This is the "Getting Started" page of the "PETE 335 - Technical Presentations I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PETE 335 - Technical Presentations I   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/PETE335 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

Get it for me

You'll occasionally discover articles, books, conference proceedings and more that Texas A&M Libraries does not own.  When you do, take advantage of this great service!!

Semester Project Help

Course Description from the TAMU catalog:

"Independent study of a petroleum engineering problem, the solution of which will be documented by a technical paper and an oral presentation at the departmental student paper contest held during the same academic year."

Key Semester Assignments for Project

1) Submit your topic for an independent study of a petroleum engineering problem
2) Literature review: Use library facilities to perform literature search.
      Identify at least three papers from SPE journals and three non-SPE journal papers on topic chosen.
      Use SPE style guide to properly format references
3) Oral presentation of proposal in student paper contest

The biggest library challenge in #2 above is to identify three non-SPE papers on the topic chosen. 

In a nutshell, the five best databases to search are GeoRef, Petroleum Abstracts, AAPG Datapages, Information Bridge, and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.  All of these databases are listed on the Subject Guide I have prepared for Petroleum students and faculty at:
http://guides.library.tamu.edu/PetroleumEngineering

GeoRef (Ei Village)

This is a useful database for topics that mention a geologic formation that is associated with a particular reservoir, such as formally named limestones, sandstones, shales, etc.  This is not a full-text database, but rather an indexing database.  However, it works with a special software that allows linking to full-text documents that the library may have in other electronic database, or in print sources, or access via Interlibrary Loan by providiing PDF documents through the Get it for me service.

Searching Tips: Search in the Abstract rather than the default ‘Terms anywhere’.  Put phases in quotes, use variations of your search terms, and take advantage of ‘wildcards’.  The wildcard (or truncation symbol) in GeoRef, and many other databases, is an asterisk (*).  Example: ‘optimiz*’ will find optimize, optimizing, optimization, etc.

Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database (EBSCO)

An alternative industry database to SPE Library that indexes some sources not found in SPE.  This database is often the primary research tool for petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from literature around the world on upstream petroleum operations -plus relevant patent information. Dates of coverage: 1964 - Present.  Subjects covered include: Drilling, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, Reservoir Engineering & Recovery Methods, and Well Logging from upstream petroleum operations. Also included are journal articles, conference proceedings, books, government reports, and patent filings. 

Searching Tips:
Search in the ‘Abstract’ rather than the default ‘whole document’.  Put phases in quotes, use variations of your search terms, separate single terms with ‘AND’ or ‘+’, and take advantage of ‘wildcards’.  The wildcard (or truncation symbol) in this database is a question mark (?).  Example: ‘optimiz?’ will find optimize, optimizing, optimization, etc.

AAPG Datapages

This is a petroleum geology database containing full-text ddocuments from all of the publications produced by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.

Searching Tips: Search in the ‘Abstract only’ field rather than ‘Full text only’ or ‘Title only’.  Put phases in quotes, use variations of your search terms, and take advantage of ‘wildcards’.  The wildcard (or truncation symbol) in this database is an asterisk (*).  Example: ‘optimiz*’ will find optimize, optimizing, optimization, etc.  You can also narrow your search results by specifying the year or year range.

Information Bridge

The Information Bridge provides the full-text research and development reports produced by the Department of Energy (DOE).  The Information Bridge consists of these full-text documents that are produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward.

Searching Tips: Search in ‘All Fields’ rather than ‘Full Text’.  Put phases in quotes, use variations of your search terms, and take advantage of ‘wildcards’.  The wildcard (or truncation symbol) in this database is an asterisk (*).  Example: ‘optimiz*’ will find optimize, optimizing, optimization, etc.  You can also narrow your search results by specifying the year or year range.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Every good literature review includes checking doctoral dissertations and master’s theses, so don’t neglect searching these.  This database is a comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations and master’s theses from across the country, as well as some from overseas.

Searching Tips: Switch to the Advanced Search and use the default ‘Citation and Abstract’ setting to enter your search terms.  Put phases in quotes, use variations of your search terms, and use ‘AND’ & ‘OR’ separators for multiple search terms as needed.

For the SPE journal papers...

OnePetro

NOTE: The process for Petroleum Engineering faculty and students to obtain any SPE papers, etc. is pretty simple.  There is no username or password at all.  The database works by IP recognition, so the main thing will be to start from this subject guide or from the library homepage at: http://library.tamu.edu/  Just do a database search for  'OnePetro'.  Either entry point will take you to the default Basic search page.  The next step will be to switch to Advanced search, then deselect 'ALL' and select 'Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)'.  Running a search from here will bring up results as usual.  Simply open the desired PDFs from the results and you're set.  It will not be necessary to move anything to the cart at all for A&M affiliates.  That's it.  

The search interface functions just like Google with results in relevance ranked order.  The search mechanism does not have many of the features of academic library databases, but it does allow phase searching, so put phases in quotes and be sure to use variations of search terms.  

Document Actions
      

    Science & Engineering Librarian, MS Geology

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip