This is the "Getting Started" page of the "FIVS 482 - Class Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FIVS 482 - Class Guide  

Includes course information for FIVS 842 - Occupational and Professional Development.
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/FIVS482 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Forensic Science Reports

The Texas Bar Journal has published several excellent articles discussing the use of forensic science in legal matters:

The State of Forensic Science

Bad Science, Bad Law

Erasing the CSI Effect

Read more about legislation that seeks to change the way forensic evidence is used in criminal cases.

 

Miscellaneous

The TEEX Forensic Science Academy offers certificate program options.

The Pew Center has published an excellent piece on The Rising Cost of Not Going to College.

 

Step 1: Explore Your Career Options

The job hunt can start by exploring your options.  Whether or not you've already identified your dream job, learn more about your options for landing that job by exploring the Occupational Outlook Handbook.  This resource describes general career types, the type of work you would be doing in the position, job growth projections, and reports average annual salaries.  The handbook is published by the U.S. government and is freely available (even after you leave TAMU).

The U.S. Department of Labor also has a variety of information on career options and industry trends.

 

Step 2: Locate Industries That Include Your Career

Once you've decided on the type of career that's right for you, you'll want to think about the types of industries that offer jobs within your chosen field.  Several library subscription databases are great resources to use to explore industries.  Unfortunately, these may not be available to you once you leave TAMU, so take advantage of them now!

Business Source Complete - includes articles and excellent company profiles, including a Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities & Threats (SWOT) analysis of the company

IBIS World - provides industry market reports.  These are organized by broad North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes - the same codes used by the Department of Labor for many of their industry-specific reports.

 

Step 3: Pinpoint Potential Employers (Companies) Within The Industry

Once you've identified the type of career and industry that's right for you (and familiarized yourself with the types of job titles you might see in this career field), you can start investigating the companies that are included within the industry.  Your goal is to make a list of prospective employers that you can use to help make your job search more effective.  You can learn more about a specific company than is available through a quick Google search or a fast browse through the company's website by using a subscription database from the library:

Hoover's Premium - provides company-specific and industry information, as well as parent, subsidiary, branch, and competitor information.

You can also use more informal free sources such as LinkedIn to investigate a prospective employer.  LinkedIn is a social networking site for professionals, and members can obtain industry, company, and employment insight.  If working for a great employer is important to you, consider exploring CNN's list of the 100 Best Companies to Work For.

When it's time to start looking for job announcements, the following sites are freely available (even after you leave TAMU):

For government or military employment, try searching the USAJOBS website and exploring the U.S. Military Jobs & Careers site.

For employment opportunities with the state of Texas, check out the Texas Workforce Commission.

The Job and Career Accelorator helps you explore occupations, find jobs/the job search, provides sample letters and resumes, and also has a searchable jobs database. It is brought to you by the A&M Libraries, so use it while you are a student.

 

Step 4: Apply

Before you apply for a position, you'll want to do your homework.  Make sure to consider other non-employer factors that are important to you when investigating your potential employer.  Factors such as location can make a big impact!  Sperling's Best Places provides free information about U.S. cities, such as cost of living, transportation, climate, and the economy.

Creating a quality application  requires work.  Consider using the job applications and assignments section of this guide to help.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Bankston
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip