Primary indexes for journal articles
- CAB Abstracts (OVID)Most comprehensive agricultural database
- Agricola1972 -
Focus on US, created by the National Agricultural Library - AGRIS (Ovid)Created by FAO, covers some information not in CAB Abstracts
- FAOSTAT
Comments (0)
Evaluating resources
Finding Articles
Information skills are important for research. Applying these skills can be considered a multi-step process:
- Identify what information is needed
- Identify the appropriate information (indexes to the literature will help)
- Locate the specific articles or items and get the information
- Evaluate the quality of the information
Library research skills will help you learn how to identify and locate materials.
Subject knowledge will help you evaluate relevant materials
The Library provides materials not freely available on the web, such as:
- peer reviewed research literature,
- current subscriptions,
- older materials not on the web,
- selected citation databases only available through subscriptions.
Search tips:
- Use key words to find appropriate descriptors/identifiers or subject headings,
- Use descriptors/identifiers or subject headings for more precise searching,
- Use scientific names,
- Use “and” to narrow a search (include both terms),
- Use “or” to broaden a search (include either term),
- Use word-building searching.
Resources
Writing helps
- ASHS Style Guide
- Citing sourcesWhat, why, and when to cite
- University Writing CenterAssistance with writing
- Academic Integrity and PlagarismScholarly work acknowledges the work of others. This tutorial will help you know how and when to cite.
Library Basics
Use the catlogs to find books, journals, or other items owned by the libraries.
- LibCatCatalog for TAMU libraries except MSL
- MSLcatalogMedical Sciences Library catalog
- Get it for meA service provided by the TAMU Libraries to provide .pdf copies of articles not available online.
Agriculture & Life Sciences Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Chat With Us
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |


Loading...
