This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENTO 481 - Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENTO 481 - Seminar   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Jul 29, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/ENTO481 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using EndNote to Create Citations

For more on how to use EndNote, visit our Guide to EndNote

You can also watch a brief overview of how to use EndNote for Windows or Mac.

 

Creating Citations without EndNote

The Journal of Medical Entomology uses the Entomological Society of America (ESA) citation style.  Visit the ESA Style Guide to see examples of how to cite sources using ESA style.  In this style, journal titles are abbreviated using the most recent issue of BIOSIS Serial Sources: an electronic version of the abbreviations is available from the University of Queensland.

Visit our Citation Styles Guide for instructions on other types of citation styles, such as APA, MLA, or CSE.

 

Am I Plagiarizing?

When in doubt, cite it!  To learn more on how to appropriately reference the thoughts or ideas of others that you use in your assignments or research, take a look at these examples of proper and improper paraphrasing from the TAMU Library.

 

Step 1: Decide What You're Looking For

Think about your research topic and identify 3-4 key words you might use to locate articles on your topic.  Watch this short video clip to learn more about using keywords to search databases.   Library databases offer more relevant scholarly information than is often available via Google or Google Scholar.

If you want to go pro, consider creating a more complex search strategy that will help you save even more time - you can learn how by watching a tutorial on smart searching.

 

Step 2: Select the Database to Search

The database you'll want to use will depend on your research topic and the types of information you're trying to find:

The Web of Science database provides access to  multidisciplinary articles, proceedings, and other information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.  The database has a number of useful search features, including citation mapping.

The CAB Abstracts database offers a combination of scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles, book chapters, and proceedings in a wide variety of agriculture disciplines.  Includes research from international and U.S. sources from 1910 to the present.

You can also search Entomology Abstracts, a database that provides recent books, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, reports, and scholarly articles of direct relevance to entomology, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.

 

Step 3: Retrieve & Read Content

Once you've entered your search criteria into a database and obtained results, always look for the "Find Text @ TAMU" button to be directed to the item's location.  If it is available electronically, this link will help you get the item PDF.  If it is available in print, you can come to the library or use our Get It For Me service to have it delivered via email.

Next you'll need to read the article so that you can synthesize it for your research.  Check out the anatomy of a scholarly article.

 

Finding Print & E-Books at TAMU

Both the LibCat library catalog and the MSL Catalog contain records for print and electronic entomology books, so make sure to search in both these catalogs.

If you can't find the book in our library catalogs, the Libraries also subscribe to the CAB E-Books Collection, which offers e-books on agriculture, animal, veterinary, and environmental science, human health and nutrition, leisure and tourism, and plant science topics published after 2000.

The CRCnetBASE Collection contains e-books on forensic entomology, animal health, veterinary and environmental science, among others.

 

TAMU Writing Center

TAMU's Writing Center is an excellent resource that can help you with course assignments.  You don't even have to GO to the Writing Center - you can email them your assignment and they'll send you feedback!  Take advantage of their knowledge by scheduling an appointment to meet face-to-face or to have them review a paper virtually. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Bankston
 

Questions? Chat With a Librarian!

Using Google Scholar to Find Articles

Go to Scholar Settings and select "Library Links."  Enter "Texas A&M University" in the search box, select both "Texas A&M University - Full text@TAMU" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search," and save changes.  This lets Google Scholar link its search results directly to the full text subscription if it is available (A&M log-in may be required).



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip