This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Careers in Accounting / Exam Prep" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Careers in Accounting / Exam Prep   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazcareer Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • ReferenceUSA
    Company directory; get some background information for a U.S. company.
  • PrivCo
    One of the few places you might find a little bit of information if you're interested in a private company.

Internet Resources

  • Bureau of Labor Statistics: Accountants and Auditors  Icon
    An overview information source including what these professionals do, pay, growth outlook, how to become one of these professionals, etc.
  • "This Way to CPA"
    From the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, a site intended to educate students on how to and why they might want to become a CPA.
  • IMA: Your Career
    A collection of resources from the IMA (Institute of Management Accountants) to help you get started with your career.
  • "Careers in Accounting"
    Page provided by the New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants (NJSCPA). Brief overview of the various careers in accounting with links to articles, resources, an FAQ page, information about the CPA exam and more...
  • "Why Accounting?"
    From the AICPA, an entire website exploring WHY a career in accounting? Learn about career options, salaries, required skills or ask a CPA your individual question...
  • "Accounting Career Center"
    Articles covering accounting degrees, careers, CPA exam requirements, CMA and other certifications and links to other career resource sites...
  • AccountingEDU.org
    A nice introductory site if you're interested in exploring a career in accounting: learning a bit about the different jobs available, salary ranges and certifications, the steps to becoming a CPA (by state), etc.
 

Books

Cover Art
Cpa Exam for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Kenneth W. Boyd
ISBN: 1118813731
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Get started on the path to passing the CPA exam today Passing the CPA exam can be the first step to a long and rewarding career. With CPA Exam For Dummies, you'll get a full overview of the exam, information on how to register, the requirements for taking and passing the tests, as well as a review of the four sections. This comprehensive introductory study guide provides you with a wealth of information, including all the current AICPA content requirements in auditing and attestation, business environment and concepts, financial accounting and reporting, and accounting regulation. From start to finish, the text is designed to prepare you for each portion of this rigorous exam. Preparing for the CPA exam can be a daunting process. With the classic For Dummies approach, CPA Exam For Dummies offers an overview and steps on how to get started. Go at your own pace to master the various sections of the exam, and use the book as a reference on an ongoing basis as you prepare for the exam portions. Dive into the book to find: An overview of the CPA exam, featuring exam organization and information on scoring A content review, including practice questions and explanations of answers Online bonus practice exams to boost your knowledge and confidence An overview of the benefits of passing the CPA exam and becoming a certified public accountant For those seeking to pass the CPA exam and launch their accounting careers, CPA Exam For Dummies is the go-to resource for getting started!

Cover Art
Accounting, Business, and Finance - Candace S. Gulko
Call Number: HF5628 .G85 2010
ISBN: 0816079943
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Aimed at readers looking to take their career in a new direction, Accounting, Business, and Finance provides insightful advice and essential tips for career changers. This new, all-in-one guide explores jobs in accounting, business, and finance, with self-assessment questions, further resources, and advice on ways to reach career goals. Careers profiled include: Accountant Auditor Bookkeeper Brand manager Claims adjuster Financial analyst Insurance underwriter Loan officer Personal financial advisor Stockbroker.

Cover Art
Wiley Cpaexcel Exam Review Spring 2014 - O. Ray Whittington
ISBN: 1118917863
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The world's most effective CPA exam prep system - Business and Environmental Concepts module Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is the world's most trusted study guide for the Certified Public Accountant's exam - complete, comprehensive, and updated to align with the latest exam content. With 2,800 practice questions and solutions across four volumes, the unique modular format helps you organize your study program, zeroing in on areas where you need work. This volume, Business Environment and Concepts, contains all current AICPA content requirements, providing total coverage of this section of the exam. You'll get detailed outlines and study tips, simulation and multiple choice questions, and skill-building problems that have made this guide the most effective CPA prep system for over thirty years. The uniform CPA exam is updated annually to include new laws, regulations, and guidelines, so it's important that your study guide be up to date as well. Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is updated annually to reflect the latest version of the exam, and is the number-one bestselling CPA study guide in the world because it provides full, comprehensive coverage of all exam content, and more practice questions than any other guide - many of which are taken directly from past exams. The unique format allows you to: Identify, target, and master problem areas section by section Learn how to logically build your knowledge stores for better recall Practice with thousands of sample questions taken from past exams Review all exam content, including the newest guidelines and regulations No one wants surprises on exam day, and thorough preparation is the key to successful performance. Whether you're embarking on a new study program, or just need a quick refresher before the exam, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is proven to be the most current, complete, comprehensive prep you can get.

Cover Art
Wiley Cpaexcel Exam Review 2014 - O. Ray Whittington
ISBN: 1118917901
Publication Date: 2014-06-16
"I wanted to say I bought just the four books by Wiley for each CPA section and took all 4 parts of the exam in May 2009. I studied for about half a year, and I PASSED ALL 4 PARTS ON THE FIRST TRY!!! 95% REG, 88% FAR, 82% AUD, 81% BEC. I am very excited and happy that these books alone helped me pass!" --Gabriela Adriana Mandiuc, Boerne, Texas All the information you need to master the computerized CPA exam! The most effective system available to prepare for the CPA exam--proven for nearly forty years Timely, up-to-the-minute coverage for the computerized exam. Contains all current AICPA content requirements in Auditing and Attestation Unique modular format--helps you zero in on areas that need work, organize your study program, and concentrate your efforts Comprehensive questions--over 3,800 multiple-choice questions and their solutions in the four volumes. Covers the new simulation-style problems. Includes over 280 simulations Complete sample exam in Auditing and Attestation Guidelines, pointers, and tips--show you how to build knowledge in a logical and reinforcing way Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review Study Guide 2014 arms test-takers with detailed outlines, study guidelines, and skill-building problems to help candidates identify, focus on, and master the specific topics that need the most work.

Cover Art
Wiley Cpaexcel Exam Review 2014 - O. Ray Whittington
ISBN: 1118917871
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The world's most effective CPA exam prep system - Financial Accounting and Reporting module Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is the world's most trusted study guide for the Certified Public Accountant's exam - complete, comprehensive, and updated to align with the latest exam content. With 2,800 practice questions and solutions across four volumes, the unique modular format helps you organize your study program, zeroing in on areas that need work. This volume, Financial Accounting and Reporting, contains all current AICPA content requirements, providing total coverage of this section of the exam. You'll get detailed outlines and study tips, simulation and multiple choice questions, and skill-building problems that have made this guide the most effective CPA prep system for over thirty years. The uniform CPA exam is updated annually to include new laws, regulations, and guidelines, so it's important that your study guide be up to date as well. Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is updated annually to reflect the latest version of the exam, and is the number-one bestselling CPA study guide in the world because it provides full, comprehensive coverage of all exam content, and more practice questions than any other guide - many of which are taken directly from past exams. The unique format allows you to: Identify, target, and master problem areas section by section Learn how to logically build your knowledge stores for better recall Practice with thousands of sample questions taken from past exams Review all exam content, including the newest guidelines and regulations No one wants surprises on exam day, and thorough preparation is the key to successful performance. Whether you're embarking on a new study program, or just need a quick refresher before the exam, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is proven to be the most current, complete, comprehensive prep you can get.

Cover Art
Audit and Assurance Essentials - Katharine Bagshaw
ISBN: 1119968798
Publication Date: 2013-04-08
An accessible beginner's guide to the fundamentals of audit and assurance  Audit and assurance is a basic and vital aspect of the financial world and a key element of all professional accountancy programs. Whereas professional training on the topic frequently immerses students in too much detail while glossing the basics, this book begins with the fundamentals and expands to cover the details in a more measured way. With practical examples and end-of-chapter examples, External Audit and Assurance Essentials breaks down a difficult and challenging field of professional accounting.

Cover Art
How to Pass the CPA Exam - Stephanie Ng
ISBN: 1118613228
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
A CPA exam guide written specifically for international students The US CPA qualification exam is the most popular professional accounting qualification not just in the United States, but around the world as well. As international testing centers open across the globe, increasing numbers of non-American students are taking the exam, but lack a study resource written specifically for them. Author Stephanie Ng passed the exam in less than a year and operates a popular exam test-prep website at IPassTheCPAExam.com. In How to Pass the CPA Exam, Ng explains her techniques and study tactics specifically for students outside the United States. A comprehensive and practical study guide for CPA exam students outside the United States Written by the operator of a highly popular test-prep website for international students Includes practical and effective test-prep resources Packed with smart advice presented from an international perspective, How to Pass the CPA Exam is a must for international students preparing for the test.

Cover Art
Vault Career Guide to Accounting, 3rd Edition - Jason Alba
Call Number: HF5628 .A433 2008
ISBN: 1581315910
Publication Date: 2008-04-02
Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of the First World War offers a history of the war from a predominantly political angle and concerns itself with the story of the state at war. It explores the multifaceted history of state power and highlights the ways in which different political systems responded to, and were deformed by, the near-unbearable pressures of war. Every state involved faced issues of military-civilian relations, parliamentary reviews of military policy, and the growth of war economies; and yet their particular form and significance varied in each national case. Written by a global team of historical experts, this volume sets new standards in the political history of the waging of war in an authoritative new narrative, which addresses problems of logistics, morale, innovation in tactics and weapons systems, and the use and abuse of science; all of which were ubiquitous during the conflict.

Cover Art
Vault Guide to the Top 40 Accounting Firms - Derek Loosvelt
Call Number: HF5628 .L66 2006
ISBN: 158131504X
Publication Date: 2007-08-31
In this fourth edition, Vault finance editors bring readers the inside scoop on careers at more than a dozen top accounting firms, including the Big 4 (Deloitte & Touche, Ernst & Young, KPMG and PricewaterhouseCoopers), the next tier of national firms (Grant Thornton and BDO Seidman), and major regional firms. Based on interviews and surveys of actual employees.

Cover Art
Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes - Wiley
ISBN: 1118854225
Publication Date: 2013-11-07
All the information you need to pass the CPA exam on your own Updated annually with the latest AICPA content guidelines, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes provides a review of all the basic skills and concepts tested on the CPA exam and teaches important strategies to take the exam faster and more accurately. Filled with acronyms and mnemonic devices to help candidates remember the accounting rules and checklists needed to pass the exam, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes provides a thorough review of all basic skills and concepts needed for the exam. Includes tips on identifying and interpreting annual reports, stock reports, and other published material to help with the research requirements of the new case study simulations Available in a handy, easy-to-carry, spiral bound reference manual Includes acronyms and mnemonics to help candidates learn and remember a variety of rules and checklists In order to assist candidates in successfully performing exam simulations, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes include references to authoritative literature, sample spreadsheets, and key concepts, tips and tools to facilitate research.

Cover Art
Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes - Wiley
ISBN: 1118854144
Publication Date: 2013-11-07
All the information you need to pass the CPA exam on your own Updated annually with the latest AICPA content guidelines, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes provides a review of all the basic skills and concepts tested on the CPA exam and teaches important strategies to take the exam faster and more accurately. Filled with acronyms and mnemonic devices to help candidates remember the accounting rules and checklists needed to pass the exam, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes provides a thorough review of all basic skills and concepts needed for the exam. Includes tips on identifying and interpreting annual reports, stock reports, and other published material to help with the research requirements of the new case study simulations Available in a handy, easy-to-carry, spiral bound reference manual Includes acronyms and mnemonics to help candidates learn and remember a variety of rules and checklists In order to assist candidates in successfully performing exam simulations, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Focus Notes include references to authoritative literature, sample spreadsheets, and key concepts, tips and tools to facilitate research.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip