This is the "Getting Started" page of the "SOCI/WMST 489-900 - Science, Technology, Race and Gender" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOCI/WMST 489-900 - Science, Technology, Race and Gender  

Science, Technology, Race & Gender Resource Guide
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/WMST489 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Find Us Online

Facebook Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Flikr Icon

 

Helpful tips

Interdisciplinary research can be challenging, but it allows researchers the opportunity to learn from a wide variety of perspectives and make new contributions to the field by considering literature and research in new ways.

In this class you are considering three separate but intersecting topics: race, gender, and technology. The following list of databases will help you get started in your research.  Be sure to read the annotation for the sources. Each database has a specific focus like education or engineering. You need to make sure you are searching in the appropriate databases for your topic.

We have two library catalogs, our main catalog LibCat and our Medical Science Library catalog, Chiron. You may need to search BOTH catalogs to find print books, eBooks, and print journals for your project.

After your session, you may contact a librarian if you require further assistance. We are available in person, and via chat, text, and email.

Check out our hours, or make a one-on-one appointment at http://guides.library.tamu.edu/AskTheLibraries

Core Databases

  • Gender Studies Database (Ebsco)
    Comprehensive database for articles related to the study of gender, sexuality, and their intersections with race, class, body politics, law, power, work, technology, education, and more.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • ERIC "Education Resources Information Center" (EBSCO)  
      
    Provides full-text access to scholarly journal articles and "ERIC Documents" (instructional materials, books, conference papers, research reports, and selected dissertations) relating to all levels of education from pre-school through higher education.
  • Compendex
    Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
  • Medline
    1950 -
    Medical literature
  • Black Studies Center
    Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
  • Alternative Press Index (Ebsco)
    Non-profit collective working to increase awareness of and access to alternative presses.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS)
    Multi-disciplinary, full-text, international resources with an emphasis on alternative presses and gray literature (like newsletters and brochures).

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

Creative Commons License

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip