This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Governmental Accounting / GASB" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Governmental Accounting / GASB   Tags: accounting, business, government  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazgovernmental Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
The International Handbook of Public Financial Management - Richard Allen (Editor); Richard Hemming (Editor); Barry Potter (Editor)
ISBN: 0230300243
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
The International Handbook of Public Financial Management is essential reading for governmental policymakers and practitioners and consultants working in this field, whose importance has been highlighted by the global financial crisis. It is a primary source for academics and students of economics, public finance, accountancy, and public policy.

Cover Art
Public Sector Accounting - Giuseppe Grossi; Tjerk Budding; Torbjö Tagesson
Call Number: HJ9733 .P836 2015
ISBN: 0415683157
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
As change sweeps across the public sector, a huge range of accounting and financial management challenges are created. This textbook analyses the reforms that are being introduced to deal with these challenges and their global impact on the public sector. Readers are provided with an international overview of government accounting, reporting, management control, cost accounting, budgeting and auditing. In explaining how innovative financial management tools are utilized in the public sector, the authors address a number of emerging issues: Harmonization trends in public financial management and International Public Sector Accounting Standards (IPSASs) Financial reporting and consolidated financial statements in the public sector Public sector management accounting and control methods Financial and performance auditing in the public sector This concise and accessible textbook will be core reading for public sector accounting and financial management students and will also be required reading for students of public management and administration more generally. Managers, accountants, consultants and auditors working in the public sector will also find the book a useful reference.

Cover Art
Wiley GAAP for Governments 2014 - Warren Ruppel
ISBN: 1118733851
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
The most practical, authoritative guide to governmental GAAP Wiley GAAP for Governments 2014 is a comprehensive guide to the accounting and financial reporting principles used by state and local governments as well as other governmental entities. Designed with the needs of the user in mind, this comprehensive resource presents the important developments in governmental GAAP during the past year. Full coverage of authoritative accounting standards Extremely useful and user-friendly examples, illustrations, and helpful practice hints A comprehensive guide to the accounting and financial reporting principles used by state and local governments as well as other governmental entities Provides a look ahead to the status of current and future Governmental Accounting Standards Board standards and projects Offers information on the very latest in standard-setting activities Also by Warren Ruppel: Governmental Accounting Made Easy Wiley GAAP for Governments 2014 is a thorough, reliable reference financial professionals will consistently keep on their desks rather than on their bookshelves.

Cover Art
Hdbk Governmental Acco - Bogui Frederic
Call Number: HJ9816 .H36 2009
ISBN: 1574447580
Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Demystifying a growing and dynamic field, Handbook of Governmental Accounting reflects the increasing complexity of this area, enabling readers to grasp the intricate accounting that is involved as government expenditures multiply and governments engage in progressively complex transactions. Drawing on the expertise of a distinguished group of contributors, the book begins with a discussion of the growth of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), providing a historical perspective which highlights the greater levels of accountability in government finance. It covers governmental funds, proprietary funds, and fiduciary funds. It also reviews governmental financial reporting and examines the process of auditing governmental entities. While the majority of the chapters relate to state and local governments in the United States, the book also provides insight into federal accounting and international public sector accounting standards. Presenting numerous useful charts and sample budget outlines, this book provides concrete guidance in an area that has increased in complexity as governmental accountability takes on a heightened priority.      

Cover Art
Wiley Federal Government Auditing - Edward F. Kearney; Roldan Fernandez; Jeffrey W. Green; Cornelius E. Tierney; David M. Zavada
ISBN: 1118555856
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
The most practical, authoritative guide to Federal Government auditing Now in its second edition, Wiley Federal Government Auditing is authored by four CPAs who are partners at Kearney & Company, a CPA firm that specializes in providing auditing, accounting, and information technology services to the Federal Government. This single-source reference provides you with up-to-date information on applicable laws, regulations, and audit standards. Created for both professionals and others performing Federal Government audits, this guide condenses the abundant, complex criteria for Federal Government auditing into concise, accessible topics you'll refer to frequently and presents: An easy-to-navigate format that allows you to find needed information quickly Detailed guidance on what, why, how, and by whom Federal audits should be made Discussion on internal control over Federal financial reporting Recent developments in auditing standards Federal financial statements, budgeting, accounting, and more Coverage of the scope and work required in an audit of Federal departments and agencies Examples of Federal audits Separate chapters devoted to auditing and evaluating Federal IT systems; performance audits; procurement and contract audits; and grant audits Written in a non-technical style and complete with helpful exhibits, this guide is a "go-to" reference for government auditors, Inspectors General, public accountants, military comptrollers, legislators, state and local government auditors, budget offices, financial managers, and financial analysts. The content also applies to contractors and grantees, universities, and other nonprofits and organizations that have repeated financial dealings with the Federal Government.

