This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Cost & Activity-Based Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Cost & Activity-Based Accounting   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazcost Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Internet Resources

 

Books


Cover Art
Cost Accounting for Dummies® - Kenneth Boyd
ISBN: 1118453808
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
The easy way to get a grip on cost accounting Critical in supporting strategic business decisions and improving profitability, cost accounting is arguably one of the most important functions in the accounting field. For business students, cost accounting is a required course for those seeking an accounting degree and is a popular elective among other business majors. Cost Accounting For Dummies tracks to a typical cost accounting course and provides in-depth explanations and reviews of the essential concepts you'll encounter in your studies: how to define costs as direct materials, direct labor, fixed overhead, variable overhead, or period costs; how to use allocation methodology to assign costs to products and services; how to evaluate the need for capital expenditures; how to design a budget model that forecast changes in costs based on expected activity levels; and much more. Tracks to a typical cost accounting course Includes practical, real-world examples Walks you though homework problems with detailed, easy-to-understand answers If you're currently enrolled in a cost accounting course, this hands-on, friendly guide gives you everything you need to master this critical aspect of accounting.

Cover Art
Fair Value Accounting, Historical Cost Accounting, and Systemic Risk - Michael D. Greenberg; Eric Helland; Noreen Clancy; James N. Dertouzos
ISBN: 0833082124
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
In the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, conflicting arguments have been made about fair value accounting (FVA) versus historical cost accounting (HCA) and the role that each played in the crisis. This report examines the relationship between both types of accounting practices and systemic risk in the financial sector, providing recommendations on how FVA and HCA can both be improved.

Cover Art
The Routledge Companion to Cost Management - Falconer Mitchell (Editor); Hanne Nørreklit (Editor); Morten Jakobsen (Editor)
Call Number: HF5686.C8 R597 2013
ISBN: 041559247X
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
Over the last two decades, cost management has been an area of dynamic change and development. This is evident in the extensive inventory of new, high-profile techniques that have emerged. With cost management now firmly established as a distinct sub-discipline within management accounting, The Routledge Companion to Cost Managementis a timely reference volume covering both practical developments and research in this area. Topics covered include: Input cost management Product design Cost analysis and decision making Cost management systems Lessons for cost management With chapters from an international team of contributors, this prestigious companion will prove an indispensible addition to any library with aspirations to keeping up-to-date with the world of accounting.

Cover Art
Activity-Based Management for Financial Institutions - Brent J. Bahnub; Gary Cokins (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5686.C8 B24 2010
ISBN: 0470562226
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
Discover how to use activity-based management to improve your bottom line The first book of its kind to focus on activity-based management in the financial services industry, Activity-Based Management for Financial Institutions: Driving Bottom Line Results will show you how to drive changes to your organization's bottom line. After providing a brief overview of a financial services activity-based costing model, this book focuses on how to directly improve net income, covering essential topics including costing, chargeback, and pricing; implementing ABC; implementing ABM; managing organizational change; and avoiding pitfalls. Written for those in the financial services industry-banks, securities firms, insurance companies Reveals how to drive benefits to the bottom line through disciplined execution of activity-based management and organizational change management Provides real world examples and tools for quick results and sustained success This one-of-a-kind book will take your financial institution from stuck to financially successful, driving profitability and performance.

Cover Art
Cost Management - Maryanne M. Mowen; Don R. Hansen
Call Number: HF5686.C8 H239 2006
ISBN: 0324233108
Publication Date: 2005-02-15
COST MANAGEMENT emphasizes that changing conditions often require a change in systems. Emphasizing this point stresses the dynamic and exciting nature of the field. By taking a systems approach -- one that first covers functional-based cost and control and then activity-based cost systems -- students understand how to understand and manage any cost management system.

Cover Art
Cost Accounting - Charles T. Horngren; Srikant M. Datar; Madhav Rajan
Call Number: HF5686.C8 H59 2012
ISBN: 0132109174
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
The text that defined the cost accounting market. Horngren's Cost Accounting defined the cost accounting market and continues to innovate today by consistently integrating the most current practice and theory into the text. This acclaimed, market-leading text emphasizes the basic theme of "different costs for different purposes," and reaches beyond cost accounting procedures to consider concepts, analyses, and management.

Cover Art
Strategic Cost Analysis - Roger Hussey
ISBN: 160649239X
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Increasing business competition is compelling managers not only to develop realistic and achievable strategies but also to analyze goals in financial terms and to evaluate performance. Whether in manufacturing, service, or the non-profit sector managers need to know the key methods and techniques of cost analysis. The interaction of the organisation's activities, the influences of the external world and the responsibilities of managers need to be captured in financial terms to plan, control and make decisions. Sales managers, production managers, HR managers, amongst others, are recipients of financial information which they are expected to understand. They need to appreciate the impact of their decisions on costs, selling prices, investment decisions and profit. They must be able to analyse, communicate and act on financial information to be a valuable member of the management team. This text explains in simple language the methods and techniques of cost analysis that can be applied strategically at any level in an organization. The busy manager will find that the cost information provided will help them plan and control the activities for which they are responsible and also make strategic decisions in the most effective way. Whether you are in a manufacturing or service organisation, the book will help you to answer the four questions: What did it cost? What should it have cost? How can we improve? What is our next strategic move? No prior knowledge of accounting or statistics is required. The book defines all key terms and emphasizes the essential knowledge of analyzing cost in a strategic context.

Cover Art
Cost Accounting - Michael R. Kinney; Cecily A. Raiborn
Call Number: HF5686.C8 B2758 2011
ISBN: 1439044619
Publication Date: 2010-01-14
Keep cost accounting understandable and practical for your students with the eighth edition of Kinney/Raiborn's COST ACCOUNTING: FOUNDATIONS AND EVOLUTIONS, which provides in-depth coverage of up-to-date cost management concepts and procedures in a straightforward and student-friendly framework. The clean, concise presentation of materials and fresh, new exhibits reinforce and clarify the topics that students struggle with most. In addition, real-world examples and ethical coverage are woven into the text so that students immediately see the relevance of the cost accountant's role in managerial decisions and learn to go beyond the numbers and think critically.

Cover Art
Project Management Accounting - Kevin R. Callahan; Gary S. Stetz; Lynne M. Brooks
ISBN: 0470952342
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Praise for Project Management Accounting "Let me start with what the Second Edition of Project Management Accounting is not....it is not an inch wide and a mile deep. Instead, it provides multiple lenses to anticipate both intended and unintended consequences through sound principles of Project Management and accounting as well as inquiry focused on both risks to the project and reputational capital. It should be on every decision makers bookshelf to pick up and remind them of their essential foundation when they face a major project or the risk of mental myopia." -Barry van Dyck, PhD, Recruiting and Admissions Director, EMBA, Mendoza College of Business, University of Notre Dame Acquire the accounting knowledge and skills to become a top-performing Project Management professional Project Management accounting involves much more than just understanding how project income and expense impact the general ledger. To truly succeed in today's competitive business environment, project managers must also understand how to budget resources, determine ROI, and track costs and expenses for projects as well as become adept at strategy and executive decision making and portfolio management. With its focus on accounting, Project Management Accounting: Budgeting, Tracking, and Reporting Costs and Profitability, Second Edition is designed to enhance the business skills of project managers at all levels of experience. Now in a fully updated second edition, Project Management Accounting clearly explains step-by-step how project expensing (for both internal projects and outside vendors) should be capitalized or expensed in order to keep the budget on track and improve profitability. The proficient author team of Callahan, Stetz, and Brooks culls their decades of experience to show readers how to achieve the greatest tax/cost savings by helping them determine what portion of the project can be capitalized. This Second Edition of Project Management Accounting includes current case studies and sample checklists to help professionals hit the ground running by immediately applying concepts to their own business scenarios. Here, CFOs, controllers, project managers, and accounting managers will discover how to: Understand risk assessment from an accounting and auditing perspectiv Maximize project outcomes by leveraging accounting and financing tools and principles Improve each project's profitability by understanding its costs and benefits Analyze their business's financial information to choose the right project, every time Apply proper accounting principles to a project Develop a project budget based on a company's financial performance and needs Project Management Accounting provides the knowledge and skills to become proficient in Project Management and maximize the profitability and ROI of any project.

Cover Art
Cost Reduction Analysis - Steven M. Bragg
ISBN: 0470587261
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
Discover the tools for knowing the costs your company should cut, without impacting its ability to deliver goods and services New from Steve Bragg, this book provides the tools for determining which costs a company should cut, without impacting its ability to deliver goods and services. It explains how to use throughput analysis in order to locate bottleneck operations in a company, which in turn dictates where capital investments should (and should not) be made. Delves into process analysis, to determine where excess resources are being used in a business process Describes the total cost of ownership, showing how a single purchasing decision actually snowballs into a variety of ancillary costs Shows how to create and use a spend management system to reduce procurement costs Shows how just-in-time systems can be used to eliminate inventory costs Cost Reduction Analysis: Tools and Strategies provides examples to show how much cost can potentially be eliminated to avoid drastic action later that can imperil your corporation's direction and future.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip