A Question and Answer Handbook, is to promote an understanding of the fundamentals of accounting and financial statements. It is not a short cut to an in-depth knowledge of accounting. However the book will provide some useful insights to the language of accounting, the key principles involved and the sources and use of accounting information commonly encountered.The book should therefore be useful for lawyers and other users of accounting information to guide their understanding of that information. You might for example be:a barrister involved in a commercial matter requiring the review of the financial statements of a listed company a family law solicitor looking at the accounts of family entities as part of a property settlement an immigration lawyer presenting accounts as part of a visa application a small business operator reviewing the accounts of your business a so called 'mum and dad' investor reviewing the accounts of the listed company that you have acquired shares in recently or a student studying business, accounting or commerce This book is intended to be a useful guide for all such readers and others.Information in the book is presented in an easy to follow question and answer format. Each answer is supported by examples where relevant based on sample financial information included in an appendix. Key accounting terms are also highlighted in bold and explained in a Glossary section at the end of the book.

Cover Art
The International Handbook of Public Financial Management - Richard Allen (Editor); Richard Hemming (Editor); Barry Potter (Editor)
Call Number: JF1351 .I58 2013
ISBN: 0230300243
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
The International Handbook of Public Financial Management is essential reading for governmental policymakers and practitioners and consultants working in this field, whose importance has been highlighted by the global financial crisis. It is a primary source for academics and students of economics, public finance, accountancy, and public policy.

Cover Art
Nonprofit Financial Management - Charles K. Coe
ISBN: 1118011325
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
A timely, practical, and concise handbook of best practices for nonprofit financial management In 2010 an estimated 325,000 charities, membership groups, and trade associations with small nonprofits disproportionately represented stand to lose their tax exemptions for failure to comply with financial management requirements. Nonprofit Financial Management: A Practical Guide is a timely, functional, and concise handbook of best practices for nonprofit organizations of every size. Addresses federal reporting requirements and discusses methods to decrease expenses, ensure accounting control, increase revenues through professional cash management, and understand budget statements Explains how to read financial statements and analyze a nonprofit′s financial condition by using the most recent IRS 990 reporting form Covers the full range of financial-management topics, including accounting, internal controls, auditing, evaluating financial condition, budgeting, cash management and banking, purchasing and contracting, borrowing and risk management Written in an easy-to-read style, with more than 100 exhibits, this book is essential for every nonprofit financial manager.

Cover Art
Administering Fiscal Regimes for Extractive Industries - Jack Calder (IMF)
Call Number: HD9506.A2 C35 2014
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Effective Writing - Claire B. May; Gordon S. May
Call Number: HF5719 .M375 2012
ISBN: 0132567245
Publication Date: 2011-03-09
A useful guide to all the stages of the writing process. Effective Writing guides the writer through all the stages of the writing process: planning, critical thinking, generating and organizing ideas, writing the draft, revising, and designing for presentation. Throughout the text, Effective Writing stresses coherence, conciseness, and clarity as the most important qualities of the writing done by accountants. This edition includes many new and revised assignments that reinforce the concepts covered in the text, as well as coverage on ethics in communication.

Cover Art
Handbook of Accounting and Development - T. Hopper (Editor); M. Tsamenyi (Editor); S. Uddin (Editor)
ISBN: 1848448163
Publication Date: 2012-09-30
'Trevor Hopper and his colleagues provide a central point of reference for research into accounting and development. Definitive chapters from internationally recognised authors (including Marcia Annisette, Kerry Jacobs, Chris Poullaos, Brendan O'Dwyer, Chibuike Uche and Jeffrey Unerman) cover the full range of issues from the role of capital markets in development, through accounting professionalization, to taxation and transfer pricing. Contributions from authors working for donors and non-governmental organisations provide a useful practical dimension that builds on the more academic chapters.' - Christopher Napier, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Cover Art
Hdbk Governmental Acco - Bogui Frederic
Call Number: HJ9816 .H36 2009
ISBN: 1574447580
Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Demystifying a growing and dynamic field, Handbook of Governmental Accounting reflects the increasing complexity of this area, enabling readers to grasp the intricate accounting that is involved as government expenditures multiply and governments engage in progressively complex transactions. Drawing on the expertise of a distinguished group of contributors, the book begins with a discussion of the growth of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), providing a historical perspective which highlights the greater levels of accountability in government finance. It covers governmental funds, proprietary funds, and fiduciary funds. It also reviews governmental financial reporting and examines the process of auditing governmental entities. While the majority of the chapters relate to state and local governments in the United States, the book also provides insight into federal accounting and international public sector accounting standards. Presenting numerous useful charts and sample budget outlines, this book provides concrete guidance in an area that has increased in complexity as governmental accountability takes on a heightened priority.      

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip