This is the "Getting Started" page of the "PETE - Distance Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PETE - Distance Education   Tags: resourceguide  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/PETEDistEd Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

Get it for me

You'll occasionally discover articles, books, conference proceedings and more that Texas A&M Libraries does not own.  When you do, take advantage of this great service!!

Search for Books beyond Texas A&M Libraries using WorldCat

Find books you need from around the world in WorldCat -then use 'Get it for me' within the database, and the form is filled out for you, ready to make your request.  Try it!!

Citation Management Tools: EndNote & RefWorks

Class Guide for Distance Education Petroleum Engineering Students

Core Databases

The two key library databases for Petroleum Engineering will always be OnePetro and Petroleum Abstracts. The other database you might occasionally need would be GeoRef in cases where a topic involves a geologic formation such as the Austin Chalk, for example, or a sandstone, a limestone, etc.

OnePetro
NOTE: The process for Petroleum Engineering faculty and students to obtain any SPE papers, etc. is now pretty simple.  The database works by IP recognition, so the main thing will be to start from this subject guide or from the library homepage at: http://library.tamu.edu/  Just do a database search for  'OnePetro'.  Either entry point will take you to the default Basic search page.  The next step will be to switch to Advanced search, then deselect 'ALL' and select 'Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)'.  Running a search from here will bring up results as usual.  Simply open the desired PDFs from the results and you're set.  It will not be necessary to move anything to the cart at all for A&M affiliates.  That's it.  Our present subscription to OnePetro also includes documents from International Petroleum Technical Conference (IPTC) and Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) so these can be selected in the Advanced search as well. 

OnePetro is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.  From one place, you can search and obtain documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. 

Petroleum Abstracts
This database is often the primary research tool for petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from literature around the world on upstream petroleum operations -plus relevant patent information. Dates of coverage: 1964 - Present.  Subjects covered include: Drilling, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, Reservoir Engineering & Recovery Methods, and Well Logging from upstream petroleum operations. Also included are journal articles, conference proceedings, books, government reports, and patent filings.  NEW!! EBSCO interface with linking to the full-text articles.

GeoRef (Ei Village)
American Geological Institute's geoscience database contains over 2.2 million records from North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced from state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes.

For more tips and resources, see my Petroleum Engineering Subject Guide:
http://guides.library.tamu.edu/PetroleumEngineering

      
     

    Catalog Search (LibCat)

    Enter Search Terms:



      Help


    LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

    Science & Engineering Librarian, MS Geology

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip