This is the "Getting Started" page of the "French" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

French   Tags: subjectguide  

Collections and resources in French studies at TAMU Libraries, including special collections at Cushing Memorial Library & Archives.
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/French Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

FRENCH STUDIES AT TAMU LIBRARIES

French studies at TAMU Libraries includes books, publications in many other formats, and manuscripts in the French language or about France and the French-speaking world. Publications in French are among the largest collections at TAMU Librares by language.

TAMU Libraries has a large special French-studies collection at its Cushing Memorial Library and Archives. Named the Robert L. Dawson collection for its donor, it contains some 15,000 volumes of French books and over 6,000 manuscripts. Most of the books are from the French long 18th-century, including the ancien regime, Enlightenment, French Revolution and Napoleonic periods. The manuscripts range more widely over some five centuries of French culture and history from the 16th century to about the 1940s. Also of interest may be the collector's, Robert L. Dawson's, personal papers, which are a separate archival collection at Cushing.

For books and other kinds of publications in French or about France and the Francophone world, search the library's online LibCat catalog. For the manuscripts in the Dawson collection, seach the Archon database at Cushing Memorial Library and Archives.

Associate Professor

Profile Image
David Z. Chroust
Contact Info
Cushing Memorial Library and Archives
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-5000
Tel.: 979.845.1951
Fax: 979.845.1441
e-mail: d-chroust@library.tamu.edu
Subjects:
Russian and East European Resources
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip