Federal Depository Library

Texas A&M Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1907.
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Accessing Government Information
Access to Government Documents
As a federal depository library, Evan's makes government documents available for the free use for faculty, staff, students, as well as the general public.
Some Documents published before 1976 are not in LibCat, but we may still have them, For assistance please contact the Ask Us Desk or Laura Sare.
The Library does not select all available government publications. Please use Get it for me if you need documents we don't have available here.
GPO Mobile App
Member Guide for 112th Congress
Browse for House and Senate members of Congress on your iPad, iPhone, Android, or Blackberry.
Federal Government Information
Catalogs
LibCat - Locate print and electronic Federal Documents available at the Evans Library.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO) - 1976 to current. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for federal publications and provides links to those available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publication (TAMU only) 1895-1976 - Use this database to search for documents issued prior to 1976 - then write down the SuDoc number and search for the document in the print collection on the 5th floor of Evans Annex, or the second floor of Evans in the microfiche area.
Hathi Trust Digital Library - Some documents have been digitized, search this website to see if your document is available online.
Search Engines
FDsys - FDsys is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government including the Congressional Record, Bills, Public Laws, the Federal Budget, regulations and more. Need help searching FDsys? Try this video, or contact me.
USA.gov - Official information and services from the U.S. government. You can search all government web sites, only federal sites, state government or tribal government sites.
Browse Topics - search for government agencies that cover the topic you are interested in, such as history, environment, etc.
Databases
ProQuest Congressional - Full-text of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, hearings, congressional papers, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Get full text PDFs of all congressional hearings, the Serial Set, CRS Reports, the Statutes at Large and the Congressional Record up to 1997.
LexisNexis Academic: Provides full text of Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, federal case law, legal information, and more.
ProQuest Government Periodicals: full text of government journals.
ProQuest Statistical Insights: access to government and organizational statistics.
Digital National Security Archive (TAMU Only) - The database includes the most important declassified documents regarding U.S. policy.
Military & Government Collection (TAMU Only) - Provides access to current news and journals pertaining to all branches of the military.
Campus Research (TAMU Only) - Includes United States Code Annotated, federal cases, the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register.
CQ Electronic Library (TAMU Only) - the CQ Electronic Library is a resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the Encyclopedia of American Government, Supreme Court Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, Public Affairs and Congress Collections.
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Library (TAMU Only) - access to federal agency legal publications
GPO Metalib - MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
U.S. Serial Set
Search for historic primary resources of Reports and Documents of the U.S. House and Senate. Includes the American State Papers. 1789-to current
ProQuest (TAMU Only) - version up to 2010 (use Readex version for 1970-1979)
Readex (TAMU Only) - version up to 1980
FDsys 1995-current
100 Core Documents
Helpful Federal Sites
Fedstats- U.S. Government Statistics
Historic U.S. Documents: American Memory Project
Thomas: Legislative Information on the Web
Other Sites
C-Span - Provides public access to the political process.
Government Information Librarian |
Chat With Us
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |
Government Help for Students
Students.gov is a gateway to government information just for college students that includes sites that:
- Apply online for financial aid and scholarships
- Find summer internships or jobs
- Learn about careers that interest you
- Find rewarding volunteer opportunities
College.gov Information on federal student financial aid.


Loading...