Cover Art
Public Budgeting Systems - Lee; Robert D. Lee Jr.; Ronald W. Johnson; Philip G. Joyce
Call Number: HJ2051 .L4 2013
ISBN: 1449627900
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Now in its Ninth Edition, Public Budgeting Systems is a complete and balanced reference that surveys the current state of budgeting throughout all levels of the United States government. The text emphasizes methods by which financial decisions are reached within a system as well as ways in which different types of information are used in budgetary decision-making. It also stresses the use of program information, since, for decades, budget reforms have sought to introduce greater program considerations into financial decisions. The Ninth Edition has been updated to give particular attention to several recent developments in public budgeting and finance including:* Steps that have been taken by governments to battle the effects of the "Great Recession" and to enhance economic recovery. In the US, this includes the actions of the Federal Reserve as well as legislative efforts, such as the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. * Significant increase in use of fiscal policy tools to stimulate economic recovery, in contrast to most recent previous 20 year period. * The federal government's direct role in the operations of the private sector will be explored. The government has become a major stockholder and therefore has a financial stake in seeing that corporations succeed. * Unprecedented federal deficits, as well as extreme budgetary challenges at the state and local level, including a discussion of causes and possible solutions. * Other changes during the Obama presidency, including the passage of comprehensive health care reform and changes in the management agenda. * Continued developments in financial and debt management, including additional GASB requirements and the effects of the recent economic contraction on the borrowing prospects for state and local governments. * Additional recognition of the effects of the global economy, resulting in an increase in the pages devoted to discussing international examples.

Cover Art
Financial Management and Accounting in the Public Sector - Gary Bandy
ISBN: 0415588324
Publication Date: 2011-08-25
In light of the worldwide economic crises, the public sector is coming under increasing financial pressure as budgets are reduced on a large scale whilst demands for public services are on the rise. In such austere times managers working in the public sector are confronted daily with targets and demands that are often set in confusing accounting and financial language. In Financial Management and Accounting in the Public Sector, Gary Bandy employs a clear and concise narrative to introduce the core concepts of accounting and financial management in the public sector and how to deliver services that are value for money. With a glossary of terms to help managers understand and be understood by accountants, as well as learning objectives and discussion questions, this 'hands-on' textbook will help students of public management and administration to understand the financial and accounting aspects of creating public value.

Cover Art
Governmental Accounting Made Easy - Warren Ruppel
Call Number: HJ9801 .R86 2010
ISBN: 0470411503
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
A hands-on guide to the ins and outs of governmental accounting-made easy! Governmental Accounting Made Easy, Second Edition equips you with the tools you need to run the financial and accounting operations within your organization. This complete and straightforward manual covers a broad range of governmental accounting topics that fall under the Governmental Accounting Standards Board, and its recently revised financial reporting model. Boiling down the complicated details of governmental accounting into manageable essentials, author Warren Ruppel, a leading authority on governmental accounting, offers practical information in easy-to-understand terminology. Even if you do not have a professional understanding of accounting principles and financial reporting, the Second Edition makes it all clear with accounting rules explained in terms anyone can understand, to help you better fulfill your managerial and fiduciary duties. Always practical and never over-technical, this helpful guide: Discusses basic accounting terminology Clearly explains fund accounting Covers the nuts and bolts of governmental financial statements Equips you to understand the reporting entity Discusses revenues from non-exchange transactions Helps you become conversant in various accounting topics The recently adopted reporting model for governments resulted in a radical change in the way governmental financial statements are presented. Suitable for professional managers, budget preparers, school boards, city councils, state legislators, and comptrollers, Governmental Accounting Made Easy, Second Edition is your essential guide for a clear, concise, understandable explanation of government finances.

Cover Art
Public Budgeting and Financial Management - K. G. Willoughby
ISBN: 1118509323
Publication Date: 2014-09-22
Public budgeting structure, process, legal framework and policy with examples from industrialized and developing countries Public Budgeting in Context examines budgeting at all levels of U.S. government-federal, state, and local-and in a sample of governments around the world. The book assesses the context of public budgeting in these governments, especially the legal foundations for its practice and how the process and final budgets are impacted by governance structures, laws, various budget actors and different branches of government. The author presents focused attention on the influences on government budgets of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government, the bureaucracy, the public and the media. In light of worldwide fiscal malaise, especially during and since the Great Recession, this book illustrates the heightened complexity of the budgeting environment that pervades all governments today-industrialized or developing, large or small. For those who like to dive into the details, the book presents numerous examples of public budgeting as practiced and points to the wealth of data available for analyses of the budgetary context and process, budget shares and results regarding virtually any government of interest. Chapters cover the constitutional and statutory provisions for budgeting in selected governments. Budget and policy agenda setting and executive leadership, legislative budget powers and the influence of the judiciary on modern government budgets are exposed. Budget execution requirements of the bureaucracy, the input of customers, clients and citizens to government budgets, and media influences on public budgets and agencies are highlighted. Budget mechanics-budget types, formats, timelines and reforms-are introduced and compared. Taxes and intergovernmental revenues are considered, with predominant tax choices at every level of government in the United States and those in a select, developing country represented. The book introduces an emerging method for investigating the outcomes of government spending-human rights budget analysis-and includes as an example the assessment of budget reform and results of public health spending in one selected government. Highlights of Public Budgeting in Context Offers a comprehensive text for understanding public budgeting in governments of a variety of contexts and capacities and across different levels Written by a noted expert in the field of public budgeting and financial management Contains illustrative examples from industrialized and developing countries Guides to innumerable datasets with information about governments and their budgets Includes a companion website filled with templates for budget and fiscal analysis Unravel the complex issues of modern public budgeting using this unique presentation of its practice in a variety of governments in the U.S. and a select sample from around the world.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip