Books, Articles, Census, Films on Family and Marriage
I. Library Resources and Tools
- libcat.tamu.edu (TAMU library catalog)
e.g. marriage and society and history [keywords]
marriage and society and history and "electronic resource" [look for ebooks]
- Worldcat.org (World libraries catalogs)
- Films / Media Search (via libcat.tamu.edu)
Go to library.tamu.edu > click on the "Media" tab.
- Title - e.g. - Everybody loves Raymond
- Keyword e.g. - families and drama
- Useful Subject terms for film searching in libcat
Husband and wife--Drama.
Film Criticism Databases
- International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (Chadwyck Healey) 1864-present
Scholarly and popular journals on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television and more
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Date varies
Scholarly and popular journals with selected full text covering a comprehensive range of subjects
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) 1926-present
- Reference Tools
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Factfinder Census
- Family definition:
""A family includes a householder and one or more people living in the same household who are related to the householder by birth, marriage, or adoption. All people in a household who are related to the householder are regarded as members of his or her family. A family household may contain people not related to the householder, but those people are not included as part of the householder’s family in census tabulations. Thus, the number of family households is equal to the number of families, but family households may include more members than do families. A household can contain only one family for purposes of census tabulations. Not all households contain families since a household may comprise a group of unrelated people or one person living alone."
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Marriage definition
- Web Resources
II. Ancestry/Genealogy/Family Search (TAMU Library Databases)
- Ancestry Library (ProQuest)
Provides access to genealogy resources, including census, birth, marriage, death, military records, immigration & travel, newspapers & publications, stories, memories & histories, maps. atlases & gazetteers, tax, criminal, land & law, reference, dictionaries & almanacs, and family tree. The collection covers from 1300 to the present, with about 4000 databases included. Some records are full text online; others are just index entries. New content is added on a regular basis.
- By last name
- By a place your ancestor might have lived
- By keyword (e.g. flying tigers in Census and Voter Lists)
- Advance Search (where you can select or combine any of these categories: name, year, life events, family member, keyword, gender, race, and restrict to limiters)
The largest free genealogical resource on the web. RootsWeb includes 465 million names in hundreds of family trees, 30,000 individual websites, and over 30,000 mailing lists. Sources include: worldconnect, rootsweb surname list, social security death index (SSDI), death records, international [Australia, UK, Canada, Germany, Irish, Italy etc.), United States (state & country index, African Ame./ Colored records. birth records. cemetery records, census indexes, Church records, court records, death/marriage records, tax & voter lists etc.)
RootWeb has two search interfaces:
- By last or first name
- By Keyword
- By last or first name
- By Advanced Search (Recommended)
Create Your Own Family Tree (Ancestry.com)
You can enter a few simple facts and the database will help you to discover more.
- > Click on Ancestry.com's Advanced link > click on "Family Tree" > Click on "Start your tree
- HeritageQuest Online
contains similar kinds of records as in Ancestry Library Edition, but on a much smaller scale. It does include thousands of published family histories which are not included in the Ancestry database.
- Historical Newspapers, a Library's subject guide
Other commonly used resource are historical newspapers. For information on newspapers that are available online or on microfilm, see the library’s newspaper guide.
provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Their website lets you search online indexes for birth, marriage, death, census, church and other records from around the world. Some records are full text online; others are just index entries. New content is added on a regular basis. It also has links to numerous Research helps in the form of articles, guides and online classes to help you with your research. New content is added on a regular basis.
- Family History Archive
III. Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
TOPIC - child care/support issues that influence single moms career decisions or choices
SEARCHING STRATEGY- breaking a topic into 2 or 3 concepts; finding synonyms for each and then using OR to combine the synonyms; using AND to combine all the concepts. See an example below:
single mother* or single moms
AND job or career or employ*
- Google Scholar
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective (Wilson)
- Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
IV. Legal Cases
- LexisNexis Academic | See Daniel's LexisNexis Guide
- Google Scholar [select the radio button - legal opinions & journals]
- Legal Collection (EBSCO)
V. Free Web Resources
Chat With Us
Chat is offline.