This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting A-Z - Accounting for Non-Accountants" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting A-Z - Accounting for Non-Accountants   Tags: accounting, business  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acctaz4non Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers - Edward Fields
ISBN: 081441625X
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Based on the bestselling AMA seminar, a nuts-and-bolts guide to the dollars-and-cents issues that drive your organization! As a department manager, the last thing you want to think about is numbers. But the truth is, that's the only thing your executives and senior managers are thinking about so it's crucial to understand key financial information like balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements, budgets and forecasts, and annual reports. With over 40,000 copies sold, The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers has long provided readers with insight into the financial fundamentals. It demystifies the role accounting and finance play in a corporation, demonstrates how financial decisions reflect business goals, and shows how managers can connect corporate financial information directly to their own strategies and actions. Now revised to reflect new accounting and financial standards, the second edition includes: Strategies for getting your share of the budget * New case studies and practice sessions * An explanation of Sarbanes-Oxley and its relevance to nonfinancial managers * How to manage cash flow in tough times * Fraud detection tools * An expanded glossary including up-to-the-minute business concepts and terminology * And more

Cover Art
Accounting - Christopher Nobes
Call Number: HF5636 .N629 2014
ISBN: 0199684316
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
If you read the "business pages" of a newspaper or if you listen to the financial news on the television or radio, you will often hear terms such as "liability", "balance sheet" or "earnings". These terms turn up in non-financial contexts as well: "he was more of a liability than an asset".If you invest in shares, have a building society account, or sit on a committee of the property company which owns your apartment block, you will receive financial statements every year. If you are a manager in a company, a hospital or a school, you will see accounting information often. This Very Short Introduction provides a guide to understanding and using accounting information. Christopher Nobes explains the main areas of accounting work, from bookkeeping and financial reporting to auditing and management accounting. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.

Cover Art
Accounting All-In-One for Dummies - Joe Kraynak; Kenneth Boyd; Consumer Dummies Staff
ISBN: 1118758005
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
A one-stop accounting reference Packed with vital information culled from the extensive For Dummies accounting, bookkeeping, and auditing libraries, Accounting All-in-One For Dummies is a powerful, one-stop reference. Accounting All-in-One For Dummies is a comprehensive resource on a variety of accounting concepts. You'll get up to speed on: setting up your accounting system; recording accounting transactions; adjusting and closing entries; preparing income statements and balance sheets; planning and budgeting for your business; handling cash and making purchase decisions; and more. Ways to report on your financial statements How to make savvy business decisions Auditing and detecting financial fraud Accounting All-in-One For Dummies is a one-stop reference for students studying the application of accounting theories and a valuable desk reference for accounting professionals in the workforce.

Cover Art
How to Keep Score in Business - Robert Follett
Call Number: HF5681.B2 F59 2012
ISBN: 0132849259
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
In How to Keep Score in Business, Second Edition, long-time CEO Robert Follett shows you exactly how to "keep score" in business by reading and interpreting company financials. Step by step, Follett helps you capture crucial insights buried in balance sheets, income statements, and other key reports. Follett shows how to apply core tools for analyzing financial reports and investment opportunities, and demystifies key accounting terms every business decision-maker and investor needs to know. You'll learn how to uncover a company's true financial position through its balance sheet and income statements-and identify crucial information those documents may not be showing. Follett demonstrates how to use modern ROI tools to evaluate performance or analyze potential investments; how to track ongoing changes in a company's financial position; how to build cash flow budgets for more effective planning; and how to use common analysis ratios (without misusing them). Practical from start to finish, this fully updated book won't transform you into an accountant-but it will help you work more confidently with financial professionals, make smarter business decisions, and choose better investments.

Cover Art
Accounting for Managers - Paul M. Collier
Call Number: HF5657.4 .C647 2009
ISBN: 0470777648
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
A new edition of a successful textbook on how accounting information is used by non-financial managers! This revised and updated third edition of Accounting for Managers builds on the success of the previous two editions in explaining how non-financial managers use accounting information. Accounting for Managers emphasises the interpretation rather than the construction of accounting information and encourages a critical, rather than unthinking acceptance of the underlying assumptions behind accounting. It links theory with practical examples and case studies drawn from real life business situations across a range of industries. Completely revised and updated examples throughout the book. Introduces three new chapters: Accounting for Inventory, Accounting Information Systems and Strategic Management Accounting. Includes new sections on professional ethics, customer profitability analysis, CVP for multiple products and weighted contribution margin for breakeven analysis, accounting for waste, environmental accounting. Expanded treatment of transfer pricing and budgeting sections.

Cover Art
Reading Financial Reports for Dummies® - Lita Epstein
ISBN: 1118761936
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Discover how to decipher financial reports Especially relevant in today's world of corporate scandals and new accounting laws, the numbers in a financial report contain vitally important information about where a company has been and where it is going. Packed with new and updated information, Reading Financial Reports For Dummies, 3rd Edition gives you a quick but clear introduction to financial reports-and how to decipher the information in them. New information on the separate accounting and financial reporting standards for private/small businesses versus public/large businesses New content to match SEC and other governmental regulatory changes New information about how the analyst-corporate connection has actually changed the playing field The impact of corporate communications and new technologies New examples that reflect current trends Updated websites and resources Reading Financial Reports For Dummies is for investors, traders, brokers, managers, and anyone else who is looking for a reliable, up-to-date guide to reading financial reports effectively.

Cover Art
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Financial Statements - David Worrell
Call Number: HG4027.7 .W675 2014
ISBN: 1440829357
Publication Date: 2014
An experienced CFO and entrepreneur uses illustrations, real-life stories, and crystal-clear writing to show business owners the importance of the numbers and the critical nature of finance to the survival, profitability, and growth of their businesses.

Cover Art
Financial Accounting for MBAs - Peter D. Easton; John J. Wild; Robert F. Halsey; Mary Lea McAnally
Call Number: HF5636 .E27 2013
ISBN: 1934319988
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
A new edition of a successful textbook on how accounting information is used by non-financial managers!
This revised and updated third edition of Accounting for Managers builds on the success of the previous two editions in explaining how non-financial managers use accounting information. Accounting for Managers emphasises the interpretation rather than the construction of accounting information and encourages a critical, rather than unthinking acceptance of the underlying assumptions behind accounting. It links theory with practical examples and case studies drawn from real life business situations across a range of industries.

Cover Art
Accounting and Finance for Managers - Matt Bamber; Simon Parry
ISBN: 0749469145
Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Accounting and Finance for Managers is a new text specifically designed to improve analytical skills and help readers use accounting and finance tools for managerial advantage.Ideal for self study as well as classroom learning, it includes worked examples throughout the chapters as well as real-world scenarios and full exercises at the end of each chapter. Providing coverage of basic bookkeeping, readers will learn how to interpret financial statements and grasp underlying theory, interpret a cash budget and identify potential problems, identify appropriate pricing strategies to fit different markets and products/services and incorporate financial evaluation into operational decision making and problem solving.With full supporting resources including lecture slides for each chapter and a breakdown of how each chapter relates to course structures, Accounting and Finance for Managers is essential reading for any student or manager.

Cover Art
Strategic Managerial Accounting - Helen Atkinson; Tracy Jones; Angela Lorenz; Peter Harris (As told to)
ISBN: 1908999004
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Strategic Managerial Accounting: Hospitality, Tourism & Events Applications 6edn explores the nature of these industry sectors and how these impact on the strategic managerial accounting (SMA) tools used by decision makers in the industry.Formerly known as Managerial Accounting in the Hospitality Industry by Harris and Hazzard, this new edition builds on this successful and well known text, retaining its practical approach and active learning style, extending to consider strategic management accounting and to include tourism and events management industry contexts.This new 6th edition incorporates discussion, explanations and illustrations of the theoretical underpinning of hospitality, tourism and events related to SMA and managerial accounting concepts and techniques, together with specific examples of industry application. It has a user friendly chapter structure, with pedagogic features including objectives, learning activities, self check questions, references, and key points summaries. Each chapter includes 'theoretical context' sections which put the applied learning in the context of current research and thinking to bring the theory to life.Key features of this text are:* A complete revision and expansion of the well known and successful Harris and Hazzard text;* Includes several brand new chapters such as: Event and Function Management Accounting techniques, Sustainability & Environmental Management Accounting (EMA), Not-for-profit Organisations, Current Issues in Strategic Management Accounting;* Uses international real life case studies to illustrate from across the hospitality, tourism and events sectors including charity (not-for-profit) sector and music events;* Links to applied and generic research on each topic;* Includes International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) terminology suitable for an international audience. With a complete suite of online tutor resources, this book is essential reading for all year 2/3 undergraduate and postgraduate students studying hospitality, tourism and events management.

Cover Art
Accounting and Finance for Lawyers - Charles H. Meyer
Call Number: HF5635 .M49 2013
ISBN: 0314285644
Publication Date: 2012-10-31
This product provides a well-rounded summary of the relevant accounting areas from basic financial statements to complex earnings-per-share ratios and corporate finance and valuation. Learn how to recognize revenue, expenses, assets, and liabilities. It reviews accounting principles for many different areas, including investments, long-term debt, leases, stocks, and partnerships. It also discusses recent developments such as expanded use of fair values in financial statements and guidance on how to determine fair value, accounting for service agreements in securitizations, and revised rules on accounting for acquisitions.

Cover Art
Financial Reporting Standards - David T. Doran
ISBN: 1606493884
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Accounting is the score keeping system in the "game" of business, and you won't do well in any "game" if you don't understand how the score iskept. If you're a practicing manager, MBA student, or a non-accounting business major, this book will do more than help you stay in the game.Inside, United States financial reporting standards are compared and contrasted with international financial reporting standards, and theauthors detail how management's choice of accounting methods and their required estimates in reporting transactions and events impactfinancial statements, both immediately and in the future. Unlike typical accounting books, journal entries are not used to illustrate topicalcoverage.This unique book exclusively provides you with a decision-making perspective by using the accounting equation format to directlyillustrate financial statement effects of transactions and events. Most of the topics addressed in this book are typically studied by accountingmajors in the two course "intermediate" accounting sequence, but the text also includes discussion of consolidations--a topic generallycovered in the "advanced" accounting course. Intermediate accounting textbooks alone typically exceed well over 1,500 pages. By exclusivelyapplying a user's perspective, and limiting topical content to areas relevant for decision making, this book allows non-accountants toacquire the requisite underlying knowledge in a concise, easy to understand text.

Cover Art
Accounting for Non Accountants - Robert Deutsch; Kris Chikarovski
Call Number: HF5636 .D48 2012
ISBN: 1862878919
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
The focus of Deutsch and Chikarovski's Accounting for Non-Accountants - A Question and Answer Handbook, is to promote an understanding of the fundamentals of accounting and financial statements. It is not a short cut to an in-depth knowledge of accounting. However the book will provide some useful insights to the language of accounting, the key principles involved and the sources and use of accounting information commonly encountered.The book should therefore be useful for lawyers and other users of accounting information to guide their understanding of that information. You might for example be:a barrister involved in a commercial matter requiring the review of the financial statements of a listed company a family law solicitor looking at the accounts of family entities as part of a property settlement an immigration lawyer presenting accounts as part of a visa application a small business operator reviewing the accounts of your business a so called 'mum and dad' investor reviewing the accounts of the listed company that you have acquired shares in recently or a student studying business, accounting or commerce This book is intended to be a useful guide for all such readers and others.Information in the book is presented in an easy to follow question and answer format. Each answer is supported by examples where relevant based on sample financial information included in an appendix. Key accounting terms are also highlighted in bold and explained in a Glossary section at the end of the book.

Cover Art
Construction Accounting - Patrick A. McGeehin
Call Number: HF5686.B7 C583 2010
ISBN: 1604428325
Publication Date: 2010-03-01

Cover Art
Accounting Essentials for Hospitality Managers - Chris Guilding
ISBN: 0415841097
Publication Date: 2014-02-13
For non-accountant hospitality managers, accounting and financial management is often perceived as an inaccessible part of the business. Yet having a grasp of accounting basics is a key part of  management. Using an 'easy to read' style, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the most relevant accounting information for hospitality managers. It demonstrates how to organise and analyse accounting data to help make informed decisions with confidence. With its highly practical approach, this new Edition: Quickly develops the reader's ability to adeptly use and interpret accounting information to further organisational decision making and control Demonstrates how an appropriate analysis of financial reports can drive your business strategy forward from a well-informed base Develops mastery of key accounting concepts through financial decision making cases that take a hospitality manager's perspective on business issues Presents accounting  problems in the context of a range of countries and currencies Includes a new chapter that addresses a range of financial management topics that include share market workings, agency issues, dividend policy as well as operating and financial leverage Includes a further new chapter that provides a financial perspective on revenue management Includes accounting problems at the end of each chapter to be used to test knowledge and apply understanding to real life situations Offers extensive web support for instructors and students that includes powerpoint slides, solutions to end of chapter problems, test bank and additional exercises. The book is written in an accessible and engaging style and structured logically with useful features throughout to aid students' learning and understanding. It is a key resource for all future hospitality managers.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip