This is the "Explore Careers" page of the "STLC 102 - Career/Major Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

STLC 102 - Career/Major Research Project  

Last Updated: Jun 2, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/STLC102 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Explore Careers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    This U.S. government website provides a user-friendly interface to search current job trends, pay rates, and career projections for a wide variety of careers.
  • Texas A&M Career Center
    The Texas A&M Career Center provides in-person help and a variety of resources for students figuring out their major or just starting to think about their careers. Students should plan to stop in the Career Center as soon as they start college to get off on the right foot!
  • Texas Office of the Governor - Employment/Job Statistics
    The Texas State Governor's office provides information about job growth and the economic outlook in Texas.
  • Texas Workforce Commission Labor Market Information
    Students who plan to stay in Texas may want to explore this site for information about employment grown in the state. For example, this site includes links to the Report on Texas Growth Occupations 2015.
  • US Bureau of Labor Statistics
    This U.S. government site provides many types of information about jobs in the U.S., including occupational outlooks and employment projections.
  • US Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections
    This U.S. government site provides projections for employment in a field. Great for finding career fields with a lot of growth.
  • Career One Stop
    Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site shows you occupational profiles for particular career fields, including data about jobs in that field for a particular state.

Market Research

  • Plunkett Research Online
    Provides industry analysis, trends and statistics for selected industries. Major companies in each industry are profiled. Industry association / organization descriptions and contact information are included.
 

Books

Try some of these search terms in the library catalog:

Employment forecasting -- United States

Job descriptions

Job hunting -- United States

Occupations -- United States

Vocational guidance -- United States

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Sarah Dalton (Editor)
Call Number: HF5381 .E52 2011
ISBN: 9780816083138
Publication Date: 2010-11-01


 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:

Choose a Search Type:


  Help


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

Databases

  • Job and Career Accelerator
    Career and job search platform: interest assessment, career exploration, and job search platform, resume creation, job and internship opportunities.
  • LearningExpress Library
    Job and career resources. Test preparation and practice tests (college and graduate school entrance exams, firefighting, EMS, health care, and more); writing and grammar, math and science skills improvement; resume preparation; software, computer, and Internet tutorials.
  • Vocational and Career Collection
    Provides access to vocational and career information from nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals as well as over 600 scholarly journals. Coverage dates back to 1985.

First Year Experience Librarian

Profile Image
Sarah LeMire
Contact Info
Evans Library Room 207G
Send Email

Visitors and Tours Coordinator

Profile Image
Tiana Okonkwo
Contact Info
Evans Library, Room 1.207E
(979) 458-9786
tiana@tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip