This is the "Getting Started" page of the "RELS 489 - Political Islam and Jihad" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RELS 489 - Political Islam and Jihad   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Dec 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/RELS489 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Indexes

General Social Science/Humanities Databases

·      Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures : An excellent source for researching indigenous religion. Allows searching by specific culture. Particularly strong in Native American culture.

o  the Guide to Cross-Cultural Research Using the HRAF Archive, by Ember and Ember, is available on line.

·      JSTOR and Project Muse

Africana Studies

·         Black Studies Center

·         Black Thought and Culture

·         Black Women Writers

·         Race Relations Abstracts

 

Political Science/International Affairs

·         Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO).

·         PAIS (Public Affairs Information System) International

·         Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

·         Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Religion Databases

·      ARDA Association of Religion Data Archives (free online) : Demographic data about religious groups worldwide

·      ATLA Religion Database : Indexes of articles on all major world religions. Contains 1.5 million bibliographic records

·      Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebsco) : Indexes over 300 comparative religion, biblical studies, and philosophy journals.

·      Religious and Theological Abstracts : Provides abstracts for articles in religious studies and theological journals (no-full text). Covers world religions.

 

 

Islam Websites

Arabic Literature
http://www.library.cornell.edu/colldev/mideast/arablit.htm
Gateway site for Arabic Literature (classical through modern) sponsored by Cornell University Libraries.

Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic, and Religion
http://www.uga.edu/islam
A website set up and run by Dr. Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia that introduces a wide variety of topics including the Qur’an, theology, history, philosophy, art, spirituality, and contemporary issues and controversies regarding the Islamic world.

Islam Resources

An impressive list of Web links compiled by Columbia University concerning all aspects Islam

The Koran
An electronic version of The Holy Qur'an. Searchable.

Philosophia Islamica
http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/
Welcome to the Premier Islamic Philosophy resource on the Web. We are dedicated to the study of the philosophical output of the Muslim World. Islamic Philosophy is also sometimes referred to as Arabic Philosophy or Muslim Philosophy. This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy.

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Bales
Contact Info
111R Sterling C. Evans Library
(979) 845-1036
sbales@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip