This guide will help you find information related to forensic & investigative sciences for FIVS 415/435. This page contains links to databases that will help you locate scholarly (journal) articles and legislation related to the scientific, criminal justice, & legal components of FIVS. Use the tabs above to locate books, encyclopedias, & theses and websites & other information sources.
If you need help, feel free to contact your agriculture and life sciences librarian.
Science & Criminal Justice Information
The Web of Science database provides access to multidisciplinary articles, proceedings, and other information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. The database has a number of useful search features, including citation mapping.
The PubMed database provides citations for literature in biomedical, health, life, chemical, and behavioral sciences. It provides links to full text when available.
CAB Abstracts offers a combination of scholarly articles, book chapters, and proceedings in a wide variety of agriculture disciplines. Includes research from international and U.S. sources from 1910 to the present.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) resource allows you to search for information resources on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
For journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications related to the environment, consider searching in Environmental Science and Pollution Management.
Anatomy.tv provides interactive models of human anatomy.
Criminal Justice Information
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes scholarly content for more than 580 journals in criminal justice, law, and procedure, corrections, police, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, substance abuse, and criminology.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is managed by the U.S. Office of Justice Programs and provides justice and drug-related information to support crime, victim assistance, and public safety research, policy, and program development nationwide.
SAGE Criminology provides access to criminal justice, criminology, and corrections articles.
The American Academy of Forensic Sciences Reference Library includes access to AAFS conference proceedings.
Need federal legislative information? Try searching Congress.gov, the Library of Congress' legislative information database.
Need a government publication? Check FDSys, the U.S. Government Printing Office's searchable government publications repository.
Chapter 38 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure discusses evidence in criminal actions.
Looking for a congressional publication that discusses a topic addressed by Congress? Search Congressional Publications.
Need information about a specific trial or case? You can search for newspaper articles.
What if we don't have instant full text access?
Have the full text for an article or other material that we don't have access to sent to an A&M library location for pickup or emailed to you using Get It For Me.
Using Google Scholar to Find Articles
Go to Scholar Settings and select "Library Links." Enter "Texas A&M University" in the search box, select both "Texas A&M University - Full text@TAMU" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search," and save changes. This lets Google Scholar link its search results directly to the full text subscription if it is available (A&M log-in may be required).