This is the "Getting Started" page of the "HIST 405 - The Holocaust" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 405 - The Holocaust   Tags: history, holocaust, shoah foundation  

Professor Adam Seipp, Fall 2015
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/HIST405_fall2015 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME!

Welcome! The Libraries of Texas A&M University have 5 million printed volumes; over 38,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper subscriptions; over 60,000 electronic resources; and serve as a repository library for United States and State of Texas government information. Many of the electronic resources can be accessed from off-campus by Texas A&M University faculty, staff, and students who must login with their A&M login and password.

The Libraries consist of the Sterling C. Evans Library and Annex, the Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, the West Campus Library, the Policy Sciences and Economics Library, and the Medical Sciences Library. Material of greatest interest to history researchers will be located in the Evans Library and Annex, and the Cushing Memorial Library. 

Bibliographies of materials related to the Holocaust

A highly incomplete list!

*The best source for your topic may not be available online-- consider looking at books and other resources in the Library, or requesting them through Get It For Me*

      

    Other online resources related to the Holocaust

    The following links are to resources on the Internet with further information about Holocaust studies. Thanks to UMichigan for providing most of the resources on this list in their guide to the VHA.

    • Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority  
        
      Resources include: the Archive collection, consisting of thousands of video and film testimonies of survivors, some 62 million document pages, and more than 265,000 photographs; the Library, containing over 90,000 titles in numerous languages, accessible only on site and one of the most significant Holocaust library collections in the world; and the Hall of Names, which contains the "Pages of Testimony" with names and biographical data on 3.2 million victims so they will be remembered as individual human beings and not merely numerical statistics.
    • The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
      An incredibly detailed online resource that covers a vast range of topics on the history, documentation, research, and interpretation of the Holocaust and ongoing acts of genocide such as Darfur, Sudan. The USHMM is the US memorial to the millions of people murdered in the Holocaust. Online resources sections on history, the Museum, education, research, remembrance, conscience, membership, and numerous online exhibits. Examples of some of the USHMM electronic resources: the USHMM Library's online catalog, bibliographies, the Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies (geared to researchers, scholars, and university students, Speakers Bureau, Holocaust Encyclopedia, interactive public programs, photo essays, and numerous others.
    • Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
      A unit of Yale University's Sterling Memorial Library Manuscripts 
and Archives, this video archive contains more than 4,200 interviews with 
Holocaust survivors and other witnesses including rescuers, resistants, 
and liberators. Access is on site only, but the catalog of interviews and 
excerpts from selected testimonies are available online.
    • Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
      "Since the project began in 1981, Dr. Sid Bolkosky, Professor of 
History at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, has interviewed nearly 180 
survivors of the Nazi Holocaust of the Jews. These testimonies are 
recorded in over 200 audio and video taped oral interviews for over 650 
hours of recorded histories. Once transcribed, interviews are entered into 
the online catalog of the Mardigian Library. Additional interviews are 
being transcribed and made available."
    • Yizkor Books On-Line - The New York Public Library Dorot Jewish Division
      Yizkor books [English: memorial books] are very valuable research 
resources on the Holocaust as they contain the histories, biographies, 
statistics, and other documentary evidence--in many cases, the only 
comprehensive data and text on the Jewish communities of Europe destroyed 
by the Nazis. Yizkor books also often contain the Jewish history of these 
cities, towns and villages before, during, and after the Holocaust. This 
incredible digital, full-image/text resource contains "650 of the 700
 postwar yizkor books at The New York Public Library are accessible online 
in their entirety."
    • The Simon Wiesenthal Center
      A major Holocaust resource, "The Simon Wiesenthal Center is an 
international Jewish human rights organization dedicated to preserving the 
memory of the Holocaust by fostering tolerance and understanding through 
community involvement, educational outreach and social action. The Center 
confronts important contemporary issues including racism, antisemitism, 
terrorism and genocide and is accredited as an NGO both at the United 
Nations and UNESCO." Breaking news reports, full-text versions of SWC 
publications, digital archives (password protected), and others are 
available. Among related sites is the Museum of Tolerance that focuses on 
the history of the Holocaust as well as racism and prejudice in the 
USA.
    • Official Site of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum in Oswiecim, Poland
      The site dedicated to preserving the history of the most notorious 
of the Nazi death Camps, Auschwitz-Birkenau, "a symbol of terror, 
genocide, and the Holocaust." The web site covers the history of the 
Auschwitz Concentration Camp, including the establishment and expansion of 
the camp, total number of victims and their places of origin, and 
liberation; how the museum is structured; commemorations of the 60th 
anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz; and a searchable database, 
Death Books, containing the names, birth and death dates, birthplace, 
place of residence and religious affiliation. Web text and searching 
capabilities in Polish, English, and German.
    • The March of the Living
      The March of the Living is an international program that takes 
teenagers on guided visits to sites of concentration camps, ghettos, other 
killing sites, deportation areas, and memorials in Europe with the aim of 
educating the participants on what the lessons of the Holocaust are and to 
make sure that such horrific actions will never recur. Photos of past and 
recent marches are linked to the site.
    • We Remember Shoah! Shoah - Holocaust Links
      Links to over 90 Holocaust sites.
    • Jewish survivors of the Holocaust, oral history
      More than 1800 records made available through the British Library. From their description: "These recordings are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain. This collection contains interviews from two oral history projects, the Living Memory of the Jewish Community (C410) and the Holocaust Survivors' Centre Interviews (C830). - See more at: http://sounds.bl.uk/Oral-history/Jewish-Holocaust-survivors#sthash.QWxbTvYH.dpuf"

    Digital Scholarship Librarian

    Profile Image
    Sarah Potvin
    Contact Info
    (979) 458-2662
    Send Email

    Featured Author

    Profile Image
    Joel D. Kitchens, Associate Professor
    Contact Info
    Evans, Room 1.111S
    979.862.1051
    jdkitchens@library.tamu.edu
    Send Email
     

    Attribution

    This class LibGuide was adapted from a History LibGuide developed and maintained by A&M librarian Joel Kitchens and a Visual History Archive guide developed and maintained by the University of Michigan Library. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip