PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES (MOST FULL-TEXT):
Early English Books Online is a collection of electronic texts from some of the earliest published books in the English language. The collection is based on Pollard and Redgrave’s “Short Title Catalogue” and Donald Wing’s bibliography; roughly covering a time period from 1475 to 1700. Over 125,000 titles are currently included with more being added regularly.
- EIGHTEENTH CENTURY COLLECTIONS ONLINE (ECCO)
This is a massive digitization project that when complete will allow electronic access to circa 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 (predominately in Britain). Segments to be included are: History and Geography; Social Science; Fine Arts, Music, Art & Architecture; Medicine, Science, & Technology; Literature and Language; Religion and Philosophy; and Law.
- EARLY AMERICAN IMPRINTS, SERIES 1. EVANS (1639-1800)
Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography, this digital project contains works published in North America (especially in the colonies that later became the United States) during the 17th- and 18th- centuries. This remarkable undertaking offers a comprehensive look at all aspects of life in Colonial and Early Republic times.
- EARLY AMERICAN IMPRINTS, SERIES 2. SHAW-SHOEMAKER (1801-1820)
A continuation of the Evans’ Bibliography by Shaw and Shoemaker. Contains similar types of resources as Evans’ for the first two decades of the 19th century.
- AMERICAN PERIODICAL SERIES (APS) ONLINE
A selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- EMPIRE ONLINE
Bringing together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world between 1492 and 1969, Empire Online is fully searchable and offers thematic essays by leading scholars, embedded with hypertext links which relate directly to the documentary evidence provided.
- MAKING OF THE MODERN WORLD
Also known as the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, this resource provides digital facsimile images of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
A database of electronic texts from over 2000 classic works of French language and literature from ca. 1300 to the present day.
19th CENTURY MASTERFILE
Originally an electronic version of W.F. Poole’s Index to Nineteenth Century Literature, this database has expanded to cover a wide variety of sources from the 1800s. Many of the popular periodical titles from the nineteenth century are covered here. This database has recently added selected full-text items.
- ECONOMIST HISTORICAL ARCHIVE
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003. The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity and wit, The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.
- HARPWEEK (1857-1877)
An electronic version of the famous nineteenth century “Harper’s Weekly” magazine from the Civil War and Reconstruction era. Searchable text includes articles, illustrations, and even advertisements.
- DEFINING GENDER
Five centuries of advice literature for men and women from 1450 to 1910. This new online project brings together approximately 60,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets, diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.
- GERRITSEN COLLECTION - WOMEN'S HISTORY ONLINE, 1543-1945
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
- EVERYDAY LIFE AND WOMEN IN AMERICA, c1820-1900
This digital collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
- WOMEN AND SOCIAL MOVEMENTS IN THE US
As of June 2006, the website currently includes 67 document projects with 1,900 documents, and 25,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. On a quarterly basis we will be adding new document projects, book and website reviews, related teaching tools, and more documents.
- READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE (WILSON)
Part of the WilsonWeb, this index (no full text) contains citations to articles in popular magazines and journals from 1890-1982.
- EIGHTEENTH CENTURY JOURNALS II
The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world, and it was from here that items for Eighteenth Century Journals II were selected. These holdings were documented in ‘British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1632-1800’, compiled by Powell Stewart in 1950. More recent acquisitions have further enhanced these collections.
- SABIN AMERICANA DIGITAL ARCHIVE
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
- BLACK STUDIES CENTER
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
- AMERICAN CIVIL WAR: LETTERS AND DIARIES
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched in a more effective manner.
- BLACK THOUGHT AND CULTURE
Black Thought and Culture contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
MORE PRIMARY SOURCES
- Acta Sanctorum (Chadwyck Healey) The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865 (Chadwyck Healey)Encompasses approximately 15,000 articles and documents of nearly 300 black abolitionists in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and Germany and includes:
* the correspondence of key African-American leaders
* speeches, sermons, and lectures
* articles, essays, editorials, and other major writings from more than 200 African-American, abolitionist, and reform newspapers
* receipts, poems, and other miscellaneous documents
- British Periodicals (Chadwyck Healey)British Periodicals offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.
- Colonial State Papers (Chadwyck Healey)This growing collection offers insight into the colonial history of North America and the West Indies. It includes the National Archives collection CO 1-- papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade during 1574-1757. More than 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 45,000 bibliographic records give fascinating insight into British trade, history and overseas expansion between the 16th and 18th centuries.
- Congressional Record (ProQuest)The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. Here you can find roll call votes and more, 1789-1977.
- Digital National Security ArchiveThrough the Digital National Security Archive, the National Security Archive and Chadwyck-Healey at ProQuest Information and Learning Company have joined forces to produce the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 58,000 of the most important, declassified documents—totaling more than 450,000 pages—are included in the database.
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Proquest)Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of cities and towns which were created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk. The maps show structural details and include street naming and numbering used at the time the map was made. The library’s collection includes maps from Texas cities and towns spanning the 19th to mid-20th century. Our subscription now includes maps for all 50 states.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications (ProQuest) Also known as "MOCAT."A comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government. Describing over 1.2 million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects.
- NTIS (ProQuest)The NTIS database indexes US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering and business related information. It is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources. Additionally, information is available from international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. This database is produced by the National Technical Information Service. Most items are available in the microfiche collection at Evans Library.
- PAIS Archive (ProQuest)The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
- Patrologia Latina (Chadwyck Healey)The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
- ProQuest Congressional Replaces LEXIS/NEXIS Congressional. Full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
- Proquest Digital Microfilm Access to microfilmed editions of Wall Street Journal, Houston Chronicle, New York Times, American Banker, Barron's, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times from 2008-current.
EVEN MORE PRIMARY SOURCES
- The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (Chadwyck Healey) The Wellesley Index is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. Forty-five important monthly and quarterly titles are indexed, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century.
- U.S. Serial Set & Maps Digital Collections (ProQuest) The high resolution optional maps module of the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection allows access to color and high resolution versions of the maps indexed in the U.S. Serial Set Index and Carto-Bibliography of Maps. The maps contained within the U.S. Serial Set represent one of the greatest single collections of cartographic materials of the United States. From the exploration of the American West to the Parisian defenses during the Crimean War, the Serial Set carto-bibliographic records allow unprecedented access to the 55,000+ maps of the Serial Set.
- U.S. Statutes at Large (ProQuest Congressional) The Statutes at Large is a chronological compilation of federal laws, joint and concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, reorganization plans, and constitutional amendments. Prior to 1950, it also included treaties and executive agreements, which have the same legal force as statutory law. From 1789-present.
- Visual History Archive (Shoah VHA)
Description: Contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. Most testimonies have been indexed for keywords at one-minute segments. Some videos may take 48 hours to load and view.
- Ancestry (Library Edition)
Description: It has wide-range coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases including U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; a strong Civil War collection, and more indexes and original images will be added.
- HeritageQuest Online
Description: Database of family and local history documents and U.S. census data.