This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Forensic Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Forensic Accounting   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazforensic Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Forensic Analytics - Mark Nigrini
ISBN: 0470890460
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Discover how to detect fraud, biases, or errors in your data using Access or Excel With over 300 images, Forensic Analytics reviews and shows how twenty substantive and rigorous tests can be used to detect fraud, errors, estimates, or biases in your data. For each test, the original data is shown with the steps needed to get to the final result. The tests range from high-level data overviews to assess the reasonableness of data, to highly focused tests that give small samples of highly suspicious transactions. These tests are relevant to your organization, whether small or large, for profit, nonprofit, or government-related. Demonstrates how to use Access, Excel, and PowerPoint in a forensic setting Explores use of statistical techniques such as Benford's Law, descriptive statistics, correlation, and time-series analysis to detect fraud and errors Discusses the detection of financial statement fraud using various statistical approaches Explains how to score locations, agents, customers, or employees for fraud risk Shows you how to become the data analytics expert in your organization Forensic Analytics shows how you can use Microsoft Access and Excel as your primary data interrogation tools to find exceptional, irregular, and anomalous records.

Cover Art
The Fraud Audit - Leonard W. Vona
ISBN: 0470647264
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Essential guidance for creation of an effective fraud audit program in core business systems The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners has reported that U.S. businesses lose up to $4 billion annually due to fraud and abuse. Discover fraud within your business before yours becomes another business fraud statistic. The Fraud Audit provides a proven fraud methodology that allows auditors to discover fraud versus investigating it. Explains how to create a fraud audit program Shows auditors how to locate fraud through the use of data mining Focuses on a proven methodology that has actually detected fraudulent transactions Take a look inside for essential guidance for fraud discovery within specific corporate F&A functions, such as disbursement, procurement, payroll, revenue misstatement, inventory, journal entries, and management override.

Cover Art
Using Analytics to Detect Possible Fraud - Pamela S. Mantone
ISBN: 1118585623
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Detailed tools and techniques for developing efficiency and effectiveness in forensic accounting Using Analytics to Detect Possible Fraud: Tools and Techniques is a practical overview of the first stage of forensic accounting, providing a common source of analytical techniques used for both efficiency and effectiveness in forensic accounting investigations. The book is written clearly so that those who do not have advanced mathematical skills will be able to understand the analytical tests and use the tests in a forensic accounting setting. It alsoincludes case studies and visual techniques providing practical application of the analytical tests discussed. Shows how to develop both efficiency and effectiveness in forensic accounting Provides information in such a way that non-practitioners can easily understand Written in plain language: advanced mathematical skills are not required Features actual case studies using analytical tests Essential reading for every investor who wants to prevent financial fraud, Using Analytics to Detect Possible Fraud allows practitioners to focus on areas that require further investigative techniques and to unearth deceptive financial reporting before it's too late.

Cover Art
Financial Expert Witness Communication - Bradley J. Preber
ISBN: 1118753550
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Learn what to expect--and what's expected--as an expert witness Serving as a financial expert witness or consultant in lawsuits is a stressful, challenging, and tough business. In Financial Expert Witness Communication: A Practical Guide to Reporting and Testimony, financial forensic expert Bradley J. Preber leverages more than 30 years of experience to create a practical guide for financial expert witnesses as they face litigation reporting and testimony. Financial Expert Witness Communication covers all areas of financial litigation including accounting, financial forensics, forensic technology, and damages--all from the point of view of an expert witness. The book is especially helpful for those who expect to be formally designated as an expert witness; however, it is also appropriate for financial forensic accountants, litigation consultants, and attorneys as they navigate the unique playing field of the financial litigation process. This book gives financial experts strategies to defend the analysis, conclusions, and expert opinions they have at their disposal. It also provides thorough explanations of compliance, data limitations, and due diligence as well as how to handle demanding legal counsel, with a goal of better preparing them for the entire legal process. The book is part of the Wiley Corporate F&A Series and was created as an educational resource for nonattorney financial experts involved with U.S.-based civil litigation or alternative dispute resolution proceedings. It takes a well-rounded approach by including special chapters on such concepts as retention, privilege, responsibilities, ethics, and testimony, all written by a nationally recognized expert. As a bonus, the companion website presents an additional expert witness case study and guidelines for fulfilling an expert witness role.

Cover Art
Detecting Fraud in Organizations - Michael Breon; Joseph Petrucelli
ISBN: 1118103149
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
A savvy examination of where people and value meet, creating the opportunity for fraud An essential reference for all business professionals, Detecting Fraud in Organizations: Techniques, Tools, and Resources explains the process of how people commit fraud, as well as how to prevent and stop fraud from occurring in your organization. Organized by business processes which succinctly describe how fraud manifests itself on a daily basis, the authors explain ways in which everyone can help guard against fraud by familiarizing themselves with its building blocks and methods used to perpetrate and conceal it. Filled with situational examples the book is accompanied by a website featuring fraud simulations, business process maps, and other useful tools for combating fraud. Focuses on the people who perpetrate fraud and those who are tasked with preventing and detecting it Uniquely organized by business processes for more relevance and easier understanding by those people working within organizations Shows how subtle factors play a large role in identifying and ferreting out fraud in addition to the traditional knowledge of fraud schemes giving people and organizations the edge they need to be successful in prevention and deterrence Companion website includes additional fraud simulations, business process maps, and useful tools The price of fraud can be devastating to your business. Detecting Fraud in Organizations: Techniques, Tools, and Resources equips you and others in your organization with essential information and tools necessary to proactively catch fraud, reduce losses, improve efficiencies and develop actionable controls.

Cover Art
Asia Financial Statement Analysis - ChinHwee Tan; Thomas R. Robinson
ISBN: 1118486528
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Gain a deeper understanding of Asian financial reporting and how to detect irregularities The Asian region, and particularly China, is becoming a hotbed of investment activity. There have been quite a few accounting scandals in Asia in the recent years - now rivaling those we have seen in the Americas and Europe. Assessing potential or active overseas investments requires reliance on financial statements, the full parameters of which may vary from region to region. To effectively analyze statements, it is necessary to first understand the framework underlying these financial statements and then lay out a protocol for detecting irregularities. It's impossible to create and implement a practical plan without a deeper knowledge of the various factors at play. Asian Statement Analysis: Detecting Financial Irregularities provides a framework for analysis that makes irregularities stand out. Authors Chin Hwee Tan and Thomas R. Robinson discuss international financial reporting standards, including characteristics particular to the Asian region. Tan and Robinson's combined background in academia and Asian finance give them a multi-modal perspective and position them as top authorities on the topic. In the book, they address issues such as: Detection of irregularities independent of particular accounting rules The most common irregularities in the Asian market Similarities and differences between U.S. and Asian accounting techniques An overarching framework for irregularity detection The book uses real-world examples to illustrate the concepts presented, with the focus on Asian companies. As the first ever in-depth study on manipulation and irregularities in the Asian market, Asian Financial Statement Analysis: Detecting Financial Irregularities is uniquely positioned to be a valuable resource in the move toward the next phase of global reporting standards.

Cover Art
Litigation Services Handbook - Roman L. Weil; Peter B. Frank; Christian W. Hughes; Michael J. Wagner
Call Number: KF8968.15 .L57 2007
ISBN: 0471769088
Publication Date: 2007-02-09
Litigation Services Handbook, Fourth Edition is referred to as the litigation bible. Its nearly 50 chapters read like a who's who in law and accounting. The handbook includes all aspects of litigation services, including current environments, the process itself, a wealth of cases, how to prove damages, and practical considerations of court appearances. The new edition has a heavy focus on fraud investigations and complying with Sarbanes-Oxley requirements.

Cover Art
Fraud Analytics - Delena D. Spann
Call Number: HV8079.F7 S68 2014
ISBN: 111823068X
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Proven guidance for expertly using analytics in fraud examinations, financial analysis,auditing and fraud prevention Fraud Analytics thoroughly reveals the elements of analysis that are used in today'sfraudexaminations, fraud investigations, and financial crime investigations. This valuable resourcereviews the types of analysis that should be considered prior to beginning an investigation andexplains how to optimally use data mining techniques to detect fraud. Packed with examples andsample cases illustrating pertinent concepts in practice, this book also explores the two majordata analytics providers: ACL and IDEA. Looks at elements of analysis used in today's fraud examinations Reveals how to use data mining (fraud analytic) techniques to detect fraud Examines ACL and IDEA as indispensable tools for fraud detection Includes an abundance of sample cases and examples Written by Delena D Spann, Board of Regent (Emeritus) for the Association of CertifiedFraud Examiners (ACFE), who currently serves as Advisory Board Member of the Association ofCertified Fraud Examiners, Board Member of the Education Task Force of the Association ofCertified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists ASIS International (Economic Crime Council) andAdvisory Board Member of the Robert Morris University (School of Business), FraudAnalyticsequips you with authoritative fraud analysis techniques you can put to use right away.

Cover Art
The Audit Committee Handbook - Louis Braiotta; R. Trent Gazzaway; Robert E. Colson; Sridhar Ramamoorti
Call Number: HF5667.15 .B7 2010
ISBN: 0470560487
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
The classic handbook to audit committee responsibilities-completely updated to cover the latest guidance with practical insights on the new functions of the audit committee. Now containing the newest regulatory guidance impacting audit committees, including new chapters on audit oversight and updated discussions on fraud risk, the Fifth Edition helps your audit committee plan its agenda and achieve its mission in corporate governance. The Audit Committee Handbook, Fifth Edition guides you to: Understand the role and responsibilities of the audit committee with a general update and reality check on auditing cycle activities Identify the developments that impact audit committee practices and the most current techniques and strategies for committee meetings Develop a repertoire of effective strategies to help the board of directors discharge its fiduciary responsibility to shareholders Prepare a periodic assessment of professional development activities and an informed review of both audit processes and financial reporting processes A must-have for all audit committee members, board directors, corporate secretaries, CEOs, CFOs, and auditors involved in the accounting practices of their firms, The Audit Committee Handbook, Fifth Edition is the most authoritative work on audit committees in the marketplace.

Cover Art
Corporate Fraud Handbook - Joseph T. Wells
ISBN: 1118728572
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
Put the brakes on fraud. It is much more cost-effective to prevent fraud than to punish it. Providing an insider's look into the most prevalent fraud schemes used by employees, owners, managers, and executives, Corporate Fraud Handbook, Fourth Edition provides you with a systematic approach to stop fraud in its tracks before it happens. Sharing his four decades of experience in the field of fraud detection and deterrence, author Dr. Joseph T. Wells-founder and chairman of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners-brings each scheme to life by using real case studies submitted to the ACFE by the fraud examiners who investigated them. Written for anyone responsible for reducing fraud losses and mitigating the risk of fraud, Corporate Fraud Handbook features: Tips and techniques for quantifying financial losses from fraud schemes Observations and conclusions in each chapter to help you devise prevention and detection strategies Real-life case studies that provide a view inside the mind of a fraudster The fraud tree, a systematic classification of the various types of occupational fraud Statistics from the ACFE's 2012 Report to the Nations on Occupational Fraud and Abuse From sophisticated investment swindles to petty theft, false overtime to bribery, discover how to prevent and detect corporate fraud with the expert guidance found in Corporate Fraud Handbook, Fourth Edition.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip