SOCI 312: Population and Society
Special Notes on How to access or locate Texas Almanac
To access it online, click here: Texas Almanac
(optional: see a video demo)
We have also three copies of Texas Almanac in print.
1) The 2006-2007 edition is on Course Reserve. Please go to Library Annex to get it. If you have any questions about this
copy or how to use Course Reserve, please call Media & Reserve at 845-2316
2) The 2010-2011 edition is on the ASK US desk (the main service desk) Evans Library, first floor.
3) Map department (Evans 2nd floor) has also a copy of Texas Almanac.
==========================================================================
I. - FINDING BOOKS
- Books with in TAMU (libcat.tamu.edu)
keyword searching: - Population and urban? | - Population and migrat?
E.g.
- Population and society : an introduction to demography / Dudley L. Poston (print)
- E-books Databases
- Netlibrary
- ebrary
- Other ebooks databases
Three selected ebooks:
- Introduction to applied demography data sources and estimation techniques (Netlibrary)
- World fertility report [Netlibrary keyword: world fertility report] - Worldcat
http://worldcat.org - Use Worldcat to locate books beyond TAMU
II. FINDING ARTICLES
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
- Humanities Abstracts Full Text (Wilson)
- JSTOR
- PAIS International (CSA)
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- Google Scholar
Regional
- Latin America Studies (UT)
- BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ASIAN STUDIES
- INDEX ISLAMICUS
- China Data Online
- Japanese Studies, East Asian Libraries Cooperative WWW (Ohio State)
- Korean Studies, East Asian Libraries Cooperative WWW (Ohio State)
How do I know a source is scholarly?
- 1) Look for - Peer reviewed or Referred or Scholarly or Academic Journals
- 2) Use the "Find Text at tamu" link [ see an example here ]
- 3) Use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out. [In Quick Search, enter journal title. See
an example here]
- You need:
1) Set up your Refworks account. [Find refworks link in library website]
2) Download Write and Cite and install it on your laptop.
III. FINDING FACTS, FIGURES OR OTHER DATA
- World population, health, and the environment with four core themes: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.
Use its DATAFINDER to find US data or World Data. Useful topics:
- Population characteristics, health, family structure.. [U.S.]
- Pop. trends, health, HIV, reproductive health ... [World ]
Use its Search to locate documents - e.g. migration [one search results link ]
Useful documents from PRB:
- 2010 World Population Data Sheet (PRB)
- World Population Highligths: Key Findings (PRB)
- The World Factbook (also known as CIA Factbook)
Geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Choose either WORLD or a COUNTRY
Example: Under "Select a Country or Location" > Australia > People
[will find - population, age, growth rate, birth/death rate,migration rate, urbanization, sex ratio, infant mortality rate, life expectancy, fertility rate, HIV/AIDS, ethnic groups, literacy, education expenditure etc..]
- International Data Base (IDB, U.S. Census Bureau)
Global population trends, links to historical population estimates, population clocks, and estimates of population, births, and deaths occurring each year, day, hour, or second.
For population change, projection, growth rate...
Example: Annual world population change: 1950 to 2050 - LexisNexis Statistical DataSets
Use Browse by Subject to choose a topic - American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
People > then choose the topics
Historical Census Data Browser (back to 1790) - World Development Indicators (Worldbank)
Over 500 indicators of economic development in terms of people, the environment, the economy and the world markets. Data spans from 1960 to present, covering 208 countries.
Example:
Select > accept the default category> Country > Australia > Select Health > Mortality > Year > view report [or after selecting country > select Health > population > all variables > report - UNSD Statistical Databases
Population and Vital Statistics Report (UN)
Social Indicator: Population Indicators | Women & Men | Population Growth & Distribution | - Europa World Year Book
political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Examples:
- Browsing: In the left sidebar menu, select > "South America..."
- Advanced Search, enter search term religion, from Country, select India.
- The Statistical Abstract of the United States - U.S. Population
statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States including the growth, distribution, and characteristics of the U.S. population.
Example: Select >Migration> Movers by Type of Move and Reason for Moving: 2009
IV. MORE - BY TOPIC
MORTALITY & HIV/AIDS
- The Population Reference Bureau
DataFinder > Browser by Topic > World Topics > HIV/AIDS
Document: Facing the HIV//AIDS Pandemic (PRB) - The World Factbook / CIA Factbook
Select a country (from the drop-down box) > Australia > People > See HIV categories. [TPIS: Use the "country comparison to the world: 92 link to see ranking] - Proquest Statistical DataSets
library.tamu.edu>Databases>LexisNexis Statistical DataSets> Accept the Java run > Health and Vital Statistics (US) > AIDS or death.. birth, life expectancy... [TIPS: choose the variables such as age, race, regions etc, export the report to PDF]
International Data (LexisNexis Statistical Datasets]
> Browser by Subject > International > Population Change >
[TIPS: HIV/AIDS can be found under several categories] - UNSD Statistical Databases
HIV/AIDS | Maternal mortality and infant mortality |
AGE & SEX COMPOSITION/ FERTILITY /CONTRACEPTION /BIRTH CONTROL
- The World Factbook / CIA Factbook
Select a country (from the drop-down box) > Australia > People > See Age Structure ..Sex Ratio..Infant Fertility ..Total Fertility Rate ... Birth/Death Rate.... To see countries comparison, select World > People > choose a category (infant fertility) > "Country Comparison" if available. - The Population Reference Bureau
Keywords: family planning, fertility and demography, birth control, women and fertility - UN Social Indicators
Fertility Rate | Maternal mortality and infant mortality | Population Growth & Distribution
OPTIONAL - RELATED SUBJECT GUIDES
Sociology | International Economic Development | International Affairs / Security | History | Anthropology |
Poverty & Inequality | Hispanic Resource | Political Science | Africana Studies | Latin American Politics in the US |
Sociology |
Subjects: Humanities and Social Science |
Chat With Us
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |


Loading...
