This is the "Getting Started" page of the "TEED 649 - Instructional Strategies: Middle/High School ELA" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TEED 649 - Instructional Strategies: Middle/High School ELA   Tags: education, k-12, language arts  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/TEED649 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Writing and Writing Assessment

Links

These links provide useful resources on the teaching writing and assessment.

  • 30 Ideas for Teaching Writing
    The National Writing Project's 30 Ideas for Teaching Writing offers successful strategies contributed by experienced writing project teachers. Since NWP does not promote a single approach to teaching writing, readers will benefit from a variety of eclectic, classroom-tested techniques.
  • The Writing Teacher
    Our goal is to increase the quality of our students’ writing skills by sharing knowledge among experts and practitioners. We plan to share theory, practice, and research through our articles, feedback from our readers, and a numbers of web events in the planning as we launch. We will have teachers, writing assessment experts, academics, and others write about what they’ve tried, what works, how to implement ideas, and current theories on the subject of writing.
  • Inspiring Young Writers
    Tap into students’ creativity and encourage them to think critically about topics with focused writing activities. These resources promote writing across subject areas and cover everything from grammar basics to fantasy-writing inspiration.
  • NCTE Beliefs about the Teaching of Writing
    Just as the nature of and expectation for literacy has changed in the past century and a half, so has the nature of writing. Much of that change has been due to technological developments, from pen and paper, to typewriter, to word processor, to networked computer, to design software capable of composing words, images, and sounds. These developments not only expanded the types of texts that writers produce, they also expanded immediate access to a wider variety of readers. With full recognition
  • TAKS Writing Assessments
    Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) measures a student’s mastery of the state-mandated curriculum, the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). The writing TAKS is administered for grades 4 and 7 in English and grade 4 in Spanish. The English language arts (ELA) TAKS is administered in grade 10 and exit level.

Electronic Education Journals

These journals include reaearch on reading and teaching writing.  If you are finding it difficult to decide on a topic, reading through some of the articles published in them may help you narrow your focus. 

All journals listed below are peer reviewed/refereed.

 

Introduction

This guide will introduce you to some suggested library resources that will be useful in completing this assignment. You will be directed to suggested library databases that can be used for finding scholarly journal articles, introduced to  information on citing your resources using MLA format, and offered some suggestions on resources you can use to to learn more about teaching writing.

 

Steps for searching for scholarly journmal Articles

  1. Choose a Topic
  2. Identify search terms/key words you will use for searching databases.  Remember, most databases require no more than two words per search box, so you will have to be able to break your search down.  Figure out what the is most important about your topic.
  3. Choose a database because you are searching for articles in the field of education, it is suggested that you choose a specific education database.  Database are collections of articles, research reports, and other published materials indexed in an electronic or online resource.
  4. Recommended databases include:  ERIC (Ebsco); Education Full Text(Wilson); Education Journals (Proquest)
  5. Link to the Database from this class guide or from the TAMU Libraries home page choose the database tab and type in the name of one of the recommended databases.  
  6. Enter search terms and begin searching.  You may limit search results to peer reviewed resources by checking peer reviewed and/ or journal articles on the search screen.  This will vary slightly in each database. 
  7. Once your results come up, you can limit your search more by choosing from the list of subjects to more closely identify articles from the specific direction you've chosen to take. 
  8. Choose the article you'd like to view.  When you click on the title, you will see the abstract and other information about the article.  This is also where you can double check that the article is peer revierewd or referreed. 
  9. You can choose the pdf link to print or save the article. 
  10. If no full text link is present, choose the Find text at TAMU link to locate the article.  A pop up window will appear, this will give you a link to the database where the full text of the article is found or suggest that you search the catalog for a print copy of the journal in which the article has been published.  If the article is not available in any of our databases or in a print journal that we own, you can choose the Get it link to request a pdf copy of the article which will be secured through our interlibrary loan service. 
  11. Each database also includes citation tools to assist you in completing your citations.  Look for "cite" buttons on the top bars or side bars of databases when you are viewing the article's abstract. Remember, that these tools are helpers but that you are ultimately responsible for making sure that your citations are correct.  The library has links to many citation resourses that will also help you cite your sources.  
  12. If you need assistance with your searches or accessing databases do not hesitate to contact the TLAC Librarian directly, use the library's chat reference service, or seek help at the Ask Us desk on the first floor of Evans.  The desk staff can refer you to the consultation librarian for immediate help, 10-6 Monday through Friday. 
 

Search Terms

Word Bank

WRITING INSTRUCTION

TEACHING METHODS

PRIMARY EDUCATION

SECONDARY EDUCATION

WRITING SKILLS

WRITING ATTITUDES

WRITTING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM

WRITING DIFFICULTIES

TEACHING METHODS

COMPOSITION (LANGUAGE ARTS)

Effective Teaching

 

Finding Referenced Articles

Once you have located an article you would like to use for your paper, you can check the authors references for additional reources that might also be useful.  There are several ways to do this. 

  • First, you can cut and past the title into the search box of the database you are currently using.  Be sure to choose title search on the drop down menu for type of search.
  • A second option might be to link to Google Schoolar from the TAMU Libraries home page, enter the title in the search box, and link to the text using the find text link.
  • Finally, from the library's home page you can click the Articles search tab, and enter the title in quotation marks into the search box and then link to the text.

Education and Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Elaine Thornton
Contact Info
979-862-1047
Send Email
Subjects:
Teaching, Learning, and Culture; P-12 Curriculum, Children's Literature
 

Research & Documentation

From the University Writing Center

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip