This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Auditing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Auditing   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctazauditing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Accounting Research Manager (ARM)
    Contains the full-text of materials from the Auditing Standards Board, the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB), etc. Also includes interpretive guidance and practice aides.

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Auditing & Assurance Services - Timothy J. Louwers [and four others]
Call Number: HF5667 .L69 2015
Publication Date: 2014
This text has been written so that it is current with all issues inherent in accounting and auditing practice, particularly in public accounting firms including coverage of the creation of the Public Companies Accounting Oversight Board, the passage of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and all of the major pronouncements issued by the AICPA. The text is also designed to provide flexibility for instructors; the twelve chapters focus on the auditing process while the eight modules provide additional topics that can be taught at the instructors' discretion without interrupting the flow of the text.

Cover Art
The Routledge Companion to Auditing - David Hay (Editor); W. Robert Knechel (Editor); Marleen Willekens (Editor)
ISBN: 041563363X
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Auditing has been a subject of some controversy, and there have been repeated attempts at reforming its practice globally. This comprehensive companion surveys the state of the discipline, including emerging and cutting-edge trends. It covers the most important and controversial issues, including auditing ethics, auditor independence, social and environmental accounting as well as the future of the field. This handbook is vital reading for legislators, regulators, professionals, commentators, students and researchers involved with auditing and accounting. The collection will also prove an ideal starting place for researchers from other fields looking to break into this vital subject.

Cover Art
Core Auditing Standards for Practitioners - Katharine Bagshaw; John Selwood
ISBN: 1118707117
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
The only book on the market specifically designed to help audit staff stay ahead of inspectors This comprehensive, practical, and theoretical guide covers the key ISAs that underpin audit methodologies and the recently revised ISAs that cause practitioners the most concern. It is designed to enhance auditors' understanding of critical ISAs, reducing their dependence on methodologies to mediate and explain ISA requirements. Using plenty of examples, the book helps audit staff learn to tailor audit methodologies and remove redundancies, as well as form high-quality judgments with a thorough grounding in ISA to serve in discussions with file reviewers and audit inspectors. Features practical examples that appeal to auditors with technical responsibilities Covers key topics such as smaller audits, management override of controls, documenting judgments, and dealing with accounting estimates and written presentations Ideal for practitioners in companies and accounting firms, as well as auditing students Includes access to a companion website with constantly updating ISAs and case studies Mixing theory with practical examples, Core Auditing Standards for Practitioners provides experienced audit staff with key ISA-related information they need to succeed.

Cover Art
Auditing and Accounting Cases - Jay Thibodeau; Deborah Freier
Call Number: HF5686.C7 T48 2014
ISBN: 0078025567
Publication Date: 2013-03-18
The approach used by Thibodeau and Freier emphasizes the substantial benefits of using real-life case examples in helping to impart knowledge related to the practice of auditing. For the fourth edition of Auditing and Accounting Cases: Investigating Issues of Fraud and Professional Ethics the authors continue their quest to be known as the most current auditing and accounting case book on the market. In that spirit, all case questions in the fourth edition have been revised to incorporate the eight new standards adopted by the PCAOB (i.e., AS 8 - AS 15) that relate to the auditor’s assessment of and response to risk in an audit and that include guidance related to audit planning, supervision, materiality, and evidence. This flexible case book is perfect for educators to prepare future audit professionals with 45 cases focusing on specific and relevant audit issues. These cases focus on specific auditing issues directly impacted by Sarbanes Oxley and Dodd-Frank, using the actual companies-Madoff, Enron, WorldCom, Quest, Sunbeam-that have become synonymous with the capital markets’ crisis in confidence.

Cover Art
Frequently Asked Questions in International Standards on Auditing - Steven Collings
ISBN: 1118765419
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Auditing has hit the headlines over recent years, and for all the wrong reasons, and in today's environment, the result of negligent auditing can be serious resulting in sizeable fines and even withdrawal of audit registration which can be costly in terms of fee income. Frequently Asked Questions in International Standards on Auditing presents the relevant standards in a concise and jargon-free way, enabling auditors to appreciate the reasoning behind the standards and undertake audit work effectively. This book focuses on the main areas of the auditing standards and also addresses some key areas where audit firms are failing and which have been flagged up by audit regulators. The FAQs cover the main parts of each standard, and each question will be answered in a practical context, with worked examples showing how the standards are applied in real situations.

Cover Art
Auditor Independence - Ismail Adelopo
ISBN: 1409434702
Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Auditors' independence has been called into question in the light of their being complicit in some of the corporate misbehaviour exposed in recent years. Here, the author examines the historical role of auditing in corporate governance and the regulatory context. He sets the function within a theoretical framework and then provides empirical analysis of problem issues such as the relationship between audit committees and external auditors and the probity of providing non-auditing services to audit clients. The focus on matters that are damaging to market confidence and threatening to the reputation of the auditing profession, means the conclusions and recommendations in this book are important for key stakeholders, including policy makers, regulators, those running companies, and their investors and customers. This is also a book for those responsible for training in the auditing profession and for others with a research or academic interest in the matters addressed.

Cover Art
Risk-Based Tax Audits - Munawer Sultan Khwaja (Editor); Rajul Awasthi (Editor); Jan Loeprick (Editor)
ISBN: 0821387545
Publication Date: 2011-06-08
This book serves as a toolkit on risk-based audits and brings together country experiences for implementing risk-based audit systems. Risk management is an important element of effective and efficient compliance management in revenue administration. It is impossible for any revenue administration to control and check every single taxpayer, and an unnecessary waste of scarce enforcement resources on routinely examining low-risk, compliant taxpayers. The opportunity costs for such roving examinations are high. Just as a private business allocates its resources to areas they feel have the most potential for generating revenues and profits, a modern revenue administration selects cases for audits using methods focused on high-risk taxpayers. This targeted focus is likely to raise higher revenue and, arguably, provide a stronger deterrence for non-compliance. Risk management techniques should not be considered to be confined to the selection of tax audit cases. It is part of a holistic and cooperative approach to enhance compliance. This is dramatically changing the way revenue administrations and taxpayers interact with each other.The effectiveness of a risk-based compliance management has been enabled by, and depends fundamentally on, the use of automated systems to: (1) gather third-party information and match with taxpayer reporting using reliable databases and a unique taxpayer identification number; (2) undertake selective checks based on risk analysis; (3) standardize payment processes (e.g., payments through banks) and accounting requirements; (4) provide assurance that the legislation and procedures are being applied uniformly; and (5) provide adequate, timely information to support management decision making and tax policy formulation.

Cover Art
Audit and Accountancy Pitfalls - Emile Woolf; Moira Hindson
Call Number: HF5636 .W875 2011
ISBN: 0470686677
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Auditors and accountants face many challenges as the fallout from the financial crisis continues. Companies and individuals who have incurred losses are likely to turn the spotlight on their financial advisors who failed to keep them out of trouble. The enormous rise in fraud due to the recession will undoubtedly give rise to the age-old cry 'Where were the auditors?' Audit and Accountancy Pitfalls is a one-of-a-kind casebook of professional negligence claims against auditors and accountants. Written as a practical reference for accountancy practitioners and their advisors, the authors draw on their personal experiences as expert witnesses, and from insurers' case files to provide a set of real life case studies illustrating the professional challenges facing all accountants and auditors, adding practical guidance on how to manage these situations effectively. Coverage includes: *Claims against auditors for failing to detect fraud *Other claims against auditors. *Claims against accountants *Tax related claims *Disciplinary actions against accountants The cases described in this book will provide many salutary warnings to practitioners in virtually every field of accountancy. Although all names have been changed to protect the guilty, the events and outcomes described are real. In each instance the authors set out what went wrong and the lessons to be learned from the mistakes made, making this a thought-provoking read. Written by an author team with over 40 years' collective experience in dealing with litigation in accounting and auditing, Audit and Accountancy Pitfalls will be an indispensable reference for auditors, accountants and anyone involved in claims involving allegations of negligence against professional accountants.

Cover Art
Audit Quality - Jonas Tritschler
ISBN: 3658041749
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Arising from the author's experience as a practicing CPA, this book is quite different from other research in this field, as it confronts the subject of audit quality from a pragmatic perspective. The first goal of Jonas Tritschler is to develop an audit quality metric on national audit firm level. Financial reporting errors, as detected by the German enforcement institutions during examinations, which subsequently are published in the German Federal Gazette by the involved companies, are the data basis for this measurement. Using the developed audit quality metric, the second goal of this study is to analyze audit quality differences of selected audit firms by comparing their deployed audit input factors such as employee's competence (ratio of certified professionals to total audit staff), experience of employees (average tenure of employees in years), and client-specific experience (client fluctuation rate). Results indicate a correlation between audit quality according to the developed metric and the operationalized audit input factors mentioned above.

Cover Art
Wiley Federal Government Auditing - Edward F. Kearney; Roldan Fernandez; Jeffrey W. Green; Cornelius E. Tierney; David M. Zavada
ISBN: 1118555856
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
The most practical, authoritative guide to Federal Government auditing Now in its second edition, Wiley Federal Government Auditing is authored by four CPAs who are partners at Kearney & Company, a CPA firm that specializes in providing auditing, accounting, and information technology services to the Federal Government. This single-source reference provides you with up-to-date information on applicable laws, regulations, and audit standards. Created for both professionals and others performing Federal Government audits, this guide condenses the abundant, complex criteria for Federal Government auditing into concise, accessible topics you'll refer to frequently and presents: An easy-to-navigate format that allows you to find needed information quickly Detailed guidance on what, why, how, and by whom Federal audits should be made Discussion on internal control over Federal financial reporting Recent developments in auditing standards Federal financial statements, budgeting, accounting, and more Coverage of the scope and work required in an audit of Federal departments and agencies Examples of Federal audits Separate chapters devoted to auditing and evaluating Federal IT systems; performance audits; procurement and contract audits; and grant audits Written in a non-technical style and complete with helpful exhibits, this guide is a "go-to" reference for government auditors, Inspectors General, public accountants, military comptrollers, legislators, state and local government auditors, budget offices, financial managers, and financial analysts. The content also applies to contractors and grantees, universities, and other nonprofits and organizations that have repeated financial dealings with the Federal Government.

Cover Art
Audit and Assurance Essentials - Katharine Bagshaw
ISBN: 1119968798
Publication Date: 2013-04-08
An accessible beginner's guide to the fundamentals of audit and assurance  Audit and assurance is a basic and vital aspect of the financial world and a key element of all professional accountancy programs. Whereas professional training on the topic frequently immerses students in too much detail while glossing the basics, this book begins with the fundamentals and expands to cover the details in a more measured way. With practical examples and end-of-chapter examples, External Audit and Assurance Essentials breaks down a difficult and challenging field of professional accounting.

Cover Art
Auditing for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Maire Loughran
ISBN: 0470530715
Publication Date: 2010-07-06
Auditing is a process of gathering information, often financial statements and accounting information, and analyzing it to see if the financial information that the company or corporation is providing is reliable. With easy-to-understand explanations and examples, this title gives students pursuing careers in business and accounting a helpful study guide to accompany their courses and help them master the concepts of auditing.

Cover Art
Auditing and Assurance Services - William F. Messier; Steven M Glover; Douglas F Prawitt
Call Number: HF5667 .M46 2008
ISBN: 0073526908
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The authors believe students are best served by acquiring a strong understanding of the basic concepts that underlie the audit process and how to apply those concepts to various audit and assurance services. The primary purpose for an auditing text is not to serve as a reference manual but to facilitate student learning, and this text is written accordingly. The text is accessible to students through straightforward writing and the use of engaging, relevant real-world examples, illustrations, and analogies. The text explicitly encourages students to think through fundamental concepts and to avoid trying to learn auditing through rote memorization. Students are prompted by the text to “stop and think,” at important points in the text, in order to help them apply the principles covered.
The text continues to take a systematic approach to the audit process by first introducing the three underlying concepts: audit risk, materiality, and evidence. This is followed by a discussion of audit planning, the assessment of control risk, and a discussion of the nature, timing, and extent of evidence necessary to reach the appropriate level of detection risk. These concepts are then applied to each major business process and related account balances using a risk-based approach.

In covering these important concepts and their applications, the book focuses on critical judgments and decision-making processes followed by auditors. Much of auditing practice involves the application of auditor judgment. If a student understands these basic concepts and how to apply them to an audit engagement, he or she will be more effective in today’s dynamic audit environment.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip