This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Equity Investment Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Equity Investment Research   Tags: business, finance, investments, resourceguide  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/EquityInvestmentResearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let Us Know How We're Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Economy – What is the overall health of the global economy?

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
    EIU provides country profiles and reports for 200+ countries. Also allows access to key economic and market data for the countries of your choice. Country Data package provides a comprehensive database of macroeconomic indicators and forecasts. Essential background information if you're considering foreign equity investments.
  • Conference Board
    Insight and commentary on key economic indicators. Background information.
  • Federal Reserve
    Updates on latest Fed actions. Incredibly useful domestic statistics.
  • Global Economic Calendar
    Calendar of the latest economic events and indicators that may have an impact on the foreign exchange market.
  • Factiva
    Offers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information from over 14,000 authoritative sources from more than 150 countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press. Factiva is the only database in the library that offers Dow Jones and Reuters news wire stories.

Markets - What is the overall market direction?

Sector & Industry Research – What’s hot and what’s not?

Identify industry leaders and the current political, economic, social, and technological changes.

  • Passport GMID  Icon
    Cannot be beat for global industry and market data and research.
  • IBISworld
    Comprehensive industry reports including a look at the related industries, those that drive and pull demand for the industry in question; industries you should be interested in as their health will affect the industry within which you are considering investing. Also includes detailed sections on the Industry Outlook and Competitive Landscape.
  • Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
    Provides access to the S&P Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, Stock Reports, Quarterly & Annual Earnings Estimates, Bond Guides and Dividend Records, Corporate Records for publicly held US, Canadian and international companies and directory information for public and private international companies through the Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and other S&P publications.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Mutual fund and stock database updated continously that offers information on approximately 16,000 mutual funds and another 6,000 stocks. Includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and other interactive features.
  • ThomsonONE: Investext
    Full-text company and industry financial reports produced by 700 of the leading international investment banks, brokerage firms and trade associations. Reports contain information such as industry trends, market share, and emerging technologies. Coverage is current for the last 5 years and updated monthly. (Note: This section of Thomson One can be found under the "Screening & Analysis" dropdown menu; choose "Research". Thomson One works best in Internet Explorer.)

Company Research – Who’s hot and who’s not?

Understand how a company is performing fundamentally (financials) and technically (stock price)
    • Fundamental Analysis tells you what to buy
      • Analyze financial statements – income, balance sheet, and cash flow
      • Analyze key ratios and bechmarks - EPS and sales growth, cash flow, management, products and services  
    • Technical Analysis tells you when to buy
      • Price, volume, support, resistance, owership, etc.

  • Mergent Online  Icon
    An amazing database for company research. Background, financials, etc. Also build custom comparative reports to view one company's financials in light of its closest competitors (which you can define).
  • ValueLine Investment Surveys Plus  Icon
    They've trademarked "The Most Trusted Name in Investment Research" and are indeed well-known as a premier source for equity and company information and ratings.
  • Standard & Poor’s netAdvantage
    Provides access to the S&P Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, Stock Reports, Quarterly & Annual Earnings Estimates, Bond Guides and Dividend Records, Corporate Records for publicly held US, Canadian and international companies and directory information for public and private international companies through the Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and other S&P publications.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Mutual fund and stock database updated continously that offers information on approximately 16,000 mutual funds and another 6,000 stocks. Includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and other interactive features.
  • Big Charts
    Interactive charts for technical analysis
  • Hoover's Premium
    As well as financials and a nice chart feature for comparing financials and ratios in the 'Competitive Landscape', this database also provides a nice company history and also contains industry profiles.
  • Orbis  Icon
    In-depth company information on international (and some large, private) companies. Note: Also an excellent source for a variety of international industry reports.

News Research – what is the latest company news?

 Earnings announcements, stock splits, mergers, acquisitions, analyst reports, upgrades, downgrades, etc.

  • Factiva  Icon
    THE database for business news with the ability to filter your search in a myriad of ways. Also includes a charting features where you can view substantial price changes in light of the news stories of that date...
  • Thomson One  Icon
    Top News on the homepage for a global context. Best possible source for Corporate Events, Latest Deals (M&A, Equity, Bonds, Loans) and Latest Research Reports.
  • Hoover's Premium  Icon
    News and Social section highlights latest news, Management Changes, Event Timeline for the company and, uniquely, Latest Tweets related to the company in question.
  • The Whisper Report
    Provides estimated earnings
  • Whisper Number.com
    Provides estimated earnings

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Sullivan
Contact Info
Phone: (979) 845-2902
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip