Finding Articles
Use Indexes to the literature to find articles. It is usually much faster that using Google.
SFX or Findtext@@TAMU is a link that checks library subscriptions for electronic access. Look for it in the indexes.
If an article is NOT available electronically you can request a .pdf copy using Get it for me
Searching indexes/databases:
Use keywords, not sentences or phrases, and Boolean operators - AND, OR, NOT
If you do not find relevant articles be sure you are searching an appropriate index, try other related search terms.
- Agricola1970- curent
concentrates on American agriclture - CAB Abstracts (OVID)1910 -
Most comprehensive agricultural database - Biological & Agricultural Index1983 -
294 core agriculture and biology titles - Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA)1969 -
Food processing
Writing aids
Citations allow the reader to find the papers discussed by the author. You may need to find the instructions to authors for a particular journal to find the style used by that journal.
- Academic Integrity and PlagarismScholarly work acknowledges the work of others. This tutorial will help you know how and when to cite.
- Citation Style GuidesStyle guides for citing sources.
- EndNoteCitation management software, information page.
- RefWorksCitation manamgement softwere, information page.
- University Writing CenterAssistance writing papers
Job Hunting Helps
- Occupational Outlook HandbookGeneric descriptions of types of careers. Includes nature of the work, job growth projections, and average annual salary.
- USAJOBSFederal government jobs
- US Military Jobs and CareersMilitary Jobs and Career information for Army, Navy, Marines & Air Force
- US Department of LaborCareer information
- State of Texas Job Opportunities
- Mint GlobalCurrent & historical financial data, company, and industry information for over 40 million companies world-wide.
- Business Source CompleteArticles and company information. SWOT Analyses (Strenghts, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) are under company profiles.
- IBIS WorldIndustry market reports organized by NAICS Industry Codes. These codes classify similar businesses together.
- Business Database GuideUse this guide to find other business databases.
- Linkedin.comA social networking site for professionals. Members can obtain industry, company, and employment insight.
- Sperling's Best PlacesChoose "City Overview" for "Cost of Living" information. There are other sites that also allow comparisons.
- Business etiquette for dummiesElectronic book
- 100 Best Companies to Work ForCNN opinion of best places
Library Basics
Use the catlogs to find books, journals, or other items owned by the libraries.
- LibCatCatalog for TAMU libraries except MSL
- MSLcatalogMedical Sciences Library catalog
- Get it for meA service provided by the TAMU Libraries to provide .pdf copies of articles not available online.
Agriculture & Life Sciences Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Business Librarian |
Chat With Us
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |



Loading...
