SOCI 206 - Global Social Trends
I. FINDING FACTS, FIGURES
CIA World Fact Book
Information about the background, geography, people, government, economy, communications,
transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
included among the 271 geographic entries is one for the "World," which incorporates data
and other information summarized where possible from the other 270 country listings.
Under "Select a Country or Location" > Cambodia
World Development Indicators (Worldbank)
Provides over 500 indicators of economic development in terms of people, the environment, the
economy and the world markets. Data spans from 1960 to present, covering 208 countries.
Select a country > Chad > next > Expenditure per student: primary, secondary, tertiary >
select all years: 1960-2009 > next > Show report
[Note: you may need to select a format such as Excel under Export if necessary]
Market Indicators & Forecasts
Key economic and market data and country data package provides a comprehensive database of
macroeconomic indicators and forecasts.
BBC World Fact Book
Provide guides to the history, politics, and economic background of various countries.
Use the drop-down list in the middle to select a country > Middle East > Qatar
Encyclopedia of Britannica
A well known and trusted source for general information on a variety of topics.
The FAO Statistical Database is an on-line multilingual database currently containing over 1 million
time-series records from over 210 countries and territories covering statistics on agriculture, nutrition,
fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use and population
Commanding Reports (PBS):
Provides summary information and data on the economic development of approximately 40
countries, from 1910 to present day.
Allows users to build statistical tables drawn from the body of economic and social data compiled
by the OECD’s 30 member countries. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme,
containing monographs and reports
II. FINDING ARTICLES from CORE DATABASES
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Contains full text for nearly
4000 scholarly publication. Index coverage back to 1965
Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Contains articles and book announcements from over 2000 scholarly and professional journals in History.
Contains articles published since 1964.
PAIS International (CSA)
Contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical
directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies,
microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and more.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses on various topics.
Anthropological Literature (RLG)
Covers anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
An excellent source for various topics. Use the fulltext@tamu link to get full text from library's databases.
Latin America Studies (UT)
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ASIAN STUDIES
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language
articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971
Covers literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world (including the other main Muslim
areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere). Records include citations in over 3,000
journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and
books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
China Data Online
Offers comprehensive statistical and economic information on China.
Japanese Studies, East Asian Libraries Cooperative WWW (Ohio State)
Korean Studies, East Asian Libraries Cooperative WWW (Ohio State)
IV. FINDING BOOKS
http://libcat.tamu.edu (TAMU library online catalog)
Worldcat - http://worldcat.org (books beyond TAMU)
Google Books - http://books.google.com
Center for Research Libraries Catalogs
V. FINDING ARCHIVAL NEWSPAPERS
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2005)
London Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
VI. USEFUL WEB RESOURCES
Academic Info: World History Gateway
World History Resources, as well as Country & Regional Histories, European History and more.
VII. RELATED SUBJECT / CLASS GUIDES
Sociology | International Economic Development | International Affairs / Security | History | Anthropology |
Poverty & Inequality | Hispanic Resource | Political Science | Africana Studies | Latin American Politics in the US |
Click on the link to see a database navigation demo (ppt)