This is the "Getting Started" page of the "GEOL 311 -Principles of Geologic Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOL 311 -Principles of Geologic Writing   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/GEOL311 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

Get it for me

You'll occasionally discover articles, books, conference proceedings and more that Texas A&M Libraries does not own.  When you do, take advantage of this great service!!

 

Is a Journal Scholarly?

If you want to be sure that a particular journal is scholarly (or peer-reviewed / refereed), there are two ways to find out.  For any journal you might think of, you can always use the library database, Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.  Just type in the name of the journal and check the icons on the left in the results.  Or, you can simply run a 'journal title starts with' search in LibCat, the A&M Library catalog.  Once you've run your search for a journal this way, an intermediate page will come up with our holdings options for online, print, or 'Get it for me'.  On the upper right side of this page, you'll see a yellow box that includes whether the journal is scholarly, ect.

Conducting a Good Literature Review in Geology

Book Sources
Check for books on your topic in LibCat and WorldCat.  LibCat indexes the table of contents of books if your topic happens to be covered in a book chapter.

Search for your topic in GeoRef:
Your results will likely include papers and presentations from conferences, so bear in mind that a conference abstract is not the same thing as a journal article abstract.  Conference abstracts are published in the conference program and primarily serve to make attendees aware of the topic of a poster or oral presentation at the conference.  Although some topics presented in oral form at a conference may appear later in conference proceedings as full articles, often this is not the case.  So, the existence of a conference abstract does not necessarily mean that there is an accompanying paper.  However, sometimes the author may have chosen to write up the presentation and submit it to a journal, so be sure to search for it, but don't expect the title to be exactly the same as the presentation title.  Regardless, for desired items in GeoRef, just click on the 'Find Text at TAMU' button to get a copy of the article of the book, journal article, conference proceeding, etc. 

Other Library Databases
If your topic involves geophysics at all, be sure to search the database, AGU Digital Library.

If your topic crosses into the Petroleum Engineering realm, be sure to search the database, Petroleum Abstracts.

If your topic crosses into the environmenatal realm, be sure to search the database, Environmental Sciences + Pollution Management.

If your topic crosses into the meteorology realm, be sure to search the database, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts.

And if your topic crosses into the oceanography realm, be sure to search the database, Oceanic Abstracts.

Again, in using these databases, For desired items, just click on the 'Find Text at TAMU' button to get a copy of the article of the book, journal article, conference proceeding, etc. 

Don't Forget to Check Theses and Dissertations
-a sometimes forgotten step in literature reviews
Check ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text

One More Important Step!!
As you gather together your collection of articles, books, proceedings, etc., track down the items cited within them to find more important sources.  You'll see duplication, but sometimes you'll find new and sometimes very relevant sources that didn't turn up through other means.

      

    Science & Engineering Librarian, MS Geology

    University Writing Center

    • University Writing Center
      Need help in the writing of a paper? The Writing Center on the second floor of Evans Library can help! Check them out.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip