This is the "Resources for ESSM 305" page of the "ESSM 305 - Watershed Analysis & Planning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESSM 305 - Watershed Analysis & Planning  

This class guide includes resources to help students in ESSM 305.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/ESSM305 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resources for ESSM 305 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected E-books

Cover Art
Aquifers
ISBN: 9781619420915
Presents current research in the study of the types, impacts and conservation of aquifers.

Cover Art
Ecological Economics of Sustainable Watershed Management
ISBN: 9781849505079
Delves into the complex scientific underpinning of sustainable watershed analysis and management.

Cover Art
GIS for Water Resource and Watershed Management
ISBN: 0203217918
Explains the fundamentals of GIS for watershed management, demonstrates new approaches, techniques and methods, and provides examples of real applications.

Cover Art
Monitoring Water Quality
ISBN: 9780444593955
Offers in-depth coverage of water quality issues (natural and human-related), monitoring of contaminants, and remediation of water contamination.


Cover Art
Stream and Watershed Restoration
ISBN: 9781118406632
Provides a systematic approach to restoration programs suitable for graduate and upper-level undergraduate courses on stream or watershed restoration or as a reference for restoration practitioners and fisheries scientists.

Cover Art
Water Resources Planning and Management
ISBN: 9780521762588
Provides a comprehensive reference to water resource issues, bringing together multiple disciplines to understand and help resolve problems of water quality and scarcity from a global perspective. Its case studies and 'foundation' chapters cover water resources, hydrology, governance and public policy, law, economics, geography and environmental studies.

 

E-Books of Particular Interest

Cover Art
Water Security: The Water-Food-Energy-Climate Nexus - World Economic Forum Staff
ISBN: 9781610910262
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
The World Economic Forum assembled the world's foremost group of public, private, non-governmental-organization and academic experts to examine the water crisis issue from all perspectives. The result of their work is this forecast. The commentary is supported by analysis from leading academics of how the world economy will be affected if world leaders cannot agree on solutions.

Cover Art
Designing for Hope - Dominique Hes; Chrisna du Plessis
ISBN: 9781138800618
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
A forward looking book on sustainable design that describes problems and then, by providing a different way to conceptualise design and development, leads on to examples of regenerative solutions. Its aim is to move the discussion away from doing less, but still detracting from our ecological capital, to positively contributing and adding to this capital.

Successful Group Projects

Working as part of a group can be both challenging and rewarding.  Here are just a few resources that can help you collaborate:

  • RefWorks to Collaboratively Share Resources Found
    You can use RefWorks to collaborate with other group members and share the documents and resources you'll be using for your group project. RefWorks will also create citations and references for you.
  • Group Project Survival Guide
    This tutorial will help you have a successful group project. It covers what makes a team effective, as well as how to manage conflict and address problematic behavior.
  • The Discipline of Teams
    This ebook has a number of practical exercises that you can use to help move your group project forward. For example, exercises 1.5 and 4.5 could be especially helpful when you begin to work together.
  • Group Project Tips
    TAMU's University Writing Center has developed a helpful list of recommendations for working on group projects that involve a written output.
  • Citing Sources with APA
    Double check that your references from RefWorks are complete using this style guide.

Texas Water Planning Data & Documents

The following web resources may be useful when exploring Texas water planning issues.

Region-Specific Water Information Sources

For your first group project, you will need to explore resources related to region-specific water issues.  The following sites may provide valuable information.

 

Locating Scholarly Articles

When looking for a scholarly or journal article, a database is your go-to source.  The Libraries subscribes to many databases, and each database contains a collection of information sources on specific topics.

Looking for....

Selected E-Journals

  • Texas Water Journal
    Provides peer-reviewed publications on Texas water issues.
  • Journal of Hydrology
    Publishes original research papers and comprehensive reviews in all the subfields of the hydrological sciences including water based management and policy issues that impact on economics and society.
  • Journal of the American Water Resources Association (JAWRA)
    Articles present ideas derived from multiple disciplines woven together to give insight into a critical water issue, or are based primarily upon a single discipline with important applications to other disciplines.
  • Journal of Water Resources Planning & Management
    reports on all phases of planning and management of water resources. The papers examine social, economic, environmental, and administrative concerns relating to the use and conservation of water.
  • Water Research
    Examines all aspects of the science and technology of water quality and its management worldwide.

U.S. Water Information on the Web

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Carolyn Jackson
Contact Info
Medical Science Library 171
Send Email

Using Google Scholar to Find Articles

Go to Scholar Settings and select "Library Links."  Enter "Texas A&M University" in the search box, select both "Texas A&M University - Full text@TAMU" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search," and save changes.  This lets Google Scholar link its search results directly to the full text subscription if it is available (A&M log-in may be required).



 

Finding Print & E-Books at TAMU

Print and e-books on water resources and watershed management available at TAMU can be found by searching the two library catalogs: LibCat and the MSL Catalog.

 

What if we don't have instant full text access?

Have the full text for an article or other material that we don't have access to sent to an A&M library location for pickup or emailed to you using Get It For Me.

 

One-on-One Help

Consider the TAMU Writing Center for information on how to build your writing skills.

 

Can't find what you're after?

Contact your agriculture and life sciences librarian for help, or:

Suggest a Purchase - request that we buy an electronic or print resource not currently available at TAMU.  We'll buy it and you'll be the first to get it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip