This is the "Introduction" page of the "ACCT 230 - Introduction to Accounting Business Plans Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ACCT 230 - Introduction to Accounting Business Plans Project   Tags: classguide  

These sources provide ideas for businesses start-ups as well as examples and information on how to create a business plan:
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/acct230 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide has been prepared to assist students in locating library sources for projects dealing with the development of a startup business plan. Business plans describe the objectives and goals of an enterprise using both quantitative and qualitative information to convey plans as well as the strategy for achieving goals.  If you need further help, the Reference staff in the West Campus Library will be able to assist you with most of your research needs, or you may always contact me directly for individual or group consultations.


Internet Sites

  • Blans.com
    Mostly a commercial site selling business planning software and services. But click on "Business Planning" and then "Sample Business Plans" for a variety of start up business plans. There are also articles on how to write a business plan & an educational presentation developed in conjunction with the U.S. Small Business Administration (see "Business Plan Guide").
  • Entrepreneur "Your Business Plan Guide"
    This section of the Entrepreneur.com website includes articles regarding advice and how-to's to consider "Before Writing Your Plan" and for actually "Writing Your Business Plan." There is also a "Business Plan Tools" section with helpful templates, sample plans and presentations.
  • Small Business Association (SBA)
    Provides a wealth of tools for starting, managing and expanding a small business.

  • SCORE
    Sponsored by the SBA, there are business plan templates & guides under the "Business Advice" tab and plentiful other resources.
 

Print Resources (West Campus Library)

Cover Art
The Standout Business Plan - Vaughan Evans; Brian Tracy
ISBN: 0814434118
Publication Date: 2014-05-22
Too many business plans focus on the details most important to the managers or business owners writing them. . . and fail to address the questions most crucial to potential backers. This immensely practical and eminently readable book shows readers how to create a business plan that speaks directly to investors and lenders and makes it easy for them to say yes. Featuring case studies and examples of both what to do and what not to do, the book reveals how to: ● Include the vital information backers need, while leaving out extraneous filler that gets in the way ● Address key factors such as market demand, competition, and strategy ● Spell out the essence of your business proposition ● Outline resources and financial forecasts ● Assess risk from the backer's perspective ● Evaluate and improve the plan to ensure its success With the easy-to-follow guidance in The Standout Business Plan, now anyone can present a clear, concise, and convincing case that will win them the funding they need to succeed. Note: This book is designed for readers developing business plans for the U.S. and Canadian marketplaces.

Cover Art
Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses Throughout North America
Call Number: HD62.7 .B865 v. 1-11
ISBN: 0810393956
Excellent source of sample business plans for a number of businesses. A great source for examples of pro-forma financial statements. Bakery, Volume 5, page 11; Bagel shop, Volume 5, page 3; Coffee House, Volume 4, page 97; Diner, Volume 1, Pages 315 & 325; Fast Food, Volume 3, Pages 105 & 119; Gourmet Foods, Volume 8, Page 245; Ice Cream Shop, Volume 3, Page 163; Internet Cafe, Volume 5, Page 209; Pizzeria, Volume 6, Page 235; Pizzeria, Volume 11, Page 249; Restaurant, Volume 2, Pages 263 & 271; Restaurant, Volume 4, Page 373; Restaurant, Volume 5, Pages 327, 339 & 359; Restaurant, Volume 7, Page 337; Sandwich Shop, Volume 3, Page 397; Shave Ice Business, Volume 6, Page 323

Cover Art
The Ernst and Young Business Plan Guide - Brian R. Ford; Ernst and Young Firm Staff; Jay M. Bornstein; Patrick T. Pruitt
Call Number: HD62.5 .S556 2007
ISBN: 0470112697
Publication Date: 2007
A guide to researching, writing and presenting your business plan from one of the world's most respected professional service and accounting firms. Includes a sample plan and advice on financing.

Cover Art
Creating a Business Plan for Dummies - Veechi Curtis
ISBN: 1118641221
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
Everything you need to know to design a profitable business plan Whether you're starting a new business or you've been trading for a while, Creating a Business Plan For Dummies covers everything you need to know. Figure out whether your business idea is likely to work, how to identify your strategic advantage, and what you can do to gain an edge on the competition. Discover why a business plan doesn't have to be a thrity-page document that takes days to write, but can be a simple process that you do in stages as you work through your business concept. Learn how to prepare an elevator pitch, create a start-up budget, and create realistic sales projections. Discover how to predict and manage expenses, and assemble a financial forecast that enables you to calculate your break-even. Look at the risk involved in this business and experiment with different scenarios to see if you're on the right track. Explains how to create a one-page business plan in just a few hours Takes a simple step-by-step approach, focusing on budgets, financials, and everyday practicalities Offers focused guidance on managing cashflow, designing marketing plans, and establishing a long-term vision for your business Includes access to downloadable templates and worksheets, as well as helpful online audio and video components Written by Veechi Curtis, bestselling author and business consultant A good business plan is the first step to success for any new business, and getting it right can mean the difference between big profits and big trouble. Creating a Business Plan For Dummies gives you the detailed advice you need to design a great business plan that will guide your business from concept to reality.

Cover Art
Anatomy of a business plan : the step-by-step guide to building your business and securing your company’s future - Linda Pinson
Call Number: HD30.28 .P5 2008
ISBN: 9780944205372
From envisioning the organizational structure to creating the marketing plan that powers growth to building for the future with airtight financial documents, this guide provides the tools to create well-constructed business plans. Beginning with the initial considerations, this handbook offers proven, step-by-step advice for developing and packaging the components of a business plan—cover sheet, table of contents, executive summary, description of the business, organizational and marketing plans, and financial and supporting documents—and for keeping the plan up-to-date. Four real-life business plans and blank forms and worksheets provide readers with additional user-friendly guidelines for the creation of the plans. This updated seventh edition features new chapters on financing resources and business planning for nonprofits as well as a sample restaurant business plan.

Cover Art
Entrepreneur magazine’s ultimate small business advisor : all you need to know - Andi Axman
Call Number: HD62.7 .E568 2003
ISBN: 9781891984464
The Ultimate Small Business Advisor helps you decide, among many other things: which kind of business is right for you, whether to buy a franchise or an existing business, how to set up your company, and how to get financing.

Cover Art
The Business Plan Workbook - Colin Barrow; Paul Barrow; Robert Brown
ISBN: 0749464623
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Without a business plan no bank, venture capital house, or corporate parent will consider finance for start up, expansion or venture funding. The Business Plan Workbook is the essential guide to all aspects of business planning for entrepreneurs, senior executives and students alike. Based on methodology developed at Cranfield School of Management and using successful real-life business plans, The Business Plan Workbook brings together the process and procedures required to produce that persuasive plan. The case examples have been fully updated and include a cross section of businesses at various stages in their development, making the book invaluable reading for anyone in business - whatever their background.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Sullivan
Contact Info
Phone: (979) 845-2902
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

Screencast Tutorials

  • Locating Business Plans  Icon
    Shows hows to access the Business Plans Handbooks via the Gale Virtual Reference Library (no audio)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip