This is the "Getting Started" page of the "FILM 481 - Sex, Gender and Auteurism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FILM 481 - Sex, Gender and Auteurism   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Feb 3, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/FILM481 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Film 481 - Sex, Gender and Auteurism

====================================
BOOKS, DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIA AND FILMS
====================================

BIOGRAPHY
   
DEFINITIONS


FILMS BY INDIVIDUAL DIRECTOR
(Libcat search: director name and videorecording)

INTERVIEWS WITH INDIVIDUAL DIRECTORS
Sometimes a movie comes with interviews with its director / filmmaker as a bonus feature. For example, the title Ansiktet in libcat (see it in Long View) contains a note that says "Bonus features include: Brief 1967 interview with director Ingmar Berman abou the film; rare English-language audio interview with Bergman conducted by filmmakers Olivier Assayas and Stig Bjo╠łrkman in 1990.  To locate similar interviews in libcat, use this search syntax - name AND interview AND videorecording


BOOKS ON INDIVIDUAL DIRECTORS
(Libcat search: director name)

E-BOOKS ON INDIVIDUAL DIRECTORS 

BOOKS ON SEX, GENDER AND AUTEURISM (Libcat catalog)

=========================
JOURNAL ARTICLES
- DATABASES

=========================
Finding Critical / Scholarly Reviews

  • International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (Chadwyck Healey)  1864-present
    Scholarly and popular journals on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television and more   E.g. Derek Jarman and technique
              E.g. Derek Jarman and approach
  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Date varies.
    Scholarly and popular journals with selected full text covering a comprehensive range of subjects   E.g. Ingmar Bergman AND individual   [in TX]
  • Film Indexes Online (Chadwyck Healey)  1893 - present
    Scholarly and popular. Searching across 3 key film research resources: "International Index to Film Periodicals - Full Text" [1972-present]; "Film Index International" [1900-present]; "AFI Catalog" [1893-1971]
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson) Date varies.
    E.g.  derek jarman [Keyword] and "jarman's film" [Text]
  • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)  1926-present
  • Art Full Text (Wilson) (Index from 1984, abstract 1994, & fulltext 1997) 
    Articles from periodicals published throughout the world with selected full-text coverage, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins

==============================
HISTORICAL NEWSPAPER OR ARCHIVES
==============================

=========================
WOMEN'S AND GENDER STUDIES
 

=========================

=================================
ESSAYS, TRADE JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS
=================================

  • Essay & General Literature Index  (1985-present) History, psychology, religion, political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Previous 10 years to present   [tamu access only]
    covering thousands of national and regional periodicals, trade journals and newspapers. Search path: News > Source >Browse Sources>News [yellow folder] > select  Book, movie, music, play and video reviews> click OK-Continue button > in Search Term box, type in director name.

============================
CITING MEDIA or OTHER SOURCES
============================

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip