This guide will help you find information related to ecosystem science and management. This page contains links to databases that will help you locate scholarly (journal) articles. Use the tabs above to locate books, encyclopedias, & theses and websites & other information sources.
If you need help, feel free to contact your agriculture and life sciences librarian.
Locating Scholarly Articles
CAB Abstracts offers a combination of scholarly articles, book chapters, and proceedings in a wide variety of agriculture and environmental disciplines. Includes research from international and U.S. sources from 1910 to the present.
For journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications related to the environment, consider searching in Environmental Science and Pollution Management.
TreeSearch - provides access to publications created by research and development scientists in the U.S. Forest Service, as well as other Forest Service publications.
Global Rangelands - includes journal articles, reports, and web and multimedia resources about the world's rangelands.
The Web of Science database provides access to past and present multidisciplinary articles, proceedings, and other information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. The database has a number of useful search features, including citation mapping.
The AGRICOLA database provides access to the collections of the U.S. National Agricultural Library. It includes materials in all formats going back to the 15th century. Predominately a citation database (in that it does not include access to a large amount of full text content), AGRICOLA has a U.S. focus.
The PubMed database provides citations for literature in biomedical, health, life, chemical, and behavioral sciences, including plant pathology. It provides links to full text when available.
Zoological Record is a primary taxonomic reference source. It contains scholarly information dating back to 1864 on animal biology, biodiversity, taxonomy, environmental and veterinary sciences.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) resource allows you to search databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
The GeoRef database provides access to scholarly articles, books, maps, government reports, and conference papers covering the geosciences, including hydrology, environmental geology, minerology, and more.
GreenFILE provides scholarly information on how humans impact the environment, covering the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Using Google Scholar to Find Articles
Go to Scholar Settings and select "Library Links." Enter "Texas A&M University" in the search box, select both "Texas A&M University - Full text@TAMU" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search," and save changes. This lets Google Scholar link its search results directly to the full text subscription if it is available (A&M log-in may be required).