This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Film / WGST 343 - Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film / WGST 343 - Library Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 27, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/FILM343 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Research on Sex, Gender & Cinema

  I.  FINDING FILMS (in Library Collections)

  • A good starting point is use the library's website's media searching > library.tamu.edu > Media >

    By Keyword 
         -  Ingmar Bergman
    By Title
                - Bad Education

    More titles from the syllubas:

    Bad Education (Pedro Almodóvar, Spain 2004) GM   / Beau Travail (Claire Denis, France 1999) GM   / Les Biches (Claude Chabrol, France 1968) L  / The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant (R.W. Fassbinder, West Germany 1972) L  / The Fourth Man (Paul Verhoeven, The Netherlands 1983) GM  / Fox and His Friends (R.W. Fassbinder, West Germany 1975) GM  / The Garden (Derek Jarman, UK 1991) GM  / The Hour of the Wolf (Ingmar Bergman, Sweden 1968) GM  / Love is the Devil: A Study for a Portrait of Francis Bacon (John Maybury, UK 1998) GM / Madchen in Uniform (Géza Radványi, West Germany 1958) [Remake of 1932 film] L  / Manji (Yasuzo Masumura, Japan 1964) L  / Mine vaganti [Loose Cannons] (Ferzan Ospetek, Italy 2010) GM  / Murderous Maids (Jean-Pierre Denis, France 2000) L  / Purple Sea (Donatella Maiorca, Italy 2009) L  / Querelle (R.W. Fassbinder, West Germany/France 1982) GM  /  Raging Sun, Raging Sky (Julián Hernández, Mexico 2009) GM  / The Silence (Ingmar Bergman, Sweden 1963) L  / Teorema (Pier Paolo Pasolini, Italy 1968) GM   / A Time to Leave (Francois Ozon, France 2005) GM  /Tropical Malady (Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Thailand 2004) GM  /Unveiled (Angelina Maccarone, Germany 2005) L  / Valerie and Her Week of Wonders (Jaromil Jires, Czechoslovakia 1970) L  / Virgin Machine (Monika Treut, West Germany/US 1988) L  / A Year without Love (Anahí Berneri, Argentina 2005) GM
II.  FINDING BOOKS, EBOOKS ON FILM TOPICS
III.  FINDING HISTORICAL FILM REVIEWS OR RECEPTION MATERIALS
IV.   FINDING CRITICAL / SCHOLARLY REVIEWS - JOURNAL ARTICLES

V.   FINDING FILM CREDITS AND PRODUCTION INFO
  • Internet Movie Database
    contains film production information including actor, director, genre as well as film plots, credits, reviews, box office, promotional posters and trailers
  • American Film Institute Catalog
    [AFI Catalog] 1893-1974 
    entries on 32,000+ American feature-length and 17,000 short films
  • FIAF Treasures from Film Archives (Chadwyck Healey)
    credits and holdings information for more than 407,000 silent-era films (features, short films, actualities and fictional works) in the collections of the major international film archives. Although most records in this database describe films made before 1929, the database includes a few silent works produced during the sound era.
VI.  FINDING BOOKS, DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIA AND FILMS
VII.   GENDER STUDIES

VIII.  ESSAYS, TRADE JOURNALS & NEWSPAPERS

  • Essay & General Literature Index  (1985-present) History, psychology, religion, political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Previous 10 years to present   [tamu access only]
    covering thousands of national and regional periodicals, trade journals and newspapers. Search path: News > Source >Browse Sources>News [yellow folder] > select  Book, movie, music, play and video reviews> click OK-Continue button > in Search Term box, type in director name.
============================
CITING MEDIA or OTHER SOURCES

============================

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 

Search TIPs


(1) Film history
- libcat.tamu.edu is a good starting point to find books on film history. Keywords like film history and introduction, german? cinema and 1920s should work fine. Another good search term to use is - motion pictures. Combine it with your topics. For example, motion pictures and war. When viewing a libcat record, change the default "Brief View" to "Long View" to view Table of Content or other details. Worldcat.org is another good source for books (try - soviet montage). Also see useful websites for a list of films by decade and a good overview of Hollywood as History in UH's digital history site.

(2)
American history of the 20th century - Libcat and Worldcat are good search tools for this topic as well. An excellent database is America: History and Life; (3) Thesis for the paper (see your course notes). As for coming up with a thesis, one approach is to browse though what have been published on a given topic. International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text may be a good starting point (try - hollywood and race). Another good database is Periodicals Archive Online

(3) Reviews, older reviews, critical analysis
- Film reviews published in magazine or newspaper are usually shorter in length. Their purpose is to inform but not to provide in-depth analysis. Older reviews may be found from Readers Guide Retrospective, ProQuest Historical Newspapers , ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2006), Variety Film Reviews (in print) or other archival sources. The contemporary reviews can be found by using Film Literature Index Online, MLA, Film Indexes Online or other databases. The critical or scholarly reviews may describe, analyze or critique a film in a historical, political, social, psychological, philosophical or other aspects. The easiest way to filter out those non-scholarly materials from your search results is to use the "Scholarly/Peer-reviewed" filter. However, not all databases offer this feature.

(4) Quality sources - Works by professors, researchers, historians or published by a respected publishing house like Random House or university press would be considered to be a quality source. Some databases like Worldcat and EBSCO databases, for example, will display the authors who have published most in a given topic along with the search results. Google Scholar offers a "Cited By" feature to show the impact of a particular work, or you could use an all-scholarly database like Arts and Humanities Citation Index (try - Hollywood and war).

(5)
Full text - Click on the fulltext@tamu link to get full text online. If not available online, you may be able to get a photocopy from the printed journals in the library. If not available in print, you could use Get It for Me to obtain it from another institution.

(6) Ebooks - You could also use the Library's e-books search to find books on a desired topic. The same search tool will also allow you to perform multiple databases searching for journal articles. To do that, select one of the categories relevant to Film History - Performing Arts, History, or Language/Literature.

 

Media Collection Search

Enter Search Terms:

Media Type:

 

Chat With Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip