This is the "Getting Started" page of the "FILM 301 500 - Introduction to Film History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FILM 301 500 - Introduction to Film History   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/FILM301 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview & Search Tips


(1) Film history
- libcat.tamu.edu is a good starting point to find books on film history. Keywords like film history and introduction, german? cinema and 1920s should work fine. Another good search term to use is - motion pictures. Combine it with your topics. For example, motion pictures and war. When viewing a libcat record, change the default "Brief View" to "Long View" to view Table of Content or other details. Worldcat.org is another good source for books (try - soviet montage). Also see useful websites for a list of films by decade and a good overview of Hollywood as History in UH's digital history site.

(2)
American history of the 20th century - Libcat and Worldcat are good search tools for this topic as well. An excellent database is America: History and Life; (3) Thesis for the paper (see your course notes). As for coming up with a thesis, one approach is to browse though what have been published on a given topic. International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text may be a good starting point (try - hollywood and race). Another good database is Periodicals Archive Online

(3) Reviews, older reviews, critical analysis
- Film reviews published in magazine or newspaper are usually shorter in length. Their purpose is to inform but not to provide in-depth analysis. Older reviews may be found from Readers Guide Retrospective, ProQuest Historical Newspapers , ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2006), Variety Film Reviews (in print) or other archival sources. The contemporary reviews can be found by using Film Literature Index Online, MLA, Film Indexes Online or other databases. The critical or scholarly reviews may describe, analyze or critique a film in a historical, political, social, psychological, philosophical or other aspects. The easiest way to filter out those non-scholarly materials from your search results is to use the "Scholarly/Peer-reviewed" filter. However, not all databases offer this feature.

(4) Quality sources - Works by professors, researchers, historians or published by a respected publishing house like Random House or university press would be considered to be a quality source. Some databases like Worldcat and EBSCO databases, for example, will display the authors who have published most in a given topic along with the search results. Google Scholar offers a "Cited By" feature to show the impact of a particular work, or you could use an all-scholarly database like Arts and Humanities Citation Index (try - Hollywood and war).

(5)
Full text - Click on the fulltext@tamu link to get full text online. If not available online, you may be able to get a photocopy from the printed journals in the library. If not available in print, you could use Get It for Me to obtain it from another institution.

(6) Ebooks - You could also use the Library's e-books search to find books on a desired topic. The same search tool will also allow you to perform multiple databases searching for journal articles. To do that, select one of the categories relevant to Film History - Performing Arts, History, or Language/Literature.

 

Film History Search


PRIMARY SOURCE RESEARCH
Find primary sources that were created at the time under study. In film studies, a primary source could be the film itself or other materials representing the attitudes of the era including promotional advertisements, posters, pamphlets, images, manuscripts, poll of cinematographers, articles from contemporaneous magazines, newspapers as well as interviews with directors, screenwriters or movie personnel and the like.

I. Finding Films

II. Finding Historical Film Reviews

     Reprints of Original Reviews

  • Variety Film Reviews (1907-1984)  Reference, 1st floor, Evans Library  Call# PN1993 .V36
  • The New York Times Encyclopedia of Film  Reference, 1st floor, Evans Library Call# PN1993 .N465 1984

III. Finding Film Credits and Production Info

  • American Film Institute Catalog [AFI Catalog]   
    entries on 32,000+ American feature-length and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-1974
  • Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
    contains film production information including actor, director, genre as well as film plots, credits, reviews, box office, promotional posters and trailers
  • FIAF Treasures from Film Archives (Chadwyck Healey)   
    credits and holdings information for more than 407,000 silent-era films (features, short films, actualities and fictional works) in the collections of the major international film archives. Although most records in this database describe films made before 1929, the database includes a few silent works produced during the sound era.

    ***********************

SECONDARY SOURCE RESEARCH

Secondary sources describe, analyze or critique primary sources. In film studies, commentaries, reviews, biographies, encyclopedias and journal articles are some of the examples of secondary source.

I. Finding Critical / Scholarly Reviews

II. History/Literature/Arts/Sociology/Political Science

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO) 
  • 19th Century Masterfile
    Over 60 subject indexes to Periodicals, Newspapers, Books, US Congressional Record, US and UK Government Documents and more   
  • Art Full Text (Wilson) (Index from 1984, abstract 1994, & fulltext 1997) 
    Articles from periodicals published throughout the world with selected full-text coverage, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
  • PCI (Periodicals Contents Index) (1770- )
    Indexes citations from critical articles as well as book and performance review in humanities and social sciences journals
  • Essay & General Literature Index  (1985-present)
    History, psychology, religion, political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature
  • LexisNexis Academic  Previous 10 years to present  
    covering thousands of national and regional periodicals, trade journals and newspapers. Search path:
    News > Source > Book, movie, music, play and video reviews

     ***************

USEFUL WEBSITES

    

***************

MLA CITATION  / HOW TO CITE AUDIOVISUAL MATERIALS

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip